We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with great staff and breakfast!”
Review of Fattoria Poggerino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Poggerino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This 5-year old B&B/Agriturismo in an ancient stone structure combines the best of Tuscan stone building charm with the modern conveniences you'd expect in a newer property...good working doors/windows, bathroom fixtures, etc. And at only 110 euro for the large, ground-level, 2-room suite, it's one of the best values that we've found in Chianti. But by far what distinguishes Poggerino from other properties is the staff, beginning with John, who is well-spoken and extremely helpful, including useful advice on the nearest MBE for shipping goodies back to the US. The excellent hospitality continues with Benedetta, (who inherited the property from her family members years ago), and the kitchen staff that includes her running the show. The breakfasts are among the best we've had in nearly 2 dozen B&B's in Southern Europe! In additional to freshly baked egg tarts (quiche-like) and fruit tarts (3-4 different ones each morning), the cucina will produce beautiful omlets or other egg dishes made to order. The setting is quiet and serene, surrounded by beautiful vineyards, including many managed by Castello d'Albola, a famous winery housed in a beautiful castle all within 5 minutes of Poggerino. If you're a photo buff, grab your camera a dawn, walk across the road and up into the vineyards for some beautiful images.
As others have commented, family-style dinners (very Tuscan'esque) are also available, although our weekend-only stay didn't allow us to take advantage of one. So we were off the La Botega one night (see separate review).
By the way, if you're GPS'ing to this location, it will find the main building but not the office where the large sign is on the road, and where you check in, taste wine, etc. The main B&B building is past the sign on the right, but is otherwise totally unmarked. There is however, a Castello d'Albola vineyard right across from where you turn in. I mention this only because we were over-depending on the GPS and missed the sign completely. Duh!
Our sincerest compliments to the Poggerino team for creating another very memorable stay in Chianti!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italy-nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here for three days at the end of April. It was an incredible place. John was extremely nice and helpful! Benedetta is an amazing chef. Her breakfast every morning was delicious and the cappuccinos are heavenly. We had a group dinner one night that Benedetta made from local ingredients and it was one of the best meals we had on our vacation. Be sure to have their wine and say hi to Lucky the dog who wonders around the office grounds. We plan to go back and stay a whole week!

Room Tip: We had a suite which had a private entrance and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We spent three days, could have easily done more. First guests of the season. John was put to the test right away when we saw our nearly flat tire after we pulled in. He went well out of his way to help us get to the tire shop in Radda. And he will steer you in good directions for vineyards, restaurants, etc. The food! We had the breakfasts and one dinner- among the best food we had in Italy, Benedetta's creations were incredible and some of them were best-ever. And the wine : superb! The setting is classic. The rooms are simple but classy, clean, as advertised. Would love to stay again when the weather is a little nicer. Location is great, much is within an easy distance.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a nice view over the valley, as many of the rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We recently stayed here. We had a wonderful time! There was a lot of outdoor area for our kids to run around. Benedetta is a wonderful hostess and she made us feel right at home. I strongly recommend you follow one of the cooking classes it was very interesting.
The breakfasts were out of this world and definately worth waking up for!
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mvst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

After an 4.5 hr drive from Alessandria with 2 kids in tow, we finally arrived at our apartment at La Canonica. We were warmly welcomed by John & Benedetta who provided us with thorough driving directions, a list of local restaurants (avoiding all the tourist traps), sight-seeing destinations and the mercatos (markets) to visit. A home-cooked 3-course dinner by Benedetta and a bottle of their Chianti Classico made our night!

The apartment has 3 large-size bedrooms (1 double room and 2 twin rooms), 2 bathrooms, living room with fireplace and kitchen/dining area. We had requested for 2 cribs for our babies which was outfitted perfectly with sheets, blanket and pillow.

We opted to have breakfast daily (priced at 8 Euros per person) and it was a huge treat with freshly-baked pastries (2-3 selections daily comprising of sweet/savoury tarts, quiches, muffins, crepes, and the best brioche ever), fruit, yoghurt, eggs cooked to your liking, coffee/tea/juice. Benedetta, Tulio and Theresa were cooking up a storm for us each morning and there was nothing more they could do to ensure we were well-fed before our day of sight-seeing began! We wished we'd plan for another dinner made by Benedetta (requires advance notice)!

The views from each window were breathtakingly beautiful and the sunset each evening was stunning! It truly captures the beauty of Tuscany with rolling green hills of vineyards, olive trees and cypress trees.

We visited Volpaia, Siena, Florence, Panzano (bought bisteca Florentina steak from Dario which requires 1 day advance order), Radda, Castellina, Arezzo, Greve in Chianti, Gaiole in Chianti which were all within an hour's drive from the apartment.

We chose to have our evening meals at the apartment (much easier for the kids who were exhausted by 7pm) and went to the markets to stock up on fresh fruit and vegetables, local butchers for meat and feasted on the best produce Toscana had to offer. The kitchen was well-stocked with all the necessities and it made cooking a breeze!

John & Benedetta had set up a gate by the stair entrance for our kids' safety and we truly appreciated their kind gesture. The small team of staff did everything to make our stay extremely memorable and we are already planning our next trip back in early summer next year!

The only thing we wished for was a firmer mattress for the double room (twin rooms were fine), fluffier/firmer pillows and a duvet for the double room (the nights were still chilly in mid-April). A warm fire each night made it so much cozier and it really felt like our home away from home! Looking forward to be back soon...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FemmeAvidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This place is truly a little slice of heaven!
My wife and I were here in September 2012 and stayed for 3 days. We would have stayed longer except they didn't have a room for us.
Our room was inside a 15th century church, with a great view of the vineyards. The room was humble yet cozy, clean and comfortable. Most importantly it was decorated with right amount Tuscan flavor.

John was extremely helpful, friendly and genuinely hospitable.

The breakfast was amazing with a lot of organic produce from their own farm, homemade cakes and preserves - everything tasted great!

This place was exactly what we wanted and more.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issacalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I cannot say enough about this place. My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon. We stayed in the two room suite, which was huge. The bathroom was also very big and modern. The property and the views are absolutely beautiful, exactly what you would want from Tuscany. The staff was amazing. John was incredibly helpful throughout the planning and booking process as well as during our stay. We toured the vineyard with Piero, which was great. He is dedicated and passionate about what he does and it results in a phenomal wine (which we "sampled" quite a bit of!). The food the also delicious. The breakfast was by far the best we had on our entire trip. We also had dinner there one night, which was very good and it was great to meet all of the other travelers. The dinner is not offered every night so plan on sampling the other delicious restaurants in the area, our favorite was Le Vigne!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radda in Chianti hotels
2.9 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
880 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
560 reviews
3.9 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Locanda
La Locanda
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
226 reviews
5.3 mi away
Livernano
Livernano
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Poggerino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Poggerino

Address: Localita Poggiarino SNC, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: £43 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Organic family-run B&B and winery in the Chianti Classico historical region. Wine, extra virgin olive oil, vegetables. Six rooms with en-suite bathroom in a traditional 800 year old stone house. View from all windows, swimming pool, typical home-made Tuscan recipes, vegetarian menus on request. Safety box, wifi internet access. English and German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fattoria Poggerino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Poggerino Hotel Radda In Chianti
Fattoria Poggerino Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing