We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dusty and full of cobwebs”
Review of Three Acres

Three Acres
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Somerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Acres
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Three Acres should be getting a better review as the house is in a lovely location and the bedroom huge. However, there were cobwebs all over the place including an enormous one hanging from the ceiling in the bedroom! There were cobwebs in every corner of the bedroom and lots had resident spiders and bits of spidery meals! The dust in the bathroom had to be seen to be believed and a skylight window was nearly covered by a network of cobwebs. It is a shame that the room was let down by shoddy cleaning. The breakfast wasn't particulary good - just adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Three Acres last night - wanted to get away from the city and get some peace and quiet! The owners were really friendly and helpful, they made us feel very welcome. The house is stunning set in beautiful quiet countryside near the coast. We took our dog which was great, and he took to the people & place straightaway. The room was spacious yet cosy with gorgeous proper cotton bed linen which we especially appreciated and is rare to find these days! The room had a large sofa and was well equipped with a fantastic powerful shower and tv with lots of channels. We will definitely stay there again and would have no hesitation in recommending the Three Acres.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fire9fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We booked into the B&B Three Acres back in August 2013 for a long weekend to relax after the busy Christmas period. When my fiancé and I arrived we found the atmosphere friendly and inviting there was an open fire in the main lounge and the ambiance was very much the country home retreat. We were shown to a large and spacious bedroom with en suite bathroom facility, we were surprised to find a balcony which over looked picturesque fields with horses grazing and the lighting was very romantic. We were very happy for the three nights and we would love to return, especially in the summer time. During our stay we couldn't have asked for better hospitality with a fully cooked English breakfast and vegetarian option for my fiancé, fresh orange juice and coffee. The bedroom was warm and nicely decorated with a comfortable bed. We had clean and fresh towels, and in the morning's we looked out to the horses grazing it felt very peaceful. I would say it was one of the best trips within the uk that we have had for a long time. We will definitely be returning in the summer to explore the beautiful nature further with the area being ideal for bird watchers. There was plenty of choice to eat out at night time and long country walks during the day time with pub lunches not to mention the beach which is less than 1/2 a mile away. Wonderful time we shared at a special place.

Room Tip: If you enjoy looking out over fields and maybe to watch a sun set in the evening's the chose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at this lovely B&B for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was great and there was plenty of it. Our room was huge and well furnished with a very comfy bed and ensuite shower room. It is in a lovely location and we enjoyed the horses in the garden. We will definately plan on returning in the summer. Irene is a very pleasant hostess, nothing was too much trouble for her. We felt we'd had great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We've stayed at Three Acres several times, and as keen walkers who love nature we've found it hard to beat.
As others have said, the rooms and suites are huge and lovely, and Irene the owner has always been very welcoming and helpful. But the clincher for us is the location. Once arrived, we hardly ever have to use the car, which makes for a real stress-free holiday feel. There's so much to explore within walking distance. We always walk down the back lane to Winterton Dunes nature reserve, where seal sightings are almost a cert at any time, but between November and January literally hundreds of Grey Seals come ashore to have their pups. It's like a scene from a David Attenborough documentary - fat cute pups, and big males fighting over the females! Amazing to see all this going on so close to civilisation. And the reserve is also great for birds - there's a little tern colony, and many rare migrants pass through.
In the other direction from Three Acres there's a footpath that runs past Martham Broad, another great spot for Norfolk specialities - we saw our first Swallowtail butterfly there, as well as Marsh Harriers and Cranes overhead.
And in the evenings we stroll to The Lion just down the road. It's friendly and does basic pub grub (we're not gourmets!), though those wanting a wider choice could eat at The Hermanus (great sea views) or Fishermens, both in Winterton.
So, for any nature lovers who want to get away from it all, Three Acres and this corner of Norfolk come highly recommended!

Room Tip: We've always had the family suite - tons of space.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank NatureGal150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The house was fantastic. We had the family room which was two massive rooms (one with with ensuite), including a kingsize bed, 2 single beds and a toddler bed. The kidroom also had lots of books and games to keep the kids entertained.

We had a lovely stay. The only faults were that the grout in the shower could do with a good scrub and the 'full English breakfast' was disappointing. Day 1 there was no orange juice and only 1 sausage to share between 4 people. Day 2 we had orange juice but still no sausages. And Day 3 we were advised there was no sausages or beans. There was however cereal, and fruit available for the duration of our stay. This would be acceptable if it was a last minute booking but the room was booked 3 weeks prior to arrival.

All in all we would probably stay there again as the rooms suited our needs perfectly. My review would have been a 5 star if the breakfast was a bit better (i stay in b&b's a lot with my work and know what to expect) -this b&b could be made fabulous with only a little more attention to the role of b&b.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozza0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed at Three Acres with my two daughters (18 and 16) on our second day of a sponsored bike ride around Norfolk. It was a lovely spacious house and we had the family room which was very comfortable and clean and we were made to feel very relaxed. The family room had one double bed in one room and two singles in an adjoining room. A lovely breakfast and Irene made sure we wanted for nothing. Would recommend Three Acres.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Somerton
1.4 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#1 of 1 in Hemsby
22 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caister-on-Sea
250 reviews
2.8 mi away
Horse & Groom Hotel
Horse & Groom Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rollesby
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
#1 of 1 in Ormesby St. Margaret
34 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Lawson Cottage B & B
Lawson Cottage B & B
#2 of 2 in Hickling
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres

Address: Three Acres Winterton Road, West Somerton NR29 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > West Somerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Somerton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful country house in a area of outstanding natural beauty with views across fields to Somerton beach. The village of Somerton is also situated on the Norfolk broads which is accessed by the picturesque Somerton Staithe. The property of Three Acres caters for all and welcomes families and dogs. Three Acres is a short walk, through the beautiful Burnley Hall Estate from the neighbouring village of Winterton-on-sea, ideal off-road walk for ramblers and cycilists alike. We offer a friendly, relaxed short or long stay visit in our comfortable spacious rooms. We provide a delicious full English breakfast; vegetarians are also catered for and there is a choice of traditional country pubs nearby for evening meals ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Acres West Somerton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing