We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid-Back Beauty, Genuinely Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Vignale
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Laid-Back Beauty, Genuinely Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My family stayed here for four nights and it was among the highlights of our vacation in Italy. We had a suite and found it spacious and comfortable with a small terrace and breathtaking views. The beds were comfortable (although the sofa bed, not so much). Our room faced the back of the property and it was extremely quiet. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The dinner we had in the hotel restaurant was one of the best we've had anywhere, and we are spoiled as our hometown is home to many world-class restaurants. The wi-fi was spotty, but it was worse in Rome and Florence, so I'm not complaining. Of three hotels we stayed at in Italy, it was the least expensive and the most comfortable by a long shot. The grounds are lush and lovely, and not tediously manicured -- a plus for us, but if you prefer a slick, American-style suburban experience, you might want to look elsewhere. But if you're looking for an easy, natural, laid-back beauty, give the Vignale a shot. It was perfect for us.

P.S. Take the cooking class if you can squeeze it into your itinerary. It was a blast!

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the property and it was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    132
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
64
320
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with my partner and we did day trips to Florence, Siena, Cinque Terre & Pisa plus a bunch of small towns near by in the Chianti region.

The staff were very helpfull with advice and booking reservations for dinner and wine tours etc. it was such a great time and we loved relaxing by the pool and the bar service. Will definitely come back here again.

We were lucky enough to arrive during a wine festivle in Radda which was really good fun.

Our room was a bit small and right on the main road, we got a deal for the week but next time might try to book a better room, some of them seemed to be much bigger.

Breakfasts were ok, they have most things there, but found all the cakes and bread to be stale, pretty much every day (and we were here for a week).We had dinner one night but much preferred going out in the town to other local resturants there are many excellent choices. The staff were very helpfull to recommend and reserve for us.

Overall staff were great. Location is great and at the entrance to radda. Only improvement we could suggest would be breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krtnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

First off Radda is a charming town and a great base in the Chianti region The thing I enjoyed most at this property is the back side views are truly pure Tuscany rolling hills vineyards olive groves etc,,, But you also spend time in Tuscany in your car driving to wineries and mid evil towns of interst like Sienne etc,,, So at the Vignale you can walk easily in the town of Radda to get a cup of coffee or visit the fruit market or cafe etc.... the Vignale Chef Robert is excellent and Antonio and Thomas are friendly and helpful My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves We stayed in a large comfortable suite with sweeping views and balcony windows throughout Room 74 The bathroom was large with a separate tub.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights during an extended trip through Italy. Hotel is located in several buildings with the main road running between which can be a little disconcerting. We stayed in the lodge across the road which had nice views of the valley but seemed a little like an older ski chalet. Excellent service including wifi that reached our room and a very nice breakfast setup with friendly staff. Only other issue was car parking is behind main hotel on several different levels which was extremely tight to manuever. Location is very convenient to the restaurents in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville,tn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Radda is a excellent location from which to visit Chianti region of Tuscany. Vignale is elegant with comfortable and attractive common rooms. There are multiple balconies with some the best views of the Tuscan countryside we encountered. Individual rooms were well appointed and quiet. We stayed in a basic double and found it very satisfactory. Breakfast and evening meals were good. The staff is very attentive and helpful. For instance, they spent 30 minutes arranging tickets for a day trip to the Uffizi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler37205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Being pretty much in the hear of Radda In Chianti means a short walk to all the wine tasting venues and lovely restaurants that the town has to offer.

We only stayed one night, however we were really dissapointed by the quality of the rooms.

First of all we moved from the road side room as it was a little noisy with all the cars going past. Upgrade fee of €25 wasn't a bother at all, the view from the room we moved to was spectacular however don't expect door to ceiling french windows. Only a tiny little window overlooking the beautiful Toscana hills. This made fore very poor light coming into the rooms with very dim lighting in the room itself. The bed itself was unbelievably uncomfortable, extremely hard and lumpy. We had a to request second pillows for the room which both sets were thin and also hard believe it or not. My partner and I had a very poor sleep and wouldn't recommend the hotel for the rooms.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special.

If I was coming back to Radda in Chianti I would certainly check out Palazzo Leopoldo and San Niccolo as an alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaisvignale, Direttore generale at Relais Vignale, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
The Client staied in our hotel only one night and he critic the room in which he has not slept calling it noisy. May not know, there has not slept.
In fact he wanted a free upgrade.
Advertises competing facilities in the same area
It hurts so much with advertising to competing facilities ask for cancellation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights on bed and breakfast basis. The comfortable large rooms are furnished in traditional style. The view from the hotel balcony looks over a beautiful Tuscany landscape. The breakfast buffet was very extensive with lots of choice. Parking is on site and free.The hotel is situated right on the main street in Radda. The restaurant menu looked quite expensive so we chose to eat at a local wine bar which was within a short walking distance. There is a pool but it opens in May ! There are comfortable resident's lounges where free wifi is available. This is a very comfortable hotel for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BucksJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Property: Relais Vignale
Address: Via Pianigiani 9, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#4 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing