We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, quiet, homely and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melawondi Spring Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Imbil B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded, quiet, homely and relaxing”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

A brilliant birthday suprise for my wife of which she was very appreciative. The location is picture perfect and secluded. Melawondi makes you feel as if you have got away from it all. You soon relax to the natural sounds of the bush (and the odd cow) as you sit out on the deck. Tony and Tanya have created an oasis of calm.
We opted for the fireside dining on the saturday night. Lamb shanks slow cooked over the fire pit. Well worth it.
We will definately recommend Melawondi Spring Retreat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your wonderful review & for recommending us to others! It was a pleasure to have you stay here & we are very happy you both enjoyed the Fireside Dining! We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience & appreciate all feedback to ensure our guests are very happy! We hope to see you both again in the future! Cheers ~ Tanya & Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Very well appointed, wonderfully quiet surroundings. Everything you could need for a short or long stay to unwind. The great food suppplied is a bonus. Fully equipped kitchen, so no need to leave for anything, just sit back and relax. Have already recommended it to friends and family - we will return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your beautiful description of what we offer here at Melawondi Spring Retreat and for recommending to friends and family. We appreciate the recommendations and for taking the time to write a great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay – exactly what we strive to achieve for all our guests. We look forward to your return here one day soon! Cheers. Tanya & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just what we needed - to get away from everything. Tanya & Tony thought of every little detail to provide the most relaxing stay. The attention to detail was excellent and just made you want to stay longer. Made our 15th wedding anniversary extra special. Thank you. Terina & Theo

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you again for staying at Melawondi Spring Retreat and taking the time to provide such lovely comments! We appreciate your valuable feedback as this enables us to always improve ensuring our guests are happy & relaxed during their stay. We are very pleased we were able to make your 15th wedding anniversary special!! Cheers. Tanya & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at the Retreat last weekend and were very impressed! Tanya and Tony thought of all the small details to make our stay totally relaxing. In a beautiful location, we spent a lot of time on the deck enjoying the nature around us. We felt pampered for the whole weekend. Will definitely be recommending to friends and would love to return.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent weekend away and also recommending to friends of our special retreat. We appreciate this valuable feedback to ensure our guests leave happy & relaxed! We look forward to your return one day soon! Cheers ~ Tanya & Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My wife and I just returned from a relaxing long weekend at Melawondi. The owners are lovely and have really thought of everything. From the massive spa tub to the high-end appliances the amenities are perfect but the location is what really makes the place. Your cabin is up in a field all on its own with no one else in sight. There's no road noise at all and all you can hear at night is the crickets and tree frogs serenly singing away. You actually don't get disturbed at all with your ample breakfast provisions being quietly delivered to a little cubby house near the studio to be picked up at your heart's content. If there's something you need, just get on the supplied handheld radio and they'll do their best to put it together for you. We ordered the pasta special from their menu before we arrived and found the food to be both ample and tasty. We'd definitely recommend this place though if you're a film lover, I'd suggest bringing some dvds to watch though there were about 15 discs there to choose from.
There's no internet and only occasional mobile phone coverage so if you're after a break from reality for a few days this place is just perfect!

Room Tip: There IS only the one room and it's perfect so you don't have to worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your lovely feedback and the time you have taken to write such a great review on your recent weekend away. We appreciate the feedback knowing that our guests are very happy! This is exactly what we try to achieve! We always ensure your stay is memorable & that you return home refreshed! We look forward to your return one day soon! Cheers ~ Tanya & Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2011

It's the old clice but this IS the perfect getaway. If you're looking for somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of a coastal visit and somewhere where you can just unwind and relax with your partner then Melawondi is a dream. Nestled away from Tony and Tanya's property, we drove up the driveway to find our luxury cabin/apartment. It has ultra modern amenities, it's very clean and to find some relaxing sounds playing as you walk in the door sets the mood for your stay. The attention to detail they take is excellent!!! Especially dropping off brekkie in the morning with some fresh juice, fruit, the paper and of course Tanya's home baked warm crusty bread!!! We brought our own food for dinners but we will be trying Tanya's cooking next time after tasting a sample of what she can conjure up. We spent a lot of time doing well.....nothing but relax and enjoy each others company, chilled out on your own deck with a sunbed, jump in the bath which doubles as a spa/jacuzzi or just whatever you like, your privacy is assured. There is nothing else to really say but this place was just the perfect getaway. Thank you Tanya and Tony for letting us unwind and relax with this property. We miss it every weekend after getting through your working week. We will definitely be back!!! Johnny and Amber

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Thank you Johnny & Amber for your fabulous feedback and the time you have taken to write such a great review. It is always great to receive positive feedback knowing that our guests are very happy! This is exxactly what we try to achieve! We always ensure we spoil our guests during their stay to make it memorable & to ensure you return home refreshed! We look forward to your return one day soon! Cheers ~ Tanya & Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

After researching all the possible Sunshine Coast Hinterland bed & breakfast/cottage/cabin type accommodation options, we settled on Melawondi Spring Retreat based on trip advisor reviews and Melawondi's impressive website (complete with photos and a video review from the Channel 7 travel show, The Great South East). This turned out to be the best decision we made and the most wonderful, romantic and enjoyable holiday experience!

On our arrival we were greeted by Tanya, our host, who was very welcoming and friendly. Next it was a short drive up the hill to our private luxury modern studio which was beautifully designed and furnished. The view of the bush with the sunlight streaming onto our deck were amazing as we sipped on our tea and chatted away without a care in the world. It was lovely to feel so close to nature with the birds chirping away in the trees and wallabies hopping in the distance. It did rain while we were there but that only added to the peaceful and tranquil feeling of the place.

We also felt like Melawondi was in a way a home away from home, with lots of goodies packed in the fridge eg. champers, milk, cheese, dips, local jams and crackers, fruit, homebaked cookies, breakfast supplies and juice... there was so much food that we didn't even need to go to the nearby town in Imbil for anything else!

The spa is absolutely amazing with stunning views of the bush and the bathroom/shower area is innovatively designed. We also liked the outside day bed and lounge area which had lots of interesting reading material to relax the mind. Add to that the newspaper delivered in the morning with fresh bread and more food supplies! Pure bliss!

Overall, Melawondi is everything we could wish for in a romantic getaway and it more than surpassed our expectations. Thanks again Tanya & Tony for taking care of us, we feel so privileged to have been here. You both have created an absolute paradise!

Hope to come back one day! V&T

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you Vy & T for your feedback and the time you have taken to write such a lovely review. We are very happy that you chose Melawondi Spring Retreat after researching the Sunshine Coast accommodation options for your holiday experience. We love to spoil our guests during their stay to make it memorable & return home refreshed! We look forward to your return one day soon! Cheers ~ Tanya & Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imbil
24.8 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.5 mi away
Honeybee Farm
Honeybee Farm
#1 of 2 in Kandanga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mary Valley Views B+B
3.9 mi away
Amamoor Lodge
Amamoor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Amamoor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
23.5 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melawondi Spring Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melawondi Spring Retreat

Property: Melawondi Spring Retreat
Address: 149 Melawondi Rd, Imbil, Queensland 4570, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Imbil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Imbil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melawondi Spring Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melawondi Spring Retreat's provides the perfect setting for two types of accommodation choices - "Luxury Studio" and the budget style "Spring View Cabin" . Both types of accommodation are nestled on 30 acres of natural bushland with spectacular views situated in the Mary Valley less than two hours from Brisbane. From the moment you arrive at Melawondi Spring Retreat, you will feel a sense of serenity, tranquility and total seclusion within a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Melawondi Spring Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing