We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day trip with a piaggio 3 seater”
Review of Umbria in Vespa

Umbria in Vespa
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great trip around the lake and beyond in a piaggio noleggio Ace calessino 3 seater. Wife and dog in the back navigating. The guys at the venue were superb and offered great ideas of the places to go. Panicale. Paciano, Citta Della Pieve and Cortona being the highlights. The 3 and 4 seaters are a bit of a handful and need some care. So pay attention to the advice and take your time. This was for us the best way to see Umbria at the correct pace. Slowly.

Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lake trasimeno"
in 6 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"italian drivers"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful experience"
in 2 reviews
"speaks fluent"
in 2 reviews
"panoramic view"
in 2 reviews
"vespa"
in 32 reviews
"claudia"
in 31 reviews
"umbria"
in 25 reviews
"towns"
in 8 reviews
"roads"
in 8 reviews
"gps"
in 7 reviews
"marco"
in 4 reviews
"motorcycle"
in 6 reviews
"helmets"
in 4 reviews
"holiday"
in 5 reviews
"renting"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2018

We had a really fantastic day out on (I think) a 125cc Vespa which did us great, at the end of April 2018. We'd hired a scooter in Italy before but not a Vespa, and were initially unsure if it would be as comfortable, but in fact it was super.

Claudia was absolutely wonderful, very welcoming and friendly, and gave us lots of good advice (and a nice annotated map) on where we might go, which was particular great because while our plan had been to stay close to the lake, thanks to her we covered a wider area and saw some lovely places we would otherwise have missed. We were very happy just pootling along these back roads seeing the countryside and the towns.

As an added bonus, when we returned the scooter at the end of the day and told her we were headed to Perugia for the evening, she advised us on where to park which was much appreciated when we got there, as we'd never have figured it out on our own!

A definite highlight of our trip, and if we're ever back in the area we'll be sure to call again.

Thank gimboland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vespona, Owner at Umbria in Vespa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thank you very much for your nice review! I'm very happy that you liked your trip by vespa in Umbria and that my advices for Perugia had been useful for you, too! Waiting for you to come back sometime! All the best for you from Claudia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Umbria by Vespa is an ideal way to discover all the small and bigger town surrounding the Lake Trasimeno area.

Vehicles:
Various different types of Vespa's available - from 125cc Primavera or LX models, to the 250 or 300cc models for the more experienced rider (motorcycle licence required for the 250/300cc).

Some Vespa's are ideal for beginners (less sensitive throttle response, have some more mileage on them) others will be newer with less mileage and quicker throttle response. You can pick whatever you like to try out before you set off.

Helmets are included in the rental price, various sizes available.

Host:
Very friendly and welcoming host Claudia explains how to operate the Vespa, what to look out for, which routes around the lake you can take, where there's a nice bar with a panoramic view to have a drink, etc...
Speaks fluent English, Italian and German (maternal language).

Routes:
Claudia will ask what you have and haven't yet seen around the lake, and will point out the "must-visits" around the lake. Standard you get a paper map, which is fairly easy to navigate with - and makes it a bit more fun to try and find the right course by yourself.
You can also rent a gps with the routes pre-loaded onto the if you're not in the mood for searching the right way yourself.

Driving in the area:
Driving around the lake is an ideal way to discover the area. Renting for a day is ideal for the immediate lake area, longer will allow you to explore parts of Tuscany as well (recommend: Montepulciano!) However, do always keep a certain focus on the road itself. Certain parts of the road are not in good condition; potholes, torn apart stretches of asphalt and so on. This shouldn't scare you to drive the road however.

Prices:
Comparing them to others in the area, I find them to have the best "value-for-money".
Correct prices (at time of writing; € 55 for a day, following days at a decreasing rate) which includes the Vespa, a helmet, a basic liability insurance cover and some smaller things.

Personally, I'd recommend the additional insurance cover (at €10/day, which significantly lowers your deductible in case of damage or accident at fault), because you never know on these Italian roads (and with those Italian drivers )

Conclusion:
Umbria by Vespa is a great way to discover the lake area, and beyond.
Once you get used to driving the Vespa, it's a practical and fun way to get around (always parking availability in the towns, great panoramas along the way, ...)

I rented for one day in September 2017.
Would recommend and will be visiting again when in the area.

Ilias (Piegaro)

1  Thank Ilias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vespona, Owner at Umbria in Vespa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Wow! This is a really great review describing every single detail! I think I should use a copy of it for my mails explaining how things are going to interested people!! ;-)
Thank you for the time you invested by describing in such a clear way our reality!
Waiting for your next visit here at the Trasimeno Lake!
Greetings from Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Great experience and excellent service. Claudia and employees are wonderful. Vespa 300 great for two and highway speeds if you are experienced rider.

Thank MauiLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vespona, Owner at Umbria in Vespa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you very much for the nice review!!!
Best wishes from Umbria and the Trasimeno Lake! :-)
Claudia and staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We hired a vespa for a week and went all around the local area, visiting Assisi, Gubbio, Spello and the beautiful Lake Trasimeno. Claudia and Marco were so friendly, informative and helpful and picked us up and dropped us off at the station to make sure we didn't miss our train back to our apartment. The vespa was absolutely fantastic and didn't miss a beat as we travelled everywhere for the week. It was an absolute highlight of our holiday in Unbria and I would recommend Umbria in Vespa to anyone really wanting to see Italy in an exciting and authentic way. Thank you Claudia and Marco! I am so happy we did this!

Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vespona, Owner at Umbria in Vespa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello Carolyn! And I am so happy that you did it, too!!! - And even more that it let you have a great time in Umbria! Thank you so much for your friendly review and all the best for you from Claudia and Marco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umbria in Vespa also viewed

Magione, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Umbria in Vespa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing