We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fantastic views”
Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Vignale
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Stradbally, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, fantastic views”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed five nights here. The view from the hotel's terrace is spectacular, and it's a very short walk to the centre of Radda. The rooms are cosy and well cleaned, and the lounge areas are very comfortable. There is a bar and a good restaurant, and breakfast is a wonderful buffet with as much good Italian coffee as you can drink. The pool is only heated until the end of September, but the weather was still warm enough in mid-October to go in. Locked storage areas available for bikes. Staff were all excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    136
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
65
331
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Having not made any bookings in the high season we were getting desperate when we happened on this charmer. They had one unmade room which faced the main street and in which the previous occupier had smoked. We mentioned this while we were being shown the room and they said "Well... there is this other room..." which happened to be smaller and semi below-ground without views. Otherwise it was your standard hotel room with all the expected amenities - and a little cheaper. We mainly use a room for sleeping so it was fine for our one night stay.

The location of this hotel is superb. It is on the downhill side of the road which means that most rooms facing that way would have good views across a rolling Tuscan landscape. The balcony restaurant is also excellent offering good food, good service and a stunning outlook. The staff are courteous, friendly and efficient and all speak English.

The hotel is also near the centre of town so you park your car and forget it while you explore the nooks and crannies around Radda-in-Chianti (which is uniquely situated at the top of a hill so offers stunning views in all directions).

We highly recommend this hotel. If you want views they will be there and they will be spectacular but it would be prudent to book in advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank odo5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent a blissful week at the Vignale during the first week of September. It had everything we could have wished for. Views of rolling Tuscan hills from our room, a beautiful setting and grounds, a pool, ample parking and all still within a 2 minute walk of Radda's centre.

The staff were very helpful and always on hand to assist with any questions about the area. We didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner but the breakfasts were excellent with a great variety - running from 07:30 - 10:30 was an added bonus too as we were on holiday and wanted the odd lie in!

We stayed in a standard room but it was very spacious. The mini bar was also a very pleasant surprise price wise! As an alternative to a drink in the bar you can always grab a bottle from the hotel's own wine store to enjoy in the beautiful grounds or your room.

Radda itself is picturesque and has a small selection of shops and restaurants. Dante's and Pizza pie across the road were both good for an informal dinner or lunch and we also had enjoyable dinners in the town.

There is a grocery shop next to Pizza Pie and also a Co-Op about 800m up the road, which were really useful for stocking up on your soft drinks and large bottles of water etc for your day trips out.

We visited several local vineyards for tours and tastings - all superb.

It was a perfect week and we would highly recommend the Relais Vignale, I hope we might be able to return ourselves one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller_C1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Great hotel in a super location. Good friendly service, fruit bowl & wine in the room for our honeymoon. 10% off in the restaurant for the first night, which was also excellent. The room was brilliant, with a separate lounge, balcony with outdoor terrace sitting area and very large bedroom. All very good. The pool was just too cold and one annoying noisy German child was ruining everybody's peace, but the setting was very pleasant as was the bar service, where the waiter was friendly and attentive with pre-dinner drinks before dinner on the balcony. I'd stay here again anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuzJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

What a hotel!! I expected a good hotel, but this one exceeded my expectations.
We were there after our trip to Florence (we had rent a car from there) and we went to Radda on 5th of September. The hotel gave us its pleasures gradually! First I saw a place where easily I could pretend being in old times.. As soon as we get to our room (very cosy, with wooden ceiling, antique furnitures and a great bathroom, tall, glass window in the shower, plenty of room etc) I opened the window- I looked in the pool and vineyards, through a marvellous garden and a huge magnolia tree!! What a view!! (I think that the building on the left had even greater views!) At that very moment the rain started, a heavy one, which left after a sweet smell of grass and flowers!!
What else to say?? Great corners all around this beautiful hotelQ small corners with iron tables to sit, a well, trees, flowers all around.. The common rooms excellent, nice you have to sit there..
We were lucky enough to have the most of our breakfasts outside in the terrace facing the slopes and the vineyards. A great place, I could stay there for hours!! The breakfast was very good too, having plenty to choose from.
The hotel has an excellent parking too, and its place just in the main road is very convenient- you could go to the village for strolling in 2 minutes, to have a great lunch just oppossite (if the hotel prices seem high to you..) or go away with the car.
Our stay in Vignale for 4 nights was a great one, we loved all Chianti area, the hills, the scenery, the vines, the castellos, the stone villages.. Its one of the places I would so much to stay again!! (and believe me, it is rare for me!)
Thanks Vignale!! Poor Greece had a special time staying there, and we will keep valuable memories!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I was on this trip through work as I won a trip for selling a lot of Italian wines. I took my fiancee and of all the places we visited this spot was the most romantic and picturesque. Venice is very romantic but also crowded and completely overpriced in San Marcos square (60 Euro for a bottle of medium quality Italian prosecco???)

The hotel is set on a hillside in a very rural setting that looks out on the rolling hills of Radda. The property feels like it's about 4 stories that ascend and descend up and down the hillside. There are various sitting rooms and terraces that offer incredible views of the hills. The morning we awoke for breakfast on the gorgeous terrace (picture flowers and vines all over the roof and sides) we took the best photos of the trip. Fog had rolled in and settled all about and then receded to a grand display of Sun and glistening countryside. Just breathtaking yet relaxing and good for the soul. The Chianti district in the heart of Tuscany is the antithesis of the hustle and bustle of Venice and Rome and will appeal to all those that want a slower pace and natural beauty. There were no crowds and you really get the feel for the quaint Italian countryside living. If you are a 'partier' Rome is the place for you. If you want to see that the world still has a calm soul in places, just go to Tuscany and let the newspaper clippings fade to meaninglessness. Cities inspire profane modes of living, countrysides inspire reverence.

The rooms were large and spacious and comfortably appointed with all the toiletries you'd need. Bed was comfortable but like all the beds we encountered in Italy, on the ultra firm side. AC was included of course. Service was quick and attentive and gracious--excellent marks here. The only gripe which probably is just a mark of charm and antiquity is the elevator--painfully small and slow!! But we saw this in 3 other hotels too so I think it's just expected. Take the stairs if you want your exercise.

Other notes: Seek out the very quaint chapel on site and say a prayer or meditate for just a few minutes if you wish and enjoy the calm feeling that will enter. There is a shoppe on site with many great souvenir choices and wine offerings that were priced very well in my opinion. Enjoy yourself, and tread lightly and reverently in this inspired setting.

Room Tip: All views should be good and have Sunset or rolling hills views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talldarkhandsomest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fourways, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This place is like something from a movie scene. The hotel is very charming and has the most romantic atmosphere, a beautiful setting in a perfect location.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. Radda makes a good base to explore Chianti. Be sure to visit San Gimingano and Volpaia, a picturesque wine estate dating from the 12th century. San Gimingano is close enough for a day visit, I would not recommend staying over in San Gimingano, rather stay a night or two longer at Relais Vignale. It does not get any better than this!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTL1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Property: Relais Vignale
Address: Via Pianigiani 9, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing