We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hour and half spent here with nieces and nephews”
Review of Fife Folk Museum

Fife Folk Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Ceres
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hour and half spent here with nieces and nephews”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great visit kids enjoyed it the quiz was good but made more complicated than I felt was necessary by the numbers the photocopying was not good which made it difficult for the youngest to find the objects. I used to volunteer there 37 years ago when I was ten!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolinewbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St.Andrews
Level Contributor
352 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Tucked Away, but Well Worth a Visit!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ceres is one of those charming small villages that could be ignored by those seeking more flamboyant ones, but it's well worth a visit.On the afternoon that we drove in, after spending a very pleasant stay in nearby Falkland (where there's going to be a week long Music Festival, starting on 27th June, we decided to go for just one more coffee.
The small Folk Museum contains a great little cafe called "Hatters & Co," which has some of the nicest cakes we've seen fro a long while.
As it happened, the Museum and cafe closes at 4.30; and we came in on the edge. Still, the very well mannered and cheerful young chap (mopping the floor) said "No Bother," he'd make us three mugs.
We will return to this charming and well maintained attraction, overlooking common ground that was, already filling up with fairground attractions.
Just a minute, isn't there a CD by that name?
This weekend is hosting one of the oldest Highland Fairs in Scotland, in Cupar. It will be very busy, so why not make a detour to Ceres, for your coffee and cake break?
This part of Fife is a breath of fresh air, with many fascinating buildings and beautiful side ways.
And such friendly folk, in the Cafe.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cakes that make you smile they are so tasty!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Such a beautiful afternoon spend with my daughter and friend. Fantastic light bite and delicious cakes!! Surroundings are also lovely perfect for a day out. I look forward to returning on a sunny day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank positivitylasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“surprisingly fab afternoon out”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This museum may be small but it's got of lots of interesting artefacts and displays and the volunteers are friendly and knowledgeable. We nipped into the café for lunch after we'd finished wandering about and were very impressed with the quality. lovely thick bread, home made chutney and quite possibly the best tomato soup I've ever tasted. The cakes on offer looked amazing but we didn't have any room left after our substantial lunch. The café was reasonably priced and there's a wee shop selling various random stuff.
The village itself is picturesque and a wee walk along the river is recommended before your lunch to get an appetite up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowBrambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“At the heart of a delightful village.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ceres (pronounced as 'series') is a delightful little village close to Cupar and not far from St. Andrews and well worth a visit if you are in the area. Two inns, a village green (Bow Butts), a burn, a local independent butcher, village shop, post office, pottery and tucked away in a row of old cottages, the Fife Folk Museum. The village and local area are justifiably proud of this small but extremely interesting potted history of rural Fife life which is witnessed by the number and range of exhibits donated by local families and the enthusiasm and knowledge of the volunteers who run the museum. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rakersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fife Folk Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fife Folk Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing