We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rangimarie Beachstay
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Rangimarie, and this time, with two kids under 7. Anaura Bay beach is one of the most beautiful beaches on earth, and the accommodation is built to make the most of the stunning views. Judy looked after us brilliantly, and was wonderfully patient with the girls. It is, without doubt, our favourite destination for a holiday.

Room Tip: The Rangimarie cottage and the upstairs rooms have the best light and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

A stay with Judy Newell should be on everyone's bucket list. A far far cry from the madding crowd. A place of spectacular beauty but also a place of peace, warmth, love and friendship coupled with delicious food and stimulating conversation. Her home and the effortless way she provides these comforts for her guests not only gives restorative powers to the soul, the heart, the eyes, and the mind but it remains priceless. I cannot think of a better place to go than to Judy's at Araura Bay - nobody does it better, really!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

When you have a prime location for your Beachstay looking out over what is truly the best beach on the East Coast, the horseshoe Araura Bay, a unique interesting purpose built building, and a delightful hostess; then you have a winning formula. Rangimarie beachstay and Judy Newell have all the ingredients for the perfect NZ holiday.

We had the charming decorated Kawakawa bed and breakfast suite with its own lounge and tea making. A generous deck gave a perfect view out over the bay and a great spot to relax before dinner. There is also a self-contained cottage for guests who want to do their own thing.

So if you want to get away and sample the East Coast then Rangimarie is and excellent choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I am going to join everyone else by praising this hidden gem.
This was easily the best accommodation my family and I have ever had in New Zealand.

This spacious B&B is located on sunny Anaura Bay, 70km north of Gisborne.
Our room (upstairs) had one of the best views anyone can possibly imagine.

The food at breakfast and dinner was simply sublime.

Thank you Judy and your friend for being such wonderful hosts and making us feel very welcome.

PS. the photos on the website do not give justice to how amazing this place actually is.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acarb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

And Judy shares her paradise with her guests. Thank you so much. We had delicious breakfast and dinner. But most of all we loved the two sunrises watching from our bedroom. Rangimarie is one of the most beautiful accommodations we ever had in NZ. We loved it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank btotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at Rangimarie Beachstay as part of our trip along the East Cape. What a find! Beautiful location with views across Anaura Bay and not a soul in sight. If you are looking for relative luxury in a location far away from main roads, shops and hustle-bussle, this is the place to be. The accommodation is to a very high standard and because we were the only couple staying this week, Judy upgraded us to the loft apartment at no extra cost. The loft was beautiful with a very comfortable queen bed, a lovely lounge area with a great balcony looking over the beach. The house is set in beautiful gardens with lots of birds and trees and steps leading down to the beach. For the $155 a night, you get breakfast included and boy, what a treat breakfast is. Judy lays on full continental and cooked breakfast with home made jams, lots of fresh fruit and anything cooked to order. All served at one of the spacious tables in the garden terrace at the front of the property. What sets this place out from others is Judy who is very friendly and very accommodating. Nothing is too much trouble and when we realized there were no shops or restaurants in the area and I tentatively asked Judy if she could lay on supper, she obliged with a 3 course meal. Of course the meal was extra but it was as good as any restaurant we'd have eaten at and probably better! Rangimarie is best suited to adults - couples who want a romantic escape and lovers of mother nature. We'll definitely be back as the host is great, the location and food is amazing and at $155 a night, it's awesome value for money.

Room Tip: Opt for the loft room if you can as it has the best views over Anaura Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I can only echo the other reviews here: beautiful location on a spectacular bay, lovely accommodations with sweeping balcony views, excellent cooking (and do plan to eat there - getting to a restaurant and back would be taxing given the isolated location). Your hostess is helpful and accommodating. We were lucky enough to be able to extend our stay because once we'd settled in, we realized we really didn't want to leave...

Room Tip: We chose the second floor which included a bedroom, sitting room and balcony with the aforementioned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slowtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rangimarie Beachstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangimarie Beachstay

Address: 930 Anaura Road, Anaura Bay 4079, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Anaura Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Anaura Bay
Price Range: £71 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rangimarie Beachstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing