We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Angaga Island Resort & Spa
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
248
179
32
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
179
32
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bungalowmain barhalf boardsunset barour waiterfishlagoon sideroom boysub aquaeagle raystoasted sandwichsea planecoffee tablehouse wineair consumptionsun loungerssandy floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We travelled to Angaga on the 7th of December with Thomson flying direct from Manchester. On arrival we was notified that there would be a delay. Nothing to worry about it happens, and with the way the weather was we where just happy the flight hadn't been cancelled. On arrival at Male and through customs you are then driven to the TMA sea transfer which they are in the process of renovating again nothing to worry about. As this was our 2nd visit to the island we knew what to expect on arrival iced towels and a fruit cocktail most welcoming. We requested room 150 as this was where we stayed on our last visit and loved the location however this was not possible and was given room 146 which to be fair was probable in a slightly better location. Any way to the resort as per our visit 2 years ago nothing much has changed still perfect. The staff were again amazing and didn't take long before we where remembered. A special mention to Nakkol our waiter he attended to our ever need in the restaurant. As for the food this was fantastic with loads to choose from for all tastes . Then there was Haazif he also was great and even remembered what my favourite cocktail was. In fact all the staff where amazing. So had any thing changed on the island yes the cocktail list had gone from 44 to 77 and all on the all inclusive. The beach at the water-villa end of the island had taken a bit of a battering in the monsoon they had recently. But other than that the island was still clean and tidy and although the rooms where basic they to where clean and cleaned twice daly. The island are aware of this as soon as the opportunity arose they where in renovating empty rooms, which on occasion made for entertainment, when walking to the sundown bar one afternoon we couldn't help but laugh when three of the staff where renewing the steps from a water villa to the sea and they where in the sea operating 240v hand tools. Snorkelling on this island is fantastic and we swam with two different turtles on the same day, also there is a resident reef shark (harmless). Whilst sat at the sundown bar of an evening we saw two nurseling sharks and some impressive rays and we saw our first eagle ray to. We only went on one excursion which was the evening fishing which was fantastic, as on returning we was told to wait in the bar and after about half an hour all people on the trip where taken to the beach where we was served the fish we had caught how fresh do you want your fish and it was to die for. This island in our opinion is what the Maldives is all about small unspoilt and totally relaxing. We made three visits to the spa and the hot stone massage is defiantly worth a go if nothing else just for the experience. So our overall opinion of this island is fantastic and by far the best of all the other 6 islands we have been to. In-fact we think it's that good we have already booked to return in 2011. Having read the the last review saying this island is cock roach ridden and dated please do not believe it as with any holiday if you look hard enough I'm sure you can pick fault with some thing, like the picture of the wheelie bins surely it's better to have a couple of bins about to put your rubbish in then have to walk around with it or in some peoples cases throw there rubbish on the floor and yes we did see these bins but they where not on the main paths they where tucked away behind trees etc so they had to go looking for them to photograph. Again some people are never happy. And we never saw a single cockroach. The only problem we had was our drain away in our shower blocked but we informed reception who had it all sorted by the time returned from our evening meal. So nothing to complain about there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bazzzaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Having read all the raving reviews we decided to
visit Angaga Island for our second trip to the
Maldives in May 2010. Previously we stayed in
Veligandu and were impressed by the whole
experience. We were expecting similar conditions,
especially having paid more for Angaga.

Accommodation

After arriving and being shown our Water Villa we
were in for a shock - apparently we have gone
back it time and visited the early 1990s... and
the maintenance people clearly had at least a decade off.

The villa was very dated and badly worn - the
wooden floor had big gaps in it, the glass door
to our private terrace wouldn't close completely
and there was a big gap under the entrance door
(severity of which we would realize later). There
was mold on the armchair cushions and in the AC
unit, beach towels and curtains had noticeable tears.

In the bathroom we noticed towels on the floor
and were informed that there is a drainage
problem in the shower (because of the sand
clogging up the pipes) and the towels are there
to stop the flooding. We were also advised to
keep the bathtub and sink plugged whenever we're not using it (weird, eh?).

We asked to see other rooms, but they were all
the same - the staff openly admitted that they
realize the resort is dated (according to them,
mainly because of the climate and heavy weather)
and might not be what we (Europeans?) are accustomed to.

The wooden jetty leading to the water villas also
hadn't stood the test of time - it was a big
splinter hazard - definitely in desperate need of attention.

Food

The food was basically the same every day. Eatable, but nothing special.
Unfortunately the food in the buffet was not
being covered by anything and there were a lot of
flies on it. This forced us to eat only the
things we saw being prepared, thus limiting our
section significantly - not the All Inclusive we were hoping for.

Insects (Cockroaches!)

The second night in Angaga we found out why there
was a big can of insect spray next to the door of
our "villa". We encountered large (3-4 cm long)
flying (!) 'American' cockroaches (and smaller
'regular' ones as well) in our room!
For the same reason we were also not able to go
out to our terrace after dark, or even open the
door for that matter - shame, since the water
around the villa is beautifully lit.

Due to the gaps in the floors and under the doors
were forced to fumigate the room and sleep with
the light turned on - not what you expect from an
expensive, relaxing trip to the Maldives.

Ah yes, that was also the reason we were advised
to plug the sinks - apparently cockroaches use
the pipes to commute from one house to another.

Island / House reef

The island and the house reef are very nice.
The beaches were very beautiful, although there
was trash washed out by the sea laying around at places.
The plethora of colorful fish at the house reef
was impressive. We even got to swim with a very friendly turtle.

Conclusion

Being the Maldives the scenery of the Angaga
island and its reef is stunning, having said that
the resort itself is in desperate need of
refurbishment and has an insect problem.
Bottom-line is there are much better places to
visit in the Maldives and Angaga can not be recommended in its current state.

It is apparent that the owners of this resort are
taking advantage of the very good reviews the
place got in the past and are hoping to milk it
as much as possible before finally closing the
resort for a much needed major refurbishment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank LauraGirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angaga1, Front Office Manager at Angaga Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

We Management took a serious note and taken necessary action. Every thing is corrected and upgraded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Third time to Maldives in different locations, so I can give a considered review of this resort:
PROS: Nice house reef on both sides of island. Clean beaches, but some veg when the wind catchs up. Rooms are basic, but this is a good value 3/4-star resort. Reasonable selection of buffet foods, but nothing special. Lots of selection, but not always to UK tastes as this is mainly a European resort.
CONS: Wind on west-side makes Water Villas shake/noisey. Very limited excursions and limited resort facilities - you can get bored! Rooms are not as good as some other resorts I have stayed at, but this is a 3/4-star resort. Rooms 130+ may lack a beach right in front - I stayed in 101 which I think is the best Bungalow.
OTHER CONSIDERATIONS: This is good value resort, but remember it is 3/4-star. Limited facilities on the island. Few excursions. Can get strong wind across the Water Villas. I stayed 14 nights, 10 would have been better.
Overall, a good value for money resort, but not as good as some other island that I stayed, but then, it also paid less!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iSpy-uSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed 11 nights for our honeymoon which proved to be too short. We were not sure that we would like the idea of a tiny island and we made the bad choice to stay 1 night in Male (avoid, if possible). We stayed on the beach bungalows, which was perfect, because the beach just in front of you is sooo lovely, that perhaps the water bungalows are not the optimal choice. The sandy beach is way better than you can imagine from the pictures. The diversity of the reefs and the fish is huge, although you have to be patient to see reef sharks. You get in the water and immediately you are in front of the fish! We happened to see a sea turtle one day too. Excursions include snorkeling in a nearby uninhabited island (more turtles there), fishing (we caught some really big fish 50-60cm!!!), lots of diving locations (we dont do dives), visits to other islands etc. Really it seems to not have much to do, but the time goes by every single day and you wonder why the day is so short!!!! Even just relaxing staring at the horizon is so special... thanks to the peacefulness.

Food-wise: Dinner options were endless and very tasty, and there was something special everyday. Sundays is the BBQ on the beach day. Chocolate deserts were not that good, but this helped us to not gain plenty of kilos lol. You have two bar options (the sunset bar only serves drinks – no snacks). Breakfast is not the best point, bacon, ham and cheese we didn’t like, but you have the classic omelette, pancakes, yogurt etc to get by.

Prices are very reasonable: $8 for most of the cocktails, $5 for a chicken sandwich with side salad and chips, $3.5 for big bottle of water, $10 if you are too hungry for fish+chips (+10% for the standard service charge).

The spa is highly recommended, treatment was very impressing.

There is room for improvement on the service side of things. I.e. a) It took them 2 days instead of 1 to get the clothes washing done, b) After returning from the fishing, we were left wondering what and where would follow (we had the fish cooked especially for the "fishermen" on the beach). by the way, the fish was DELICIOUSLY delicious.

Cleanliness is not up to European standards, but no real issues.

That's all. I m now waiting for the films to get developed, coz we didn't have a digi underwater camera. (they sell film cameras over there). I can't wait checking if I got that shark snaps right or wrong......

PS1 Get your own snorkelling equipment, coz the ones they sell are not good. I lost the breathing thingy and I had to buy the one they had, not good, not good.

PS2 The sea planes only travel during day-light, that means last plane flyes about 4-5 pm. (sunset about 6pm).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed on the island of Angaga for 2 weeks, my second time in the Maldives and my boyfriend's fourth. We'd previously stayed on a larger island and I found Angaga to be a little cozier sizewise. Our bungalow was nothing fancy but had everything we needed and was kept clean by the staff. I took advantage of the spa and had a massage there for my birthday. And speaking of birthdays, the resort really bends over backwards to celebrate special events. We hadn't even told them it was my birthday, but when we came to our table for dinner that evening, we saw that it had been decorated with flowers and they even brought out a cake for dessert. They also decorated our bungalow while we were at dinner - a nice touch. The snorkeling around the island was also a treat - eels, turtles, trumpet fish and even a giant baracuda! The only thing that detracted from the whole experience was the loud music at the disco on the weekends.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews