We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely house in a beautiful area”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Aarlanderveen, South Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
783sophie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family of 6 spent a week here enjoying the local area and taking day trips to local towns and to Amsterdam. Cycling around the polder area was very interesting and easy, this was our first trip to the Green Heart of the Netherlands. Gouda and Leiden are both worth a visit, we really enjoyed the Windmill museum in Leiden and buying/eating mature Gouda cheese in Gouda town square.
The house is comfortable and well maintained. Everyone we met was friendly. I'm sure we'll be back to the area someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The thatch cottage style and the location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson M
1 review
“Perfect for our writers' retreat”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

In November, eight of us rented the Chestnut Farmhouse (5 bedrooms) and accompanying Lodge (2 bedrooms) for our fall writing retreat. It was the ideal place for long, leisurely meals in the kitchen and lots of critiquing and brainstorming in the large living room by the wood stove. Lovely countryside, with a butcher and grocer and other basic shops five minutes away by car. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anno G
Overveen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable and pleasant house at a very Dutch countryside spot”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at both the Chestnut Farmhouse and Lodge for a weekend with group of thirteen people. Everyone, old and young enjoyed the stay. Large living, allowing to do things jointly but also to sit separate to read a book. Great cousy atmosphere. The garden has many different quiet places to sit, the only thing we missend was the sun. I can recommend the accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacy living and direct surrounding
Liked least: Kitchen knives need to be sharpened
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and peaceful location”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful time in the Chestnut Lodge. The surroundings were beautiful and the local village had everything we needed. Had a great time at the local open air pool and on the boating lake. House was fitted and furnished to a very high standard and the owner was very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamid A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family & me was having a lovely week here this August .. We really feel that we are at home as everything is available here and Marya was so helpful with fast response to answer all questions, it's middle location to visit all the netherland very easy .. It's the right place to relax with great nature surrounding.. It deserves to be here .. Specially when you are 5 to 10 persons ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin3967
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a great place for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. We stayed over the Easter holidays and found the house spacious and well equipped. The kids loved the playroom and the swings in the garden.
The location was ideal for exploring the Netherlands, we visited Keukenhof, the theme park at Efterling and spent a day in the charming town of Leiden.
The local town was only a few minutes drive away and had all the essential amenities, and a very nice pub where we enjoyed an excellent meal.
Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful and we would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alrexken
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcoming home”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We enjoyed a really lovely Easter break at Chestnut Farmhouse.
It was easy to book, communication was good and the House itself was really lovely.
spacious and comfortable. really large lounge with plenty of seating and a woodburner.
a well equipped kitchen with a large table and seating for 10 people.
The bedrooms all tastefully decorated and really comfortable beds.
A great house for spending time with family and friends. (not much within walking distance, although we did find nice beer in small bar at start of village and a good supermarket 5 mins drive in other direction.)
We visited keukenhoff gardens, a great day out. Amsterdam (a 30 min drive ) good fun, Gouda and on the way home (we drove from the euro tunnel) Brugge for waffles and chocolate.
would thoroughly recommend and would love to return .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a lovely spacious property to chill out with family and friends
Liked least: satisfied with everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing