We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such lovely views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hadleigh Castle

Hadleigh Castle
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Hadleigh
Certificate of Excellence
essex UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Such lovely views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hadleigh Castle really is a brilliant trip. Its a lovely place to have a picnic, spend the day ( There's a farm a five minute walk away which is great for kids) or just to have a brisk walk through. The scenery is absolutely beautiful and its right next to an Olympic site where the mountain biking took place. Its also got brilliant views of the surrounding area. A lovely place to visit, i would definitely recommend it :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niamh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    68
    16
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Picnic in Ancient Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

It's a perfect place for a picnic in a nice day away from the busy city and just river and hill views around you, with a touch of historical essence in the place (14th Century castle!). It's surprisingly free English Heritage site so it's for all! I just don't know how crowded it can be in a perfect sunny day but when we went there it's ok. Toilet and snack bar is in a walking distance cafe. There is no proper parking (we just parked on the slip road in the entrance) so I'm not sure if parking will be a problem on a busy day, and the place is hard to find too (lack of road directions). GPS made us lost as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuanitoC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views over the Thames Estuary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Hadleigh Castle in Essex on our trip home from Southend-on-Sea. We parked in the Salvation Army tea house car park which is only 10 mins away from the historic site. We were very lucky to have a sunny day with a clear view across the Thames. Unusually there is no entry charge payable! The castle is quite ruined but the combination of what is left together with the stunning views across the estuary made the visit very worthwhile. If you have time you can visit the rare breeds centre which is next to the tea house. If you are really keen you can take a long walk through the adjacent Hadleigh Country park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Views amazing .. Castle ruins interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Not a lot to see of what's left of the Castle but the views of the area are wonderful .. The local on site cafe resembles a Swiss cottage and is rather lovely and supported by a charity and has daily help by work experience I think one visit was enough for us ..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnboymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A blast from the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The wind blew the sun was out and the history here still had me spellbound as you know we do not have much history in the states rotfl thhis is a truly great way to spend a day out plenty of activities and those british guys touring you know their history filled with gripping suspense that tour of theirs

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vinceleony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hadleigh Castle also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Hadleigh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing