We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel in a stunning location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Vignale
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in a stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Relais Fattoria Vignale and had a wonderful week. The hotel is an absolute delightful - an excellent find - and is in a stunning location. The views from the terrace (where meals can be taken) are just beautiful. The staff, the food, all the public rooms and the ambience were superb. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone - they were all kind, courteous, exceedingly helpful and patient and nothing was too much trouble: everything was done with a smile. It is one of the friendliest hotels in which we have ever stayed. The super (and peaceful) swimming pool overlooked the lovely valley below - you couldn't wish for a better location in which to unwind and relax - with the knowledge that the sights of nearby Radda (a lovely, qauint town) and beyond are there when you want them! We highly recommend it to one and all...

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank VignaleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    128
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
61
316
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

My fiancé and I had an INCREDIBLE stay at the Relais Vignale. Upon check in we told them of our recent engagement and they happily upgraded us to a double superior room. Located in the main building, our room was charming and spacious, with wood beam ceilings, a nice bathroom and a gorgeous view of the pool and Tuscan countryside. The complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good with several traditional Italian dishes and the happy hour at 6:00pm is a must. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and inviting - a perfect place to sit, relax and soak up Italy. I highly recommend walking around Radda as well - it’s a quaint little town with great restaurants and local charm. We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Location, Room, View and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2008

Loved this hotel! We stayed in several hotels in Tuscany and Florence and this by far was our favorite. Beautiful, spacious rooms with wonderful common areas that you can truly enjoy. The hotel also provides complimentary wine vouchers that you can redeem at the hotel bar during your stay. Take advantage of this and enjoy the wonderful outdoor patio area w/ fantastic views. The hotel is also ideally located; you can walk around the town of Radda, take a bus to other cities like Siena, or drive to other destinations. I highly, highly recommend this hotel for it's value, location, comfort, and most of all for the breathtaking views surrounding the area.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2007

My group of six spent a week at this wonderful property in June 2007. Two couples had the Standard Street Side rooms, which were very nicely sized and decorated with ample space in the bathroom. The other couple had a room in the Annex, which had beautiful views. There are many spaces inside and out to spread out. Just thinking about the view from the pool and breakfast terrace bring a tear to my eye. The complimentary continental breakfast included many choices.

As for dining in Radda, there are many good choices but our favorite was "Pizza Pie" right across the street. We had many lunches and our last dinner there. The owner is very nice and the lady who makes the pizza is a master! They also have a few choices of pasta each day, which were fantastic as well.

  • Liked — Pool and breakfast terrace.
  • Disliked — I loved this place in general but the bed was a little hard.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NonUnTurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2007

We spent three nights here as part of a Country Walkers tour of Tuscany. This is a wonderful, charming hotel with great views and excellent service. A very good breakfast is service on a vine-covered terrace; the grounds are sizable and allow you to seek a quiet place to rest or read. The hotel has several pleasant sitting rooms as well, and the hotel room was large with a big bathroom. We would love to go there again, preferably for a much longer stay.

  • Liked — Its beauty
  • Disliked — Would love to order something different for breakfast, but that's Europe!
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMorrisSantaRosa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2007

Radda is a charming little town. I highly recommend staying here versus some of the more 'touristy' towns in Tuscany. It definitely gives you more of a true small Tuscan town experience...very charming and relaxing, especially at night when it is so quiet.
Contrary to other reviews, we found the staff at Relais Vignale to be be extremely nice and helpful. They gave us great advice on towns to see, restaurants etc.
Rooms.....don't come here expecting great rooms. Given the relais is a bit of an old building (for me that's part of the charm...feels very authentic), the rooms are not so nice and are a bit dark (we just had one small window with not much of a view). But then again, you shouldn't spend too much time in your room when in Tuscany anyway....you should be exploring and/or enjoying the Relais' fabulous patios and outdoor areas (which DO have fabulous views). The Relais also has very cozy indoor lounge rooms...great to relax and read a local magazine while sipping a pre-dinner glass of Chianti!

  • Liked — Town, views, location, authenticity, service
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2007

We were surprised to find the hotel on the main road but once inside the grounds, found the wonderful countryside views. The hotel has lots of character and many lovely lounges and places to sit outside. Our executive rooms were very nice – ours had a nice small terrace overlooking the vineyards.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant was wonderful, with excellent service. There was a good choice at breakfast.

Although we didn’t get time to use the swimming pool, it looked wonderful. The hotel has plenty of parking.

We bought a couple of bottles of wine from the hotel shop but ran out of time to do any tasting - a later closing time (the shop closes at 7.30pm) would have been welcome.

Staff were professional and friendly.

We wished we had booked an additional night’s stay!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank HGH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Property: Relais Vignale
Address: Via Pianigiani 9, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#4 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing