We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic !”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Cerknica, Kras, Slovenian Littoral Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
OnAir6710...
1 review
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very great location : all was perfect. Boris very well welcomed us and gave good advices to visit the area.
A good address !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bargaincr...
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed longer!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We blew it! We booked Ostir's Farm with the intention of learning about the farm and the Slovenian way of life but we planned too many things in too short of time so ended up spending very little time at the house. Our hosts were wonderful and were willing to show us around if we had actually had the time. We had a little trouble finding the home as it was dark and raining when we arrived - but we should have trusted our GPS as it led us to the right place. We were greeted warmly and appreciated the gift of fresh asparagus. It was late when we arrived and we left early the next morning to explore the skojcan caves, the coast along the Adriatic Sea, and we ended up in Croatia in a seaside village for the sunset and a late dinner. We got back close to midnight and then checked out the next morning to go do an incredible 4 hour Krizna Jama cave tour that was arranged by our hosts. A couple things to note - the listing said it had a tv and washer but we never found either and wouldn't have had time for them anyway. The internet worked well. Because we were a family of four we had access to only two bedrooms. Our son was a bit uncomfortable in the twin bed because he's 6'5" and there was a footboard that restricted his ability to stretch out. Otherwise we found the beds to be comfortable. We appreciated having the extra blankets from the cupboard as it was cool at night. Oh, and be careful you don't turn off the switch to the hot water like we did! Oops! We ended up taking cold showers - but that was entirely our fault! I hope we have an opportunity to return someday and spend some time with the family. One thing to note- there is a small (1 euro per person per night??) tourist fee that is due upon checkout and we weren't expecting that.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Thanks guys, you were great guests. Hope to meet you all soon again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmthedwar...
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A taste of rural life”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent one week with our kids in Ostir Farm. Boris has been very kind with us and we really enjoyed our stay here. The house is 200 years old, well renovated. I would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb holiday!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a great location!
Your own farm in the middle of a nice, not touristic village. Close to all the necessary amenities and just a short drive/ walk to the highlight of Slovenia.
But the best of Ostir's farm is the owner and his family. They make you feel really welcome and wants the help you with everything they can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the people and the location
Liked least: outside furniture... a hammack between the trees would make it 1000% perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis A
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay with expert advice”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found in this house everything we were looking for: peaceful place, nicely renovated, with a kitchen to cook and feel like home.
Blaz and Boris advice were really useful to discover the area in an optimal way

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in a beautiful farm house”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Me, my boyfriend and our 4.5 month old son stayed in this beautiful farm house for almost two weeks. The rooms had a really nice ambiente as the furniture were from the old days. Yet, the bathroom was newly renovated. The kitchen was well equipped so that we could cook our meals by ourselves.

The Jakopin-family did everything to make our stay really enjoyable. Boris explained the interesting as well as beautoful sights in the area and told us how to get there (Lake Cerknica, the caves, museum, traditional Slovenian food and so on). Big plus: we got to taste their delicious homemade liquors :)

The area around the lake is astonishing (we learned in a museum that it is the only one of its kind in the world). The village itself is rural, but as all important essentials such as super markets, tourist information, bars, restaurant. The people there are really nice.

Summing up: The region and the house are really worth a trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MirjamVB
The Netherlands
1 review
“Authentic and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful time at Ostir's farm!! A friendly welcome in a beautiful renovated farm house in Slovenia. The rooms are nicely decorated with beautiful old style furniture. Also a nice experience was that we could make use of the vegetable garden in front of the house, We have eaten string beans, carrots, lettuce , onion and plums from the garden and the orchard.
Ostir's farm is a good place to relax and enjoy the atmosfere of the house, the old hayrack and the vegetable garden. Boris gave us good advise and information about the area around lake Cerknica. It's a very beautiful intermitting lake and a special natural phenonemon and one of the highlights of our holiday. Prevent the big tourist sites and go of the beaten track and experience the real Slovenia around lake Cerknica!! Entertain yourself with a trip around the lake and the surrounding, visit the small villages, go to Rakov Skocjan and the Krisna cave, relax and eat from the vegetable garden at Ostir;s farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere and furniture, the vegetable garden and the hospitality of the owner
Liked least: no wi-fi, there was only one relax chair in the kitchen where we most of the time sat
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing