We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity”
Review of Sognefjord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sognefjord Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leikanger
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
208 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is why you came here. All rooms have water views and they are spectacular! Quiet,serene,just a wonderful place to be! Rooms are good size with plenty of space. Plenty of parking, close to gas and food store(1/2block). Once you are here you will not want to leave,hotel staff just great,free WIFI and just plain perfect! Maybe our best hotel on this trip!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel is located at Sognefjorden, about 20 minutes from Sogndal, with a lovely view to the fjord. The rooms are basic and the outside area is very inviting. Breakfast included and a dinner buffet served is in the nice and spacious restaurant area. Try the famous local apple juice. The food is ok, but not fantastic and the breakfast is basic. Swimming in the fresh water is recommended! The hotel is run by a family and you will be surprised to learn why they love turtles so much. Very good service and homely atmosphere. Free Wi Fee in rooms, free parking. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Hotel location excellent with stunning views, room spacious and well appointed.on the fjord. Clean room and Helpful staff.The room are medium sized and decorated in fresh and attractive Scandinavian style with breathtaking views. The Sognfjord hotel enjoys a picturesque location on a small peninsula on the northern shore of the magnificent Sognfjord surrounded by beautiful views

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
234 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our stay in this quaint little hotel was sweetened by teh wonderful receptionistas Charlotte and Ana who went out of their way to show us some real norwegian courtesy. They even helped us starving late travellers to a warm meal in the middle of the night with some of the best cod we have ever had. Along with a perfectly chilled beer it made up for all the bad weather we encountered along the route. The predominant feeling in this hotel is relaxation. They even offer fishing rods for catching your own dinner and bicycles in case you want to burn some fat (advisable with the good breakfast buffet and three course dinner they offer). We stayed too short. Only two days is just not enough. But as we are bsutling travellers, the next stop there is sure to come.

Room Tip: rooms on the fourth floor are best, acing to the fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNAFLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
294 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

My wife and I stopped here for one night, 17th May on a Trafalgar Tour, the scenery is nice,and a short walk away was a beautiful old church. The hotel was clean, quite and comfortable, Trafalgar hit the spot again.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leikanger
1.9 mi away
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leikanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.7 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
10.2 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
10.9 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
15.6 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sognefjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sognefjord Hotel

Property: Sognefjord Hotel
Address: Sognefjordvegen 20, Leikanger 6863, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Leikanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leikanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sognefjord Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sognefjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing