We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap not cheerful”

Prince of Wales Pub
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prince of Wales Pub
Ranked #2 of 2 East Cowes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We visited for a quick tea before boarding the ferry. The food here is really cheap ( £3.95 adult sausage & chips), and the bar maid delightful. However, when our sausages arrived a little cool and we asked for them to be heated up further, the "cook" rolled her eyes, and huffed! Cleanliness of the restaurant was ok, but the outside loo was filthy. The inside ladies loo was fine, but at the moment the gents are being refurbished, so the facilities are currently a porta cabin in the car park.
The food once hot, was actually very nice & of good quality, it's just a shame there wasn't more service with a smile.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Melzabub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited for evening meal on 8th July. Not a large menu but had to wait almost half an hour before food arrived. They were not overly busy but did not even clear tables when anyone left. Chicken breast which I had was very dry and overcooked. My partners gammon was passable.Never once while we were eating did anyone enquire as to whether it was o.k. Even on passing through the bar on the way out we were totally ignored. I found the whole experience very inhospitable and will not go back. With the premises being so close to Osborne House I cannot believe what a lost opportunity for what could be an excellent business.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Billy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Accommodation of a high standard with good breakfast, typical rundown pub with friendly service and locals, with off-road parking, traffic noise is to be expected as is on a busy main road, close to bus stops, opposite Osborne House

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Hanspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was a weird experience. the pub is tired, dated and pretty rough. we walked in on a Friday night and everyone just stared at us. Room paid for on arrival and an effort to show us the room - girl from bar got half way up stairs then handed us the key and said it was on the next level!! We wondered what we had come too! the room itself was delightful . Very recently refurbished , great shower bathroom well stocked with toiletries, drinks tray in room. All we could want for the night, spotlessly clean. Unfortunately, the night was a sleepless one as this pub seems to be a meeting ground for the area - loud music and meet ups of all and sundry outside our window well passed midnight and the language was foul. This was then followed up by constant traffic - lorries in the night and dog walkers at 5 am,
No point creating such beautiful rooms if the rest of the pub lacks the same standard of cleanliness or welcome. I hope the re furbishment continues to the rest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here thinking it a pub/restaurant/B&B
Rooms are of good standard having been recently refurbished.
Bar is very poor English bar- hardly enough Ice in the gin to cool it down. Breakfast is about the worst I have ever had- not just me of my companions one had the fry -only half edible. Our 3rd companion took one look at our breakfast and ordered tea and toast!!! There was no cereal or
fruit on offer

Room Tip: Traffic noise all night in rooms on left of house- no idea if any others are quieter. Traffic passes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-Mc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at The Prince of Wales for a wedding planning weekend due to its convenient location and free parking. The room was a double en suite on the top floor.

The staff were slightly absent, but nice.
The breakfast was accommodating and good value for money.
The room was clean and freshly decorated in a tasteful style.

On the downside, there is a fair bit of road noise and the tea was not restocked. It is not a luxurious resort, but it is convenient, affordable and nice for a weekend away.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Evelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I'm not reviewing this as a hotel more as a place to eat/drink.
After a long day on the mainland we returned to East Cowes by bus and decided to call in for a drink and something to eat.
We arrived around half six and were disappointed to find the carvery was closed (it was Wednesday and they advertise their carvery Monday - Saturday!). Having purchased our drinks, which were reasonably priced, we sat at a table in the bar area. After ordering a snack meal (again reasonably priced) we waited to be served. My wife visited the Ladies but found there was no toilet paper in any cubicle and the Male toilet was in a "cabin" in the car park.
The bar area was grubby and the windows looked as though they hadn't been cleaned for months - the bar itself was populated by men whose language was not tempered by the presence of a female.
Our snack was excellent - hot and tasty but I regret that the overall ambiance of the place doesn't make a return trip likely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Cowes
0.3 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waverley Park
Waverley Park
#1 of 1 in East Cowes
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Pub

Address: York Avenue, East Cowes PO32 6JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > East Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Cowes
Price Range: £73 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince of Wales Pub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From June 2013 bed and breakfast accommodation is available in our tastefully refurbished en suite bedrooms at competitive rates. With a separate main entrance there is a mixture of single, double, twin or family rooms. Where else can you stay in comfortable, historic surroundings opposite a Royal Residence, within minutes of a yachting mecca, the town and ferries to the mainland? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prince of Wales Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Pub Isle Of Wight/East Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing