We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub Aqua Training from Pat Cannon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angaga Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Certificate of Excellence
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sub Aqua Training from Pat Cannon”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The swimming pool was a great big ocean with lovely soft and warm water, shared with the most beautiful sea life.
The people in the Dive Shop were really nice and helpful. My instructor Katharina Behrens was wonderful, caring and very patient. A truly memorable experience! Thank you.

Pretty much everyone on this paradise island were friendly and helpful.

We were a group of six (3 couples) which makes it more fun as you could become isolated unless you are of the sociable kind and make friends easily (we certainly did!). If you want a relaxing couple of weeks doing pretty much nothing but floating about with wonderful marine life chilin' out then this is it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    166
    28
    8
    11
See reviews for
56
296
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent 5 nights here after Helengeli. So we obviously made comparisons. Angaga 4* Helengeli 3*. We had half board and bought some bottled water at seaplane departure as cheaper than on island also snacks from UK. As buffet breakfasts and dinners were plentiful decided $38/person/day + all the taxes it wasn't worth the extra expense to upgrade. No problems seaplane transfer except with so many resorts in the Ari Atoll we had to stop at 2 others before Angaga so 1hr15 instead of 30 mins and our departure was similar so much so that they had to hold the checkin at Male open for us, got there 55mins before our plane departed! Nice welcome at Angaga and had requested water bungalow 155-161. Offered 160 on sunset side right by bar. Very little noise as most visitors went to the bar for sunset and then for dinner on island. You do need shoes to travel along walkway to water bungalows as very hot in the middle of the day.
Pros-Better coral house reef "fish soup" on most visits, with turtles, sharks, rays and baracuda and more interesting life in the lagoon.
More toiletries and variety of tea/coffee and kettle filled daily with bottled water for free, which was great. Empty fridge in room! Good quality air con.Villa cleaned twice daily but not needed so requested only once, which house boy did which was often mid morning.Great views from villa 160 and glass table viewing at night when light was switched on saw variety of small fish. Turtle and stingray by our room during day. Bonus to enter water from steps. Very quiet at night and bed very comfortable. Seaplanes didn't bother us as we found them interesting to watch and most guests use this mode of transport. Water hose by walkway to Water villas good idea as are urns of water dotted along walkway. Wide choice of food in restaurant, great for my food faddy husband and house wine reasonably priced. Most staff appeared friendly and helpful especially spa ladies and if on the desk, reception staff. Not many children and all well behaved, mostly teenagers.Dive school very efficient and knowledgeable. Good dive sites. Cleaning of island of coral from beach and rooms efficient and unobtrusive. Pretty water features and well kept flower beds made an attractive central area. Island was fairly quiet and didn't appear crowded.
Cons-Worst for us was the restaurant with 3 sections and we were given a set table in the smoking area(unbeknown to us), which was also where the food was laid out! after 3 tables around us lit up during our meal we asked to be moved, we were but each of the 2 non smoking wings are only 1-2 tables from the smoking area. Shame but next time will ask in advance. Our waiter wasn't as conversant as the one on Helengeli, maybe new or not confident with english. Also dirty dishes remained at the table. Staff often appeared robotic in greeting us and I, maybe as a lone female wasn't greeted at all in the shop by the 2 men there so I chose not to purchase anything. Only 3 entry/exit points to the reef on the eastern jetty side where the beach suffers from unslightly multi coloured partially opened sand bags. No information about these points and so some guests swam over the high coral maybe damaging it and themselves.Concern that a few seaplanes landed within the lagoon and people were snorkelling. Diving was good but Manta point lacked mantas maybe due to the fact there were already 3 other boats/divers there and the tides. Handed 2 sheets of paper about the Island only brochure in the room was about the spa! unlike Helengeli. Think Angaga is having a refit this year as lot of things in and aound the Water villa need refurbishing-the loose bathroom fittings, mould in the bath corner, door keyhole to veranda came off each time you tried to pull the door open, Due to age and temperature varnish on the veranda and stairs into lagoon was peeling off and the right hand banister was wobbly. Plastic weaving on sunbeds had broken on some parts and scratched legs.No small table/box outside on veranda for drinks. Also for whatever reason at times the water bungalow does appear to move/sway but we got used to it. Could be the currents/wind etc. We wondered if some of the beach bungalows were bothered by the generator/pump, which was in the middle of the island by the staff quarters, as it always seemed to be noisily humming.Lastly even though we left at 7am, we would have appreciated a staff member saying goodbye and seeing us off and that the details of our departure could have been written down rather than verbally given, as was personally done at Helengeli, where they also gave us a survey to fill in to improve the island, not so at Angaga, but maybe they think they are perfect! Perhaps Angaga will be sending us a survey by email later.
Having said all this, most of our cons are superficial and the reef snorkelling and german friends we made would make us return to Angaga, but after the refurbishment.

Room Tip: Water bungalows-South side are sunnier and the parasol can cope with 2 beds if you move the beds aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeremybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having been to 8 Islands I found Angaga a relaxing Island with friendly staff. Food is reasonable had better & had worse. Nice sandy beach on one side of the Island but you need to go to the other side to snorkel from the beach. I know people always want to know which rooms are best & here it is important, part of the Island has little beach outside the room due to erosion, also one side of the water bungalows doesn't get the sun, this may all change depending on the time of year. Cocktail List was amazing I would suggest all inclusive as that's what it was ALC good value
However, it's a lovely small Island we had a great holiday & yes I would return but only if I could have a room near the water villas walkway because I like to lie on the beach and cool off in the ocean. we had 133 & 134 which were lovely we thought them to be the best 2 rooms on the Island but it depends on your point of view.

Room Tip: 130 to 150 would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redsage502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Location: small island with a wonderful lagoon on one side and a paradise white beach almost all around. The house reef is in good conditions, with nice coral formations and plenty of wild life. We could spot turtles, reef sharks, ink fishes, small tunas and eagle rays just from the jetty or from the terrace of our water villa. In snorkeling we could also see sting rays, monster trigger fishes, anemones with clown fishes, morays, and plenty of other colorful reef inhabitants. Guests either go out for diving or enjoy the terrace of their water villa or the shade just outside of the beach bungalow, therefore you can have the beach all for yourself – well, almost. Bear in mind that one side of the island is always windy, while the other side is well protected. In March the wind was on the side opposite to the lagoon, therefore the water in the lagoon is still, but being on the beach on the windless side without shade can be challenging. We used to go to the tip of the beach just touched by the wind to have ideal conditions.

Diving: the club is very professionally run, with excellent quality material and friendly instructors. I do not need to comment on the high quality of the diving sites and marine wildlife that we encountered, mantas and whale sharks included. Rates are high if compared to Red Sea, but standards for Maldives. I would strongly suggest to try out the night “fluo” dive.

Accommodation: the water villa is roomy, with comfortable wide beds and a large enough terrace. Privacy is protected and the direct access to the lagoon is a clear value. A must do experience. The room decoration is OK apart from the toilettes. There is a safe box and an (empty) fridge. Cleaning staff passed very discretely twice a day ensuring availability of fresh clean towels. I cannot say that the room was spotless as you could see dust accumulated in some corners, but honestly speaking nothing to be upset of. People occupying the beach bungalows said to be very satisfied with their accommodation, but I guess that the bungalow position (windy side or not, closeness to restaurant and reception, etc.) and your own preferences play a factor here. We had a couple of very minor issues (telephone not working, the door of the fridge case fell off), but they were fixed immediately.

Restaurant and Food: the restaurant is located on the beach, ensuring regular circulation of air and therefore a pleasant temperature. Food is of good quality, but maybe it lacks of variety. Actually, you get every day a lot of different things to eat, but then you see the same dishes several times during a week – and we were on half board. The restaurant staff is very efficient and polite, it was a pleasure to leave a tip.

Resort: this is a perfect place for people who want to dive and/or relax, just imagine that the free material available for water sports was very rarely used by any guest. So do not come here if you look for fun, music and activities. We did not have any issue, but they seem to overbook the beach bungalows as we met several people who needed to spend at least one night in a garden bungalow even if always receiving some kind of compensation. We were on half board (they also offer full board and all inclusive) which means that lunch and drinks are not included. Drinks here means anything to drink, namely you have to pay for the water which I do not think it is correct. It would be nice to offer a couple of bottles of water per day per room.

Overall we are very satisfied and we higly recommend this island and the resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank casablanca71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a few nights in the resort in February. Having flown into Male around midday, our seaplane was delayed a bit which meant we didn't arrive to the resort at 4. Our water bungalow was ready for us to go in and rest. We asked for coral reef views, and it was well worth it -the other water bungalows had views and noise of the seaplane, which seemed to arrive up to 4 times a day.
A downside of looking towards the reef is that sometimes there would be people swimming/snorkeling which meant you couldn't take a bath with the door open onto the ocean... But a minor downside, of course. Waking up in the morning looking at the ocean or enjoying the deck views onto the ocean was really nice.
The room was fairly basic, with a tv, a/c, and a small fridge. Furniture was basic but in line with the bungalow theme.

The resort was nice and most of the staff were nice and well mannered, except for one particular receptionist who seemed to be asleep all the time and had no idea or williness to find out about activity prices, availability, etc. It was the lack of motivation that bothered us the most. They have sports facilities - most of them not free-, a small library, table tennis and darts. Do remember to bring your own snorkelling equipment, as there's only one shop in the resort. There is also a massage parlour but it's extremely expensive.

Food is served at the other end of the resort. Some guests go barefoot as it's sandy. Hawainas were ok with us. Be aware that most guests have their food early and towards the end, dishes may not be replenished due to kitchen closing. Food seemed quite repetitive and given that this is your only choice, I would have liked to see more variety. Dining tables seem to be assigned to a particular room - not first come-first served. This means that you may be stuck with a table far from the ocean or close to the buffet area. Speak to your waiter if you are not happy with this as they may be able to re-allocate you at some stage (but make a big fuss or you'll be ignored)

Points to improve:
- More food variety
- Sport facilities should be more easy to book and material readily available
- A water bottle provided on arrival would be useful
- Encourage rotation of dinning tables or re-allocate better tables to guests as others check out from the resort

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NH_80_LGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I visited Filitheyo Island about nine years ago and had an unforgettable dive with manta rays. We very much hoped that this would be the case with Angaga and we were not disappointed: we had two amazing dives at a manta cleaning station. At one point I was looking at two manta rays cavorting together when I was momentarily distracted by a giant turtle which literally swam past inches from my nose!

But let's start at the beginning. Angaga is a very small island and they pack as many villas on to it (with twenty water bungalows) as they can. There is talk of another group of water bungalows being added some time this year and this will make it a very crowded place. The strange thing was that it didn't feel crowded at any time (except when queuing for food at the buffet in the evening). During the day, everyone just seemed to chill out in couples or small groups and it was easy to feel alone. Having said that, it was a bit hectic at dinner, which is served from 7.30 to 9.00pm. There was always plenty of food and they never seemed to run out of anything, but it was not the pleasantest way of getting a plate full of food. Also, the food is not haute cuisine by any means, and everyone we spoke to on the island said that they were having a great time but the food could be improved. We were half board, so I don't know what lunch was like in the main restaurant, but in the bar it was frankly disappointing: my husband ordered a tuna sandwich expecting a delightful fresh fish snack and got a tinned tuna sandwich from a toasted sandwich maker!

All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, as is the management. We didn't like the first water bungalow we were allocated so asked to change rooms. There was no problem whatsoever about this, and we heard of other people doing the same thing. There are twenty water bungalows built on a jetty with the sundown bar at the end. I would not want numbers 150 or 170 as these face the island and their balconies are clearly visible by anyone walking from the island to the bar: not private at all. Numbers 151 to 160 are the best if you like the sun as they get it in the morning and for most of the day.

The dive centre is run by Sub Aqua, a German set-up. They are extremely good, friendly but efficient and marvellous time keepers: the boats left when they said and arrived back when they said. The guides are all excellent, particularly Nadine and Kevin, who are the bosses of the team. I would point out, however, that the diving is not cheap and nothing is thrown in. We are used to diving with guides and were a bit taken aback that we had to pay $5 per person per dive for a guide. We had pre-booked our diving through Regal Dive in the UK but did not realise that this did not include the boat trips, which were charged at $15 per person per trip. On top of that you have to pay 10% service charge on almost everything and 8% government tourist tax on absolutely everything. Don't expect cheap diving. Of course, if you dive the house reef without a guide, you don't pay any extra, but you don't get the chance to dive with manta rays or whale sharks either. However, the dive centre and the area attract divers to return year after year, so maybe I am being ultra picky.

In conclusion I would say that we had a lovely holiday in spite of the fact that it rained a couple of times in the ten days we were there. The hotel is a great place to unwind, relax and get away from it all. Most of the guests are couples, either middle-aged or elderly and there is large proportion of Germans and Italians.

Room Tip: We were told that the island villas were all quiet but they did seem pretty close together. Avoid w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORWICH
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from an amazing fortnight at this beautiful little island. This is one of the prettiest islands we have been to (a bit like Athuruga when we first went in 2004). This island has kept to the true rustic Maldives, everything blends in and it truly is gorgeous. You can walk round the island at a slow pace in about 15mins and sometimes not encounter anyone else. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the reception staff and taken to our bungalow where everything was explained to us. Our bungalow (104) was on the east side right by the reef which was prefect for us, couldn't have picked a better room. We were literally 20 paces from the sea (at high tide). When the tide was out there was loads of beach on this side, the other side has more but there seem to more people on it and our side seemed so much quieter. The sand bank is amazing and great for photos. Our bungalow was spotlessly clean all the time, very spacious, everything that we needed, love the outside bathroom, having a shower as fruit bats fly overhead. There was a TV (didn't get switched on once), tea & coffee making facilities and a small fridge, The bed was huge and so comfortable, also plenty of sockets which is good for charging everything. All of the staff on the whole island were so friendly and cheerful, always a nice smile and a hello, special mention to Shareef who always seemed to look after us in the bar ( amazing cocktails) and out waiter Habeeb who was lovely. The food was plentiful and tasty, lots of fish which was always delicious and as usual the curries are great ( extra chilli on the side if you wanted to spice things up). We always thought that there was plenty of choice every day so there was always something there for everyone. Loved the sushi at lunchtime, bread always yummy and the puds (so my husband tells me) were always delicious. I was good and stuck to cheese, biscuits & fruit!! The white wine in the restaurant wasn't to our taste but the red wine was fine. We had an amazing fishing trip where we all caught loads of fish which was cooked for us when we got back and we all ate on the beach. The reef here is gorgeous, there is an inner part if you are not comfortable with swimming in deep water and we saw turtles on this bit as well as all of the beautiful marine life that is in abundance in the Maldives, beautiful coral formations too. On the drop off we saw good size sharks, more turtles, a couple of eagle rays and every day our little bat fish family. We probably spent 3 hrs out there one morning, think we got a bit carried away , ended up going over half way round but saw amazing things. Some reviews have commented on the nearness of boats and the seaplanes but we didn't encounter any such problems. We came home totally chilled, well relaxed and now I have the task of deciding which island to go to next year, would we go back to Angaga, definitely we would.

Room Tip: We preferred the East side, right near the reef drop off
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NorwichBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Angaga Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angaga Island Resort

Property: Angaga Island Resort
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Angaga Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angaga Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Angaga Island Resort & Spa is located in the South Ari Atoll and is surrounded by a wealth of natural beauty along with crystal clear waters and a white sandy beach. The island is approximately 45,000 square metres and is superb for snorkeling and diving with the house reef just 7-8 metres from the beach featuring live coral and beautiful marine life. This is a great island for those holidaymakers seeking peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Angaga Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angaga Island Hotel Angaga Island
Hotel Angaga Island
Angaga Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing