We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service so so food”
Review of La Botte di Bacco

La Botte di Bacco
Price range: US$34 - US$56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great service so so food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had dinner whilst on a family vacation. Service was really friendly and warm. Food was just above decent. florentine steak was only ok. Pomodoro, a staple but best test, was good but not mind blowing. Little pricier compared to other better restaurants in Castellina

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablio, Proprietario at La Botte di Bacco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment on restaurant Botte di Bacco, that will allow us to verify the quality of our services and to approach more and more to your expectations; Customer satisfaction is a primary goal of Botte di Bacco restaurant.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards
Gianluca and Flavio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    252
    100
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bornem
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Tuscany!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

While this was our second stay in Radda we only 'discovered' La Botte di Bacco this year. We were so pleased with the quality of the food, the service and the atmosphere we had dinner at La Botte 7 of the 10 nights!!! Many thanks to the whole La Botte team for making our holiday in Tuscany a culinair experience. A special thank you for Jean-Luc (as we called him) for the great service (see picture).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny4410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablio, Proprietario at La Botte di Bacco, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you had the best dinner ever at our restaurant. As you know we Italians take food very seriously. I am also happy that you enjoyed all aspects of the Botte di Bacco.
Thank you so much for coming to dinner at the Botte di Bacco
7 times out of 10 days in Radda in Chiantid

I wish you a lovely summer an hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards,
Gianluca and Flavio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Totally disappointing”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I am astounded that this restaurant is rated no.1 in Radda. I went with 4 others for what was to be a bit of a celebration dinner. The setting was nice enough - traditional, rustic, welcoming dining room. You know you are in a restaurant where they have no real idea of how to eat - or perhaps they are just catering to the tourist market so don't care- when they put grissini on the table, then bring fried,little salty dough pieces (nice enough perhaps on their own), and then also bring a bread basket of fairly horrid bread rolls - undercooked, dry to the point of making your mouth stick together and some stuffed crudely with wedges of ham. That's enough bread/dough related products, methinks! Starter - most had a pasta with a ragu and literally grimaced at some kind of 'reduction' blobbed 'artfully' round the plate that they all agreed tasted like cough mixture. What it was, no one knows. 3 of the 5 had a chicken in lemon dish. It was gobsmackingly the worst, least appetising plate of food I have EVER seen served up in a restaurant - small chunks of white chicken floating in a crude lemon sauce that one member of the party said tasted like the sauce you get in a supermarket cheapo chicken pie - again, like the starter, positively unpleasant - not just so,so.
The wine was good - but we were in Chiantishire after all. We left without dessert or coffee and went down the road for a gelato and coffee in the local bar. If you want proper, simple honest Tuscan food cooked by someone who knows what they're doing with top quality ingredients, go to the Porcietti Enoteca but it's unfortunately only a day time place and closes I think at 7pm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablio, Proprietario at La Botte di Bacco, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,first of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on dinner at our restaurant La Botte di Bacco
We do respect our clients 110% opinion and while we really try hard on a daily basis to deliver the best service and the best quality (from countless Demonstrated 5 stars reviews we received) we feel sorry and sad to have not Been Able to 100% accomplish this with youWe wish you all the best looking forward to seeing you again soon at Botte di Bacco.

Our restaurant La Botte di Bacco offers a big variety of plates that are all home-made, our cuisine is typical and particular at the same time.

We hope to have a possibilitty to welcome you back soon again.



Warmest regards,
Gianluca and Flavio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly setting”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Service was friendly, delicious food in elegant, romantic setting. Plenty of inexpensive local wines to choose from.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jag343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablio, Proprietario at La Botte di Bacco, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest!
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you soon again at La Botte di Bacco.

Gianluca and Flavio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The place to eat in Tuscany”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We traveled all over Tuscany recently and ate in a variety of restaurants. La Botte di Bacco was our absolute favourite! My boys couldn't get enough of the fried pizza dough and their fresh homemade bread and buns. The pasta was out of this world (mine was a ravioli with a cream and pear sauce!). Service was top notch and the ambiance is lovely. HIGHLY recommend this one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablio, Proprietario at La Botte di Bacco, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent Post on TripAdvisor and your wonderful review of your gastronomic experience with us.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant La Botte di Bacco!

Warmest regards,
Reastaurant Manager Gianluca and Chef Flavio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Botte di Bacco also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Volpaia, Radda in Chianti
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Volpaia, Radda in Chianti
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Botte di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing