We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you know what you're getting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skandinavia Country Club & SPA
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sestroretsk
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Make sure you know what you're getting!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

You need to be careful! The luxury rooms pictured are in the dachas not the main hotel. The standard hotel rooms are ghastly for the price charged. The dachas, however, are lovely but, wow, they are expensive. Food in the Bellvue restaurant is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dulwichvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    69
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
47
115
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Wonderful place with great location, very friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Sauna,spa, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, cozy restaurant with peerless arrangement, food, and furniture...all you need for getaway from crazy urban week-days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We checked in around 2pm, was shown around the hotel facilities and to our room, whereby we were presented with a bottle of champagne, which was a lovely treat.

The room was amazing, had everything we wanted and more. The furnishings were done to an extremely high level, the bathroom was absolutely gorgeous, especially the bath (room 5) and the bed resulted in one of the most comfortable nights sleep in a long time.

We booked in for a Hamam treatment which was extremely invigorating: an exfoliation in a spa whereby they massage the salts into you in a steam room, i've never felt so clean. We had time to relax in the loungers, which was in front of a lovely fireplace and served with refreshing teas and biscuits. Following this we had a full body massage which was just the right strength. Both my girlfriend and i were very impressed at how they adapted their massages to our bodies and easily recognised our troublesome areas. We then spent some time in the pool and sauna, which looked like it had just been refurbished as looks brand new.

We spent a few hours relaxing in our comfortable room, not really wanting to leave but pleased we did after enjoying the chef's specialties. The restaurant had a lovely range of food and with the salmon and beef carpaccio to start, duck and lamb for mains we were not disappointed. We then had the desert table to tackle but was so full after our mains didnt get a chance to try everything. However, we did sample a fair few treats along with a coffee and they were lovely.

If i was to head back to Russia, i would love to come back here, same room, same treatment, maybe just a bit longer next time. Thank you to everyone who made our trip so enjoyable!

Room Tip: GO for the Dacha room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradfrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

While I admired the scenery and general location of this hotel I will have to say it let me down in quite a few ways. The price led me to believe I would be staying in quite a luxe room, not a bit of it, it was medium cheap finish without air conditioning, room safe or tea/coffee making facility.

The location is gorgeous amongst woods and great cycling tracks and of course the gulf of Finland right in front of you. We hired bikes for a couple of hours at 200 R per hour and explored the shoreline tracks and parks, it really is a pleasure to cycle here past old sea defences and WW2 bunkers. You can see Krondstad on cotlin and other smaller islands. At night the beach is so peaceful and watching the sunset is very relaxing.

The gardens at the spa are quite nice with a pool which is very clean but no poolside bar for drinks etc so a bit disappointing to have to go over to the restaurant or catch a passing waiter/ess who is not umbilically attached to their mobile phone. Did I say spa-'not open all the time, it all seemed to be understaffed.

The restaurant was quite nice, the building is the same as where you take breakfast which is excellent. We had an evening meal which was very good, lack of atmosphere due to a lack of clientele. What do you know, they do not take card, I thought we were in the 21st century and the look on the ladies' face at the restaurant reception there could have scared a bear! I think she may have been on day release from the Lubyanka.

All in all ok, I will try elsewhere next time, maybe with bikes that are roadworthy and have saddles not likely to do you an injury and with inflated tyres. The hotel reception staff were very good.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the poolside as I guess it may be noisy at night especially as it remains open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent a weekend at this resort with colleagues for business discussion and in general loved the place.

Location is perfect! Only 30-40 minutes from St Petersburg to north-west. One can just walk to the Finnish Gulf beach and enjoy the charm of silent countryside. The hotel itself is relatively new, rooms are compfortably equipped with everything needed yet not oversized, bed in my room could've been somewhat better.

The personell was rather OK but it felt like they really got used to popularity and lack of competition so the attitude was a bit careless and we had to queue rather long for room keys filling all the papers (a tipical touch of Russian way of doing things - make it ebough burocratic to feel you need staff to do their job).

Did not have a chance to try their SPA, intend to do it next time i'm at Skandinavia.

Overall impression is that this place is a combination of family destination, a resort for couples and goups of colleagues. Never crowded as it is rather small, still you can get everything what you expect from a resort including ski\sledges rent, relaxing treatment and calm envirenment of nature.

Going back there one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirillAtamanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel looks very fancy and position itself as a luxurious getaway hotel. Well, it might be for those who book one of those 10 cottages for 300EUR+, but it wasn't for me with my standard room!

Originally I wanted to book a package for 1-2 days - sort of all inclusive thing (with SPA). And it seemed on a web-site it was a big choice so I spent some time choosing them. When I called to the hotel the lady seemed kind of confused with my package request. It seemed that I'm trying to sell services to her, not the other way around :-) Anyways, it ended up that all this beautiful variety of packages comes only for rooms better then standard. I asked if they have any of those rooms left, she said NO, apart from 300+ ones. (the Standard+ was sold out). Ok, fine. Staying for 1 day, no package, will book smth in SPA. Another thing, that was bank holiday, women's day and I asked may be they have some programme in restaurant for the eve or at least music playing? The answer was NO. "Normally we do, but today the restaurant is booked for wedding". Gmh.. Ok. SPA thing was confusing too - because the have SPA and outdoor swimming pool with sauna, that one is included in the price with some weird hours 12.00-17.00 when you either hasn't arrived or already left.

Ok, we moved in and the first disappointment was a room. What is it for 150EUR? Tiny room of a very offensive Soviet like floorplan (like most of Soviet hotels in Sestroretsk area, which I was trying to avoid) and for some reasons abnormal size bed (not matching the size of a room at all!). The bathroom is tiny (there is no bath because it won't fit, only shower cabin, pretty small one). Luxury toiletries? (Shompoo, gel and soap)The furniture looks kind of nice, but the curtains can not be closed! (it's in the geographical area with White nights!) No kettle in the room. No flat TV, just tremendous old-fachined one (where did they get them if hotel was opened couple of years ago?). I dont think there was a conditioner, it felt really hot in the room so we were opening windows. From nice additions - you have slippers and dressing gown.

The noise isolation is horrible. It almost feels like you're living in a hall hearing all the steps. But what shocked me is that the room across seemed to be kids room - there were several kids beds placed and children going there and back all the time creating additional noise. All of the above made a really bad value for money for me.

On a positive side - as I said outdoor pool, really beautiful library and restaurant (breakfast too!), quite friendly stuff (apart from one lady in a restaurant who was busy with planning tables and sent me to wait for waiter who never came, so we left). In the eve I was sick and asked for honey, they gave a big plate of honey without additional charge for the tea, that was probably one of not many benefits.

This hotel claims it's Western type. It may be only for those who've never been to Western types hotels. My advise - it's OK hotel but either book an expensive room and see how it is :-) Or lower your expectations till minimum.

Room Tip: Not room 114 - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Skandinavia country club a great place to go with friends and to relax - we realy enjoy the calm, the heated pool and those bagna / sauna - Nice rooms in those 2 cottages - wood wall, just like a datcha !! A BBQ was organised - great service and attention !! Ask Magnus the General Manager for advise if needed.

Room Tip: ask rooms in chalet - open window bathroom on the nature
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdgardGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sestroretsk
Country Club Terijoki
#1 of 5 in Zelenogorsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#41 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aquamarine Spa-Hotel
#2 of 5 in Zelenogorsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#25 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skandinavia Country Club & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skandinavia Country Club & SPA

Property: Skandinavia Country Club & SPA
Address: Parkovaya St., 16, Sestroretsk, St. Petersburg 197706, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kurortny District > Sestroretsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sestroretsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skandinavia Country Club & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Suite in the Shelepin's Dacha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skandinavia Country Club & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing