We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy breakfast”
Review of Mrs Jones Tea Depot - CLOSED

Mrs Jones Tea Depot
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Step back to the 1940's and lose yourself for an hour or two. Enjoy proper tea from teapots china cups and saucers. We do afternoon tea, Cream Tea, Home-made Cakes and Home-made Stews/Soups. Our motto: Careless talk cost lives but a pot of tea & cake costs less than a fiver. Come see for yourself and say hello to Mrs J and her crew.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited Mrs Jones Tea Depot last Saturday, after walking by several times, whilst on holiday. Called in for breakfast. What a lovely quaint place. The cooked breakfast was excellent, the doorstop toast was unbelievable and the cost was very reasonable. The service was fantastic. The atmosphere was lovely and relaxing.
My daughter also had a piece of chocolate cake to takeaway, which she said was very tasty and yummy and very big. If you are in East Cowes make sure you head for Mrs Jones Tea Depot.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent value afternoon tea”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have often tried to get in to Mrs Jones and found it always packed out.We live about four miles away so this time we tried phoning first and were lucky enough to book a table. The tea was all you could wish for in an English high tea and more. The staff were attentive and very polite, The tea takes about 10 miniutes to prepare but it was well worth the wait. All round excellent service and superb food. There should be a Mrs Jones in every town!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Step back in time and wonderful food !”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We visited here on 26th July for afternoon tea before we boarded the ferry for our return journey home. Very good value and all freshly made. Huge pot of tea with tea strainer lovely. Highly recommend a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to eat!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Each time we visit Mrs Jones tea depot we are always impressed by the service, food and value. We have been in when it's quiet and when it's busy. Sometimes there has been a delay in getting our food but that never matters as there's always someone to chat to and have a giggle with. This place can brighten any day. Best breakfast on the island with the friendliest service!! Keep it up Mrs Jones and staff, your just what this little island needed :-) :-) xxx

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenD1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic brilliant relaxing perfect vintage islands best tea room”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

When you want a little bit of me time and want to escape the norm pop back in time with mrs jones at the depot she was very very welcoming and creates beautiful fresh home made cakes and door step sandwiches of the finest bread I've ever tasted with the best tea I think on the island I can't praise this place enough I will return and return again the ambience the people mainly the FOOD!!!!! To die for!!!!! Xxxx keep up the good work x

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ubercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mrs Jones Tea Depot also viewed

Cowes, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing