We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW Best Christmas Meal to date”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #1 of 2 Sherington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I would like to thank Luke and the whole team in making our department Christmas Meal Evening a real special one. From accommodating us to include extra person, to having to cancel at almost last minute one less person and did not charge us. All the food for everyone, for the whole 3 courses was excellent and tasted amazing. Also the service and just the whole experience was excellent. A big compliment to the Chef and the whole team, if they carry on like this, you will need to book way in advance. Keep up the good work, food and excellent customer service. Will definately bring my family and friends again. Mrs Falconi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for one night mid week. Lovely welcome on arrival, shown to room 404 which is an upstairs room located in the old building opposite the pub. Excellent size room with good quality furnishings, tea / coffee facilities, a hairdryer, flat screen TV, alarm clock and clean soft bedding.

Bathroom was large with slopping floor (old wobbly building). Heated towel rail with big fluffy towels and a selection of toiletries. Walk in Shower, no bath.

Had a few drinks in the bar which was full of friendly locals and resident Jack Russell (very cute dog). Good selection of beers and lagers on tap and the food was excellent. Home cooked ham and eggs was not only a generous portion but very good quality.

Breakfast was also excellent, local sausages were awesome. The owners were on hand to ensure you had everything you needed and again breakfast was served in generous portions with plenty of Tea.

All in all this is a great place to stay and has so much more character than the chain hotels in the area. I would certainly return if in the area again and highly recommend.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are in one building opposite the Pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgentNikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here on 30 Aug 2013 - OK but very noisy though I guess that's to be expected from a drinkers pub. Had booked 2 rooms as travelling with friends. Unfortunately they had to cancel but this was well within the cancellation period and a full refund was promised (we had paid in full in advance). Several phone calls and emails later there is still no sign of a refund despite many promises and I am about to try and get my money back from the credit card company instead. If you must stay here don't pay in advance.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We chose the White Hart for its location close to Olney where we attending a party. It was only 2.5 miles away. We arrived in Sherrington mid afternoon and thought how pretty and peaceful the village was. Shortly after we arrived at the White Hart and received a very warm welcome in the pub by the woman serving the bar. The accommodation was in the building opposite and was really lovely. Spotlessly clean, and nicely furnished and decorated. We were really impressed. Recommendations to eat were supplied and taxis were organised for our night out. My husband and I got the impression nothing was too much trouble . Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast the next day delicious - fresh fruit, pastries and choice of locally sourced hot dishes such as eggs benedict and naturally a full English. Wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Room was lovely, spacious, clean, all we needed. Landlord and staff extremely nice and welcoming, evening meal excellent, breakfast fantastic - we will definitely be back when visiting this part of the country again :)

Ian and Denise Powell

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJP1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great food and room, very varied breakfast to die for, no reduction for single occupancy though, hence point deducted. (I could only eat one breakfast). The light airy room was lovely and comfortable and very quiet, hardly heard any noise from the pub even with the windows open. I couldn't get the free wi-fi to work in the room. Bathroom was a little tired but functional.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladys6N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at The White Hart twice: in Dec 2012 & June 2013. Both times were related to work but if I'm honest, staying at the White Hart made me feel like I was on holiday! Keith & his wonderful team are so welcoming & this extends to the locals too. I was staying there by myself & enjoyed sitting in the pub of an evening chatting to regulars & having a meal. I can recommend Chubby's Ham & almost anything on the menu. There are always several specials available & the food is very reasonably priced. Breakfast is fabulous & there is everything from a full English to kippers to eggs benedict. I seem to sleep very well when i stay at the White Hart - not sure if it's sampling too many local ales or the beds being so comfy! I agree with the other comnents about the showers not having much pressure but that is a blip on an otherwise unblemmished record. Can't wait to return to The White Hart :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wee_Lozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherington
5.7 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
5.1 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
401 reviews
8.9 mi away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Little Brickhill
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montpellier House B&B
Montpellier House B&B
#2 of 2 in Sherington
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: 1 Gun Lane | Milton Keynes, Sherington, Milton Keynes MK16 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Sherington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sherington
Price Range: £96 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Free House dating back to 1741, in the quiet village of Sherington offering a varied range of real ales and ciders together with a selection of wines to accommodate all tastes. Food available from snacks and tapas to full meals in the bar or restaurant. A relaxing cosy atmosphere for both drinking and eating. Four individually designed bedrooms with en-suite facilities situated in a converted barn, opposite the main building. The perfect base for a business or leisure stay. This is a brilliant place to hold a wedding reception, party or a celebration! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing