We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Good country hotel”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is located between Radda and Lucarelli , and is surrounded by vineyards and woods, wonderful. It is a property well cared for , and has a living room that invites guests for reading and relaxation. There is even nice music playing in background (like Ela Fitzgerald). I did not use the spa or the restaurant.
The general feeling is an upscale, nice and well maintained hotel.

The breakfast is good , but nothing exceptional.

The service staff was very attentive and polite, but I expected a more personal touch , being a few rooms hotel in Tuscany. Nothing that would compromise the stay.

Our room was very large , king size bed ( really ), large TV. Very well furnished. The only downsize: the room was a little dark at night. Also nothing that would compromise, after all, it was a romantic trip.
A special note to the bathroom, very large and comfortable. A wonderful shower-bath and spacious glassed box, very hard to find in Europe.

Tip for travelers, don´t even think in going without a car, since the area of the hotel is very remote.

The only thing that really displeased: There is a parking fronting the main gate, which was half closed. We asked at reception to open the gate so we can enter with the car (there is a vertical gap between the gate and the entrance) to unload the luggage. The receptionist said it could not be done and one of the staff helped me drag up the bags. I saw other guests dragging their suitcases up the ramp thenselves. On checkout, we carry our bags down the ramp ourselves. I think a serious flaw in a nice hotel with an upscale proposal, mainly because the rate we were charged was the same we paid on 5 star hotels we stayed in the same trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    90
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
65
363
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sollentuna, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very nice hotel with nicest room I ever have seen. A good hotel for loving couples. We had a relaxed time in the wonderful spa. Shower with tasteful nice smell of mint. The hamam was very hot and mystique. The staff was very supported and service minded so you could really stay in a relaxed mood. The breakfast was also very nice and tastefully. The wine testning was very nice with good wine and good antipasti. We will definitely come back and spend some more time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. We did not expect it to be as amazing as it was - everything was fantastic. Already looking forward to returning next year and also planning to visit in 4 years time for a special occasion!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room and were not disappointed at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessio M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Elizabeth0110,

Thank you so much for the beautiful things you've written here about us. We are very proud of all your compliments. See you next year!


Alessio Mazzanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Villa Campomaggio and its staff are streets ahead of anything I have experienced in my life. I am 70 yrs young and my wife and I spent the best 15 day holiday ever in this delightful hotel. The spa was so relaxing every morning and most times we were alone so could chill out and shake off the stresses of life. We were immediately made as welcome as a close friend or relative and spent some hillarious evenings in the bar with some of the staff. Every request was met, beyond the call of duty, even to spraying our bedroom with anti-mosquito spray after the first salvo struck!
The position of the property is ideal for touring the Chianti region and we were able to visit all our targets without the stress of lengthy journeys.
We have nothing but praise for this outstanding hotel and would give it 6 stars if we could!

Room Tip: Well worth paying the small extra for a junior suite overlooking pool and vineyards. Large room, jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beezie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessio M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Your satisfaction's words are the best compliment we have received, thaks a lot!
Here all the staff is like a family, and we always try to convey to all our customers the positivity that surrounds us. I'm really glad that you've felt this atmosphere. We all hope you come back soon.

Best regards from all the staff


Alessio Mazzanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is an amazing 18th century villa with breathtaking view of the chianti vineyards, has large rooms, offers quality service and friendly staff. we spent five nights here and had one of our best stays at this hotel. it's a great place for couples and/or families looking for some peace of mind. Good food, good wine, nice people, amazing nature, lovely atmosphere... the worst part was leaving (perhaps this applies for everywhere in Italy) ;)
just be careful when you're booking for early spring or late october; the heating was not working (could be related to end of season). Another negative was the poor internet speed (though all rooms have private connection and garden, restaurant and lobby were all covered separately).

Room Tip: even the standard rooms are highly spacious with good view. no need to be picky
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank selim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessio M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot from our staff for your very kind words.
We really appreciated your gentleness and liking. For us it's always a pleasure satisfy our customers expectations.

We hope to see you again in the next holiday season to enjoy our wonderful Chianti!

Best regards


Alessio Mazzanti and all Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here when we took part in L'Eroica the hotel faclities where great but the service was the speacial part. Not only did they find a safe location for our bikes they also providded breakfast at 0530 so we coudl start on time with a good breakfast. Thanks a alot and I hope we can stay with you again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This villa is absolutely gorgeous! It has beautiful, large rooms, peaceful grounds, exceptional staff, and a property to be richly enjoyed. After flying into Florence and suffering the inevitable jet lag, we also had the smaller, more expensive rooms that did not represent much comfort let alone luxury. Upon arriving to Villa Campomaggio, we discovered a sauna, hot tub/Jacuzzi/and steam to ease the transition from flight, city dwelling, into the Tuscan landscape. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations on dining a short drive into town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
654 reviews
2.6 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
282 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
8.0 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Address: Strada Provinciale 2bis | Loc. Campomaggio, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#1 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#1 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just outside the village of Radda, Villa Campomaggio is surrounded by vineyards in the heart of the Chianti countryside. Dating back to 1776, the villa's grounds include a swimming pool and SPA.This historic villa has elegant rooms and apartments, all decorated with the same care and attention to detail. They feature hardwood or terracotta floors and wood-beam or arched ceilings. All include free Wi-Fi, LCD TV and Minibar.A buffet breakfast is served out in the courtyard where you can enjoy the tranquility of the garden. Light meals are available for lunch around the pool and an aperitif with snack buffet is served in the afternoon.The SPA area includes a Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, Sauna and relaxation area. You can treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment.Free parking is available and the center of Radda in Chianti is 5 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campomaggio Hotel Radda In Chianti
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing