We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreaming of the Sognefjord”
Review of Sognefjord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sognefjord Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leikanger
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dreaming of the Sognefjord”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

After travelling out of a suitcase for over a week, this was one incredible bonus..
The Sognefjord Hotel was an incredible Bonus for my wife and I...
It was as though we had won the pools and been given a stay in a luxurious hotel.
Luxurious decor and ambiance.
Excellent service and staff.
Great food.
Perfect surroundings.
You are not just a traveller, but you are welcomed into their family.
.
Thank you to the Family and to all the staff for an amazing stay... Larry & Dawn Davis

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cullodenmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riddells Creek
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We are travelling through Norway and even though we are on a guided tour, the hotels sometimes are better than others. The hotel is small, and family owned and run. The atmosphere is cosy and the decor is rather quaint, but in a very interesting way. There are lovely little snug ares where guests can just sit, and the bar features a large ingle nook style fire place. There is wifi available for guests convenience. The food so far is great, breakfast still to be experienced,but if it is half as good as dinner, we will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinwych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is why you came here. All rooms have water views and they are spectacular! Quiet,serene,just a wonderful place to be! Rooms are good size with plenty of space. Plenty of parking, close to gas and food store(1/2block). Once you are here you will not want to leave,hotel staff just great,free WIFI and just plain perfect! Maybe our best hotel on this trip!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel is located at Sognefjorden, about 20 minutes from Sogndal, with a lovely view to the fjord. The rooms are basic and the outside area is very inviting. Breakfast included and a dinner buffet served is in the nice and spacious restaurant area. Try the famous local apple juice. The food is ok, but not fantastic and the breakfast is basic. Swimming in the fresh water is recommended! The hotel is run by a family and you will be surprised to learn why they love turtles so much. Very good service and homely atmosphere. Free Wi Fee in rooms, free parking. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Hotel location excellent with stunning views, room spacious and well appointed.on the fjord. Clean room and Helpful staff.The room are medium sized and decorated in fresh and attractive Scandinavian style with breathtaking views. The Sognfjord hotel enjoys a picturesque location on a small peninsula on the northern shore of the magnificent Sognfjord surrounded by beautiful views

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our stay in this quaint little hotel was sweetened by teh wonderful receptionistas Charlotte and Ana who went out of their way to show us some real norwegian courtesy. They even helped us starving late travellers to a warm meal in the middle of the night with some of the best cod we have ever had. Along with a perfectly chilled beer it made up for all the bad weather we encountered along the route. The predominant feeling in this hotel is relaxation. They even offer fishing rods for catching your own dinner and bicycles in case you want to burn some fat (advisable with the good breakfast buffet and three course dinner they offer). We stayed too short. Only two days is just not enough. But as we are bsutling travellers, the next stop there is sure to come.

Room Tip: rooms on the fourth floor are best, acing to the fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNAFLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

My wife and I stopped here for one night, 17th May on a Trafalgar Tour, the scenery is nice,and a short walk away was a beautiful old church. The hotel was clean, quite and comfortable, Trafalgar hit the spot again.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leikanger
1.9 mi away
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leikanger
98 reviews
10.7 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
750 reviews
10.2 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
391 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
15.6 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sognefjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sognefjord Hotel

Property: Sognefjord Hotel
Address: Sognefjordvegen 20, Leikanger 6863, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Leikanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leikanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sognefjord Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sognefjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing