We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Norwegian Hotel by Kardenger Fjord” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ullensvang Gjesteheim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ullensvang Gjesteheim
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Norwegian Hotel by Kardenger Fjord”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

A hotel by impressive Kardenger Fjord oversees snowy mountain on the other side with a lobby decorated perfectly Norwegian style. The room can be told its age by the floor carpet but the furniture and bath room fittings are in perfect condition.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed only for one night, we had the rooms with shared bathroom, only one for 6 rooms. Rooms are very small with a bunk bed. Rooms and shared bathroom were clean and tidy.
We arrived about 20 minutes after kitchen closing time, we asked for a place to have dinner at the hotel or elsewhere in the village, but the answer were that it was too late and everything was close in Lofthus, "this is Norway, you must arrive earlier to have dinner".
I believe this answer was quite rude as there were still customers in the restaurant and people working in the kitchen. We were affected by the Gudvangen tunnel closure which delayed our trip about 3 hours. We had accepted just an omelette or anything quick, but... the guy was not really willing to help, after all it was not his problem (that was my feeling talking to him!!)
On the positive side, breakfast was fine and the surroundings just fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ODR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This place is charming, with a homely atmosphere, and offers excellent food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu is half norwegian food, half thai. We stayed 5 nights in a fairly basic room without bathroom, but everything was very clean and well maintained. The staff are helpful, attentive and efficient. There is a nice large lounge with TV and a terrace to relax. For Norwegian prices, the guesthouse is very good value.

Ullensvang is roughly half-way between Odda and Eidfjord, which makes it a very good base to visit the Hardanger fjord.

We stayed from August 3rd to 8th 2013. All our family warmly recommends the guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great location. You can do a gorgeous hike to the top of Nosi with a view on to the fjord, then up on to the Hardanger fjord. from the guesthouse. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great meals. Off the track. A facility with charm, history and comfort

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve51766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Ullesvang guesthouse has been recently renovated and combines a lovely heritage facade and atmosphere with brand new fittings and conveniences.  We were fortunate to be upgraded from a room with shared facilites to one of the ensuite bedrooms for the same price (710 including breakfast). The guesthouse is in a tiny village and sits beside a pretty stream. It was a great option for us. If you are in this area heading south in a car, consider a detour off the E134 to take the 520 road through the mountains to Sauda. This is truly a magnificent drive passing mountain lakes and dramatic scenery. It is a difficult and narrow road (perhaps too tricky for bad weather), but absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This place feels off the beaten track, and is! A charming location by a major river and very old church. The rooms are spartan, but the place has a rustic charm and attentive owner/staff. The biggest surprise was a very good dinner from a menu featuring Norwegian and Thai dishes. The cook is Thai and each Thai entree was very good. There is a nice garden for guests and a welcoming TV room for rainy days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathroom. There are about 5 rooms that have bathrooms, but four where you sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank painted_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullensvang
17.3 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
7.1 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
17.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Hardanger Hotel
Hardanger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Odda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fossli Hotel
Fossli Hotel
#3 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hardanger Hostel B&B
Hardanger Hostel B&B
#1 of 1 in Lofthus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullensvang Gjesteheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullensvang Gjesteheim

Property: Ullensvang Gjesteheim
Address: Arhus, Ullensvang 5781, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ullensvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and comfortable bedrooms with good standard, with warm and cold water in each room. Two common showers & toilets in the hall. We have 7 single and 6 double rooms, and some of these can be converted into family rooms for 3-4 persons. In addition, during the summer season, we have a little cabin in the courtyard with one large family room for 5 people and one double room. These two rooms have one joint bathroom. We also have a storehouse that can be rented without made beds (bedclothes can be rented) for 4-5 persons, without installed water, but with access to shower/toilet. Pets in cage is accepted, without cage NOK 100,- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ullensvang Gjesteheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing