We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Costiera Hotel - Its all Italian to me !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Costiera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Costiera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varcaturo
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“La Costiera Hotel - Its all Italian to me !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I have stayed at the La Costiera Hotel before some 3 years ago, and it really had not changed, and maybe it needed to. The blue paint on the sign needs refreshing and albeit the Hotel is clean tidy and the staff very welcoming it just need a fraction more love and care. My room was clean and tidy, however the shower could not decide if it was hot or cold, and never really reached a level of heat that it needed to.
The Breakfast is very uninspiring, coffee cold, and everything looked a little tired as if it had been on display many times before, but having experienced this a few years ago I was not surprised.
Your saying why did you stay here again? It an OK Hotel, good price and a decent standard for the area, and no doubt I will stay their again.
The area is a little unusual, with people lurking in the shadows of the night, and they are joined by ladies of the night who you will find opposite the Hotel, in fact you can almost guarantee ladies street walking every 100m or so throughout the area.
The Blue Martini next door is nice for a coffee and a friendly welcome.
The area is challenging, but if you just keep your wits about you, and avoid walking late at night you will be fine, in 2 trips to the area for business I have never had any problems and overall it’s a happy go lucky type of place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the fountains, the side rooms ( which are most) do not have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjcrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    71
    29
    18
    8
See reviews for
33
88
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
various
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

This was a one-night stop, off-season as we visited Naples area, the Lago Patria area is a beach resort so in December my hopes were not high. The hotel was clean and tidy, the room was large and fairly well equipped. Breakfast was more than adequate by continental standards. Secure parking and wifi are free. For the price we paid this was very good all round.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

After all the other reviews, I expected this hotel to be much nicer than it was. However, it was disappointing. My party reserved 4 rooms total for 2 nights each and we all had the same opinion.

First the good: The room was very quiet. The bed was not bad and the bedding was clean. The staff was friendly.

Now the bad: The room was dirty--the floor had hair on it and I had to wipe my feet before putting on shoes and such. The bathroom had mold in the corners. The location is terrible--as many other reviews have stated, you need a car. The wifi didn't work in my room. The A/C didn't cool the room. The breakfast was very basic even for a continental breakfast.

I stay in Naples and the surrounding area quite a bit for work and I will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Just returned from this hotel (17th August). Stayed for one week with my husband and two children aged 15 and 12 years. I agree with much of what the last comment has said but cannot agree with the M1B bus statement. The bus definitely goes every hour on the 15 mins past (watch out for Sundays though) and takes direct to the Flageri train station (underground) which is a straight walk in front of you when you get off (2 euros) . This then takes you to Piazza Garibaldi within 12 minutes where you can go anywhere you like and trains are very frequent. We used this service every day apart from the day on the beach which cost 10 euros for adults and free for children, but you get toilets, showers, lifeguard, amazing beach and security to stop beach sellers pestering you. There is also an animation team operating in the mornings from about 10.30 am to about lunch time and then the music 9thankfully) is turned off – but is nice if you want a bit of life. Sea really shallow and very warm for a long way in so ideal for children. The hotel staff were great and accommodated my gluten free diet really well. There are lots of restaurants in the area – if you are prepared to walk a long way, but that said one evening we had a lovely meal about 2km down the road and when we asked for a taxi to be called for us to get back to the hotel (very dark and busy roads without pavements) the owner drove us back in his car. We had a lovely lovely stay, not the best hotel if you are worried about travelling on public transport and want everything on your doorstep, but our children enjoyed being a bit intrepid and having to negotiate the language etc. Hotel restaurant very reasonably priced. Mama Rosa’s always could do me a gluten free meal, as could the restaurant on the beach who excelled themselves making sure that everything I ate was not contaminated. The Karaoke Bar (Martini Bar) where you buy your bus tickets entertained us one night when we took on the three tenners! Italian men can really sing! Back to hotel – spotless, and they didn’t mind us taking towels to the beach. Sky TV – to catch up on news etc was great! Thank you to all the La Costiera staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We booked a week at this hotel last minute and were very happy with our time. The week started with the transfer, despite advice to arrange this with the hotel via email we caught a taxi from the airport which cost 70 euro, we did however arrange with the hotel for the return transfer which was only 50 euro. A small note on the transfer out, if you do catch an airport taxi don't worry when the driver puts two clocks on the metre, it's on a double rate as it is out of town, hence the extra cost, the official taxis are all on a fixed tariff.

We found the hotel staff to be very welcoming and friendly when we arrived, and this continued throughout the week. Service from the staff was also excellent, any queries and small problems were dealt with immediately and efficiently, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is attended predominantly by Italians and some other Europeans, many of whom appeared to be there on business, but everybody was amicable and we had many conversations, despite the language barrier (our lack of Italian).

The room, our haven from the heat of high summer was basic but comfortable. Air conditioning was controlled from the front desk but as a general rule was left on throughout. Cleanliness is obviously a priority, though there was a small patch of damp on the shower's celling. Rooms were cleaned, beds made and towels changed daily though the times of this service did vary. We had a small, functional balcony without furniture which was a shame, more of a designated smoking area than anything else! The room also included a mini fridge, which we used to cool several bottles, which were nice and cold once the fridge had got going.

The pool and surrounding terrace isn't what you'd describe as big, with room for about a maximum of 15 guests on some particularly comfy chairs and loungers, but as mentioned above, the clientele generally aren't there for swimming and we experienced no great problems in finding a spot. The small pool has no shallow end, it's consistently about 5' 6" deep and only has one 3 rung ladder providing access (short of diving in) though it is possible to sit on the edge with your legs in the cool water.

The breakfast included is continental, and it's European so beware tea lovers, it's a bit of a struggle! Service times were accommodating, going right up and occasionally past 10am, with a small variety on offer which was constantly and consistently replenished through the morning. For evening meals, we ate in the hotel for one evening and found the food to be of a high quality, for the rest of the week (following advice from other trip advisors, and the receptionist) we went two doors down to a local restaurant called Mama Rosa's which was excellent with lots on offer even for the fussy eater. Bear in mind that it is a genuine local restaurant serving the locals which really gave it an authentic feel (though we found the pleasant attitude from staff at the hotel carried over to here also), and excellent value for money. Recommended for starters is the Proscuitto and Mozzarella, it's got to be eaten to be believed.

The local area is pretty sparse, compared to built up Naples, a small super market and a larger cash and carry across the road from the hotel (left and right respectively) serve the immediate area. The beach really isn't far at all, though it is wall to wall 'Lidos', when we were there it was FULL of Italian holiday makers, what a sight, like British beaches during a heatwave. Well equipped with facilities, you did however seem to have to pay for a spot on the beach.

For those not brave enough to rent a car but want to explore the area can catch the local bus service right outside the hotel (just outside Mama Rosa's and opposite). The bus service appeared to be fairly regular, with an irregular service even running on Sunday. A small word of caution, we caught the M1B service, it's NOT advised that you catch this service to termination on the Napoli end (by catching it on the opposite side from the hotel), it doesn't take you into central Naples, just a very dodgy looking suburb with poor accessibility into the centre. However it is a very good service for reaching Pozzuoli where there is a magnificent Amphitheatre that you can visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trystan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Friendly helpful staff and a decent pool. Room was large with wi-fi, satellite tv & clean bathroom. Only 5mins from great beach but not many places to eat nearby & a car is essential to get around. Decent base if you are exploring around Naples.

Room Tip: Be sure to pay the extra for the larger rooms - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pablito79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

This is a very friendly, clean modern hotel where the staff are great and the food is good. I stayed here on a work trip and was impressed both by the prices and the cleanliness of the hotel. It has a small swimming pool out back and a decent bar area in the front. Breakfast was good (continental style, meats, cheeses, croissants, fruit, yoghurts, along with cereals) but I did not eat in the restaurant.
There is a beach lido about five minutes walk from the hotel down a rather deserted road that reminded me of a post-nuclear age. Rumour has it (from my taxi driver) that this area is where "the women who are not married" (lovely translation of the oldest profession) work, and while I did not see any, I can imagine that this is the case.
I ate in a restaurant just around the corner from the hotel, "La locande del Re Nasona", which I would recommend. Great starters, cheap pizza. And there is a lively and friendly ice cream shop/cafe/hotel Premiere that was good for a post meal coffee and beer.
All in all, a good place for a work trip, but not really a family destination.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varcaturo
Hotel Premiere
#2 of 10 in Giugliano in Campania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Hotel Marcantonio
#3 of 10 in Giugliano in Campania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Hotel La Fayette
#4 of 10 in Giugliano in Campania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Orchidea
#1 of 10 in Giugliano in Campania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Hotel Giulia
#1 of 4 in Qualiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Bagnoli
Hotel Nuvo
Hotel Nuvo
#12 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Costiera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Costiera Hotel

Property: La Costiera Hotel
Address: Via Domitiana km 46, 80014 Varcaturo, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Varcaturo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varcaturo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Costiera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your La Costiera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costiera Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples, Campania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing