We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and peaceful location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Aarlanderveen, South Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Simon S
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and peaceful location”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful time in the Chestnut Lodge. The surroundings were beautiful and the local village had everything we needed. Had a great time at the local open air pool and on the boating lake. House was fitted and furnished to a very high standard and the owner was very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamid A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family & me was having a lovely week here this August .. We really feel that we are at home as everything is available here and Marya was so helpful with fast response to answer all questions, it's middle location to visit all the netherland very easy .. It's the right place to relax with great nature surrounding.. It deserves to be here .. Specially when you are 5 to 10 persons ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin3967
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a great place for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. We stayed over the Easter holidays and found the house spacious and well equipped. The kids loved the playroom and the swings in the garden.
The location was ideal for exploring the Netherlands, we visited Keukenhof, the theme park at Efterling and spent a day in the charming town of Leiden.
The local town was only a few minutes drive away and had all the essential amenities, and a very nice pub where we enjoyed an excellent meal.
Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful and we would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alrexken
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcoming home”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We enjoyed a really lovely Easter break at Chestnut Farmhouse.
It was easy to book, communication was good and the House itself was really lovely.
spacious and comfortable. really large lounge with plenty of seating and a woodburner.
a well equipped kitchen with a large table and seating for 10 people.
The bedrooms all tastefully decorated and really comfortable beds.
A great house for spending time with family and friends. (not much within walking distance, although we did find nice beer in small bar at start of village and a good supermarket 5 mins drive in other direction.)
We visited keukenhoff gardens, a great day out. Amsterdam (a 30 min drive ) good fun, Gouda and on the way home (we drove from the euro tunnel) Brugge for waffles and chocolate.
would thoroughly recommend and would love to return .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a lovely spacious property to chill out with family and friends
Liked least: satisfied with everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia...
Ithaca, New York
1 review
“Holland at it's best to celebrate life”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Nature and fun for everyone. We celebrated my mother's 75's birthday, with my 25 year old daughter, three generations fitting perfectly in a cozy paradise. It cant get better than this, it was the best and excellent choice for our unique celebration, a cozy home away from home, to relax, or reach touristic places in less than an hour since is close to every place you want to visit in The Netherlands. After a busy day the "Chestnut Lodge" was the best place to relax and enjoy nature. We are coming back soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything we needed
Liked least: nothing to mention
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDDarling...
Central Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Unbelievable Find--one of our best rentals ever!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I recently returned from the Netherlands with our group of nine, including my husband, three couples, and an adult daughter. When I booked this property, I had no idea what we would find upon arrival. What we found was amazing! This home is located in the Green Heart, an area brimming with picturesque canals, single-lane roads, abundant waterfowl, and friendly neighbors!

After picking up the key from the gardener's wife, we found the farmhouse and experienced our first drive over the little bridge that leads into the parking area of the house. Hmmm...this tested my nerves, for sure.

The house is simply beautiful, inside and out! With its five bedrooms and two bathrooms (one with separate toilet), this house accommodated all of us comfortably. In addition to the spacious living room, the kitchen and adjoining dining area allowed us to chat as we prepared our breakfasts and some dinners. Of course, we appreciated the washer/dryer as well as the wi-fi. These amenities just helped make our visit even more enjoyable.

The neighborhood itself deserves praise. This area lends itself to at least one daily walk, if not more. With the farm animals, the abundant waterfowl, the friendly neighbors...all contributed to making us feel right at home. Canals are everywhere...windmills dot the landscape. At night the nearby town's cathedral tower is lit and shines over the countryside.

From Chestnut Farmhouse we took daily trips....Keukenhof, Amsterdam (by train from Alphen via Leiden to Amsterdam Central), Delft, Haarlem, Gouda, the North Sea, etc. Since we Americans did not have a chip card, we encountered a few challenges with purchasing train tickets and parking in lots. Usually a credit card worked though we had to ask for help in understanding how to do this. People were eager to assist us; in fact, one student shared her train card discount with three of us!

This home is also located close to grocery stores, restaurants, gas stations, etc. We found all of these with the helpful directions given to us by the owner in a guidebook left for visitors.

With the exception of it not having a freezer compartment in the refrigerator, this vacation rental has it all! Everyone in our group was delighted with this home and its location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home's location was ideal.
Liked least: The refrigerator does not have a freezer, so we had to eat our ice cream quickly!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanMugerw...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, Cozy, Gezellig”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed over New Year with an extended family of 9. Ages ranged from 3 months to 80 years. We all loved it and had a great time. Lovely house, Living room in particular really cozy. Lovely area. Cannot recommend the house highly enough. Ticks all the boxes. Looking forward to staying again some time soon. Leaving was the hardest part of the whole experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room was a dream: Log stove, big farmhouse windows, candles, lots of space. A dream.
Liked least: The second bathroom could do with an update (but that is being picky)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;