We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serena Khaplu Palace
Ranked #1 of 2 Khaplu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It is without doubt one of the most incredible places I have ever stayed
Really nice and comfortable room and great setting for exploring the area.
Rooms are just perfect, a good balance between luxury and comfort. The rooms have beautiful decorations with ancient parquet floors and woodwork on the walls. Bathroom is very nuce and modern with a spacey shower closed by a robust glass door.
The hotel has been newly renovated though still maintaining it’s historical worth of 12th century Raja residence and Fortress. It is surrounded by a majestic landscape of peaks and woods, the view taking you back to ancient times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

A three hour drive from Skardu leads you to one of the most beautifully restored palaces, converted into a hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a friendly and helpful staff that make you feel at home within two days. The orchard is full of fruit laden trees where one can sit and relax while drinking coffee and tea. One must try the delicious local Balti cuisine prepared by Chef Zafar. All in all, it is an experience that will make you return again and again to this beautiful place. The only danger is that once you come, you may not want to leave.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable. Choose a room with a view of the palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amjadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was an awesome experience especially the dinner in the kings balcony.

The breakfast rooftop was amazing with breathtaking view of the mountains and beautiful flowers.

The rooms are very well furnished and have all the amenities of a 5 star place.

The staff is extra courteous and helpful, the food is delicious.

The only thing lacking is free WiFi internet.

A highly recommended place of stay.

Room Tip: If you can splurge go for the fort rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adeelanwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Khaplu Palace is perhaps one of the loveliest and most well kept/managed places especially in the mountainous areas of the world. Its historical, its gorgeous, its well kept and well served by world class standards. Coincidentally, there was no other guest during the 3 days of our stay and every single day, we had breakfast at a unique and beautiful location, terrace or room. Same with dinners.

Room Tip: The best place to stay in it is the Rani Suite in the heritage building. Its the highest priced one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

In a remote area like Khaplu it's a bless to have a such a nice and well maintained Residencia with excellent short trip near by e.g Minthokha water fall, Hushe valley. through tour operator you can get better deal.

Check your time of visit there might be interested to watch Polo played all over Gilgit Baltistan as national game

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine Tours P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I have now stayed at Khaplu Palace & Residence three times and each time I stay I never want to leave. It is one of the most beautiful and charming heritage hotels I have ever stayed in. Like its more well known sister property Shigar Fort, Khaplu Palace was restored by the Aga Khan Cultural Services and only opened last year. I love staying in the Palace suites as you have total access to all palace rooms - there are so many incredible places to sit, read, contemplate life and enjoy Baltistani High Tea (thoroughly recommended). You are surrounded by orchards of apricot, cherry and apple trees plus snow capped mountains - it is utterly glorious. The food is some of the best I have eaten on my travels in Pakistan - the chefs are incredibly creative. Their BBQ, Palak and salads are out of this world. I also love the fact that you eat every meal in a different location - just magical. On my last stay the manager Abbas had arranged for my friends and I to have the most fantastic high tea with the Rani of Khaplu - we sat in the palace talking about her life as a princess growing up inside the palace. Outside of the palace there is so much to do and see - we all loved the walk up to Thoqsikhar, the site of the old palace. It takes about 1 1/2 hours to walk there from the hotel walking along a stream and through pretty little villages & farming land. The view from the top is sensational as you can see all over the Khaplu Valley. There definitely isn't anything like Khaplu Palace in Pakistan and it would be difficult to compare this to any other boutique hotel in the world that I have ever stayed in. Thank you Abbas and team for looking after us so well every time.

Room Tip: All rooms in the Palace - I particularly love the Rani room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank upmarketadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Have just returned from Pakistan, and we stayed doe 3 nights at Khaplu Palace. It is without doubt one of the most incredible places I have ever stayed in - steeped in history, charm and character, and run by THE most amazing GM, Abbas Ali Khan. He was charm personified, and nothing was too much trouble - and made one feel very special indeed.
The Chef also was so willing to meet our needs, and the last night there, we had a sublime dinner with barbecued vegetables, the best Palak Paneer I have ever eaten, followed by delicious pancakes with apricots.
Khaplu is not exactly easy to get to, but TOTALLY worth the effort and the miles!!! IF you are planning on travelling in this part of the world, I urge you - GO TO KHAPLU. it is a MUST.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Palace are so much more interesting than the Residence - they are full of history a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khaplu
0.0 mi away
Hotel One Skardu
Hotel One Skardu
#1 of 2 in Skardu
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swat Serena Hotel
Swat Serena Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saidu
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunza View Hotel
Hunza View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Karimabad
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hargisa Hut
Hargisa Hut
#1 of 19 in Skardu
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sarai Silk Route
Hotel Sarai Silk Route
#3 of 10 in Hunza
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Khaplu Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Khaplu Palace

Address: Khaplu | Ghanche District, Khaplu 15150, Pakistan (Formerly Khaplu Palace & Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: Pakistan > Gilgit-Baltistan > Khaplu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Khaplu
Price Range: £99 - £735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Khaplu Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a region rich in cultural heritage, Serena Khaplu Palace is certainly the finest surviving example of a Royal Residence in Baltistan. It is located on the legendry route to the world’s greatest junction of three mighty glaciers at Concordia. In terms of architectural heritage and cultural expression, it has arguably more treasures than Shigar Fort, possibly as a result of its closeness to both Leh in Ladakh and Srinagar in Kashmir.Serena Khaplu Palace is a unique heritage Boutique Hotel which offers guests the opportunity to experience the restored original architecture of a 19th century Raja Palace, while enjoying the modern amenities and services of a luxury Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Serena Khaplu Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing