We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Warabi

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Warabi
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Itatiaia
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Was perfect! Me and my husband stayed at the "Casa do vinho", a room with a snooker table and a private small pool that can be warmed at night. The workers and owners were very nice and generous.
Breakfast was incredibly beautiful and tasty as well, you can choose between a Japanese and a colonial Brazilian breakfast. both were very good but I personally enjoyed more the Brazilian one.
The room was very big and comfortable, there is a video library and a bar next to the Hotel with different good drought beers.
I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: A casa do vinho is big, with a snooker table, a big selection of wines and a small private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    58
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
41
201
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at Hotel Warabi in January 2014 for three nights. Although Maua is a little hard to get to (we ended up splurging and getting a private transfer from Paraty) it's well worth the trouble. Warabi offered us a very reasonable rate for their own driver, Philip, who spoke excellent English and with whom we shared a really enjoyable drive. He pointed out loads of interesting things along the way, stopping to show us an amazing view, and also to show us a fresh spring where we filled up our water bottles. He is also very humorous and good natured, and also left plenty of time for staring out of the window and trundling along in companionable silence.

The hotel was amazing. I loved falling asleep to the sound of rushing water (the river was right outside our chalet), the jacuzzi on our porch, and the kimonos for our use in the room.

Breakfast was a totally unexpected Japanese affair - complete with sushu rolls, and either seared tuna or delicious fried trout, miso soup and then jasmine tea and a little tea cake. They also have plenty of the standard Brazilian fare too (pao com queijo, papaya, cheese/ ham/ fruit juice etc).

We had dinner there twice as we found the other restaurants a little primpy and toy-towny, and most things were empty as it was out of season. The sushi at the restaurant is incredibly good. We eat a lot of sushi in London and this was of a very high standard and excellent value for money.

We wanted to travel next to Belo Horizonte but as we do not have a Brazilian tax number we were unable to book anything online (hotel and travel). The lady who runs Warabi was so kind she booked and paid for our tickets on her own credit card to get around this problem. In the end the booking was rejected (Brazil really needs to sort this one out before the World Cup) and the money refunded to her, but we were really touched by her generosity and the not un-significant amount of time she took doing it all online.

As our plans for Belo Horizonte were scuppered, we decided to head back to Rio (on a bus from Resende) and then on to Saquarema for the weekend. We asked for a private transfer again, but she told us to catch the local bus as it would only cost us Rs 5 each. This was very nice of her, as she could have made loads of money out of us. She also got up early to prepare us a packed breakfast to take with us, and came out to the bus stop to make sure we knew what we were doing!

All in all these touches of good humour, generosity and kindness meant a great deal to us and, (although the rooms were a bit dusty, and the pool quite small) we will remember the warmth of Warabi for a long time.

Room Tip: Walk to the waterfall above Maromba, the one that is like a giant slide and have a go. It looks terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent place to stay. We had the 'casa do vinho' (wine chalet) which is the lower floor of a cottage that houses two apartments. This chalet is very spacey and has a private hot outdoor pool, a pool table, a gas fireplace and a large wine cabinet. The chalet was very clean and was just what we needed for a relaxing stay. The private outdoor pool is a very nice extra on this chalet and will be heated on request. We made use of it nearly all days, it was very clean during our stay. The owners are very nice and helpful people, they are always on-site if you need help.

Breakfast is very good. You have a choice between two types of breakfast: japanese or colonial. Both are delicious and when you are with two persons or more you can also choose to have a combination of both. During our stay in September, the restaurant only served diner during the weekends. Througout the week, you will have to go into town to have diner - where there is also ample choice of restaurants. The diner served by the owners is excellent, especially if you like the Japanese cuisine.

The location is also nice, close to a small river and at the end of the village. The road from the main road towards the village was being restructured at the time we were there, so in the near future you no longer need to go over unpaved roads to get there. During your stay you can head out to the nearby waterfalls during the day. These are easily reachable by car or by foot if you like a hike. Lots of natural beauty around.

Room Tip: All accommodations have a special feature (e.g. outdoor pool, jacuzzi etc.) Pick the one you like be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel is comfortable, elegant, private, peaceful, cosy and in the middle of nature. It is a perfect spot in Mauá. There are only some cabins (I think 6), all well equiped and stylish. Each cabin has its own specific characteristics, for example, the cabin I stayed had one private hot swimming pool, a pool table and wine cellar, my mother stayed in a cabin that had a japanese ofurô and private sauna, and my brother's had a whirlpool tub. So each cabin offers a different experience.
The hotel has its own japanese restaurant (which is very delicious, the owner herself is a japanese immigrant), a swimming pool, a sauna and massagist. The hotel is very ecofriendly!
The site is incredible, the hotel is very green with lot of nature around, and has its own access to a beautiful river that runs behind the hotel. In this area up ahead there are some nice waterfalls to visit.
The service is also great. The owners are always there, it is a couple and their daughter works there too. The staff is very attentive too and everybody welcomed us perfectly.
This hotel would deserve 5 points if not for some (unfortunately) faults. The cabins have low lights, which some people like but other don't (like me). Our room had some spider webs, which is common around because it is not a urban place (but anyway they could have removed some).
I disagree with "cristiana b" comments. The place is very safe and there were some kids in the hotel and nothing wrong happened with them.
I totally recomend this place. Take a look at their website, I think the pictures are reliable: http://www.viscondedemauaturismo.com/hotel.htm
Soon I'll upload some pictures I took on my flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/duda_arraes

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itatiaia
8.6 mi away
Hotel Terras da Finlandia
12.0 mi away
Hotel La Ponsa Itatiaia
Hotel La Ponsa Itatiaia
#3 of 5 in Itatiaia
177 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Do Ype
Hotel Do Ype
#4 of 5 in Itatiaia
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Vista Linda Hotel
Vista Linda Hotel
#2 of 2 in Itatiaia National Park
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Montserrat
Pousada Montserrat
#8 of 52 in Visconde de Maua
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Recanto da Serra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Warabi

Property: Hotel Warabi
Address: Estrada da Maromba 7. 5 Km | Visconde de Maua, Itatiaia, State of Rio de Janeiro 27580-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Itatiaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Itatiaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Warabi 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The breakfast is served with about 20 small dishes including fruits, breads and cold cuts. The menu changes every day. All dishes are decorated, we call it 'Cafe Gourmet'. Can also be served in your room for a fee. The equipments of leisure for rental are motos, bikes, kayaks, horses, tubes, quadricycle and buggy motor. Best location (400 meters) near the main village (Maringá). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Warabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Warabi Itatiaia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing