We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Chianti”
Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Relais Vignale
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Chianti”
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We only stayed one night at this hotel during a 2 wek trip around Tuscany, but would have happily stayed longer. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel had the feel of a more expensive place.

The hotel is an old building and is shared with a wine shop. The building itself is lovely and our room and en-suite bathroom were a good size and absolutely spotless. The room was quiet at night - it overlooked the road past the village with a nice view.

Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catchuptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    144
    39
    15
    4
See reviews for
69
360
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I was there last week with my girlfriend to celebrate an anniversery. We had seen the pictures, so we knew that the hotel was located in amazing surroundings, but I must say that it was even better in reality! When we checked-in, our de-luxe room was upgraded to a suite - wow and what a view we had from the terrace of our suite. The overall experience was amazing. The service was great, the staff was very professional, the restaurant of the hotel was very good (very fair prices), and an equally good wine selection. If you decide to visit Tuscany, and need a good central location from where to do it or just want to relax in amazing surroundings, then I sincererly recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elnino_cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Relais Vignale is the best hotel I've ever stayed in!! The staff are fantastic and so helpful. There's always someone at the front desk who speaks English and is able to give directions and advice. The hotel is a beautiful old building with dozens of rooms, some with balconies and some without. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite with a queen sized bed, 13" tv (only english station was CNN), personal safe in the oversized armoire, enormous bathroom, and terrific views from every window. The rooms are decorated with mostly antique-style furniture, perfectly suiting the feel of the hotel.
The restaurant is a bit pricey, but the food is to die for. Breakfast is a large buffet of meats, pastries, cereals, fruit and yogurt with the wonderful espressos and "cafe americano". Expertly prepared with local ingredients, service is slow but it helps so you can linger over every mouth watering morsel at dinner. The extensive wine list is intimidating for a newbie wine drinker. Go with the recommendations included in the menu or made by your server, or just stick with the house wine. You're in Tuscany, you can't find a "bad" wine. Plenty of other, less expensive restaurants Radda so you're not limited to the hotel.
The bar in the hotel is small but gives generous portions. Lots of seating around fireplaces and big tables so it's cozy to curl up and read a book, write postcards, or meet other tourists.
Parking is tricky because you have to go down a steep gravel hill and manage a sharp turn at the end to squeeze into your spot. Getting out is equally difficult because the exit puts you at a blind corner, on the top of a hill, into oncoming traffic. But you get used to it after your third or fourth attempt.
Location is great, half-way between Sienna and Florence. If you're adventurous, rent a car and enjoy the twisting, winding, narrow roads in the Tuscan hills. Or, catch a bus from the nearby towns to go into the city and avoid the crazy Italian drivers and scooters.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Driving in Italy in general
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ejmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary,Alberta,canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Stayed here for three nights in October/08. Our first room was like a cave-sloped roof with three tiny windows-but a huge bathroom and great views. Stay here the first night and then upgraded to a suite-it was just too claustrophobic. The hotel is very old, but has great charm. The location is great and there is free parking. There is a nice bar across the street with very inexpensive food and a very friendly atmosphere. I generally liked this hotel with one exception-the restaurant. It was in the basement-again a very cave like experience-but it was the service. We ate here our first night and it seemed like we were a major inconvenience to the waiters. They just wanted us to eat and leave. The same thing happened at breakfast in the morning-it felt like they just didn't want us there. So, I would recommend it as a place to stay-but eat at the other many , friendlier restauants in the area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abdott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Fattoria Vignale is beautifully situated towards the centre of Radda. Its staff are most welcoming, the rooms typically Italian and more than adequate. The social areas and (small) bar facilities varied and pleasant. There is no doubt that the staff are well-trained and cheerful, including in the associated wine shop (where the assistant spoke at least 4 languages annoyingly well).

We found only one weakness, which was the (generally excellent although unnecessarily expensive) restaurant, where for a vegetarian and more particularly for a lactose-intolerant person the choice was extremely restricted. However, the Trattoria-style restaurant also owned by the Fattoria around 2 miles away was comparably excellent value. I can't understand why they don't offer a similar menu at the hotel itself, at least to residents.

That one minor criticism - which doesn't apply to carnivorous travellers - aside, the hotel was excellent value and we would gladly recommend it to anybody.

  • Liked — Location was fantastic. There was no significant downside.
  • Disliked — Aside from the lack of choice for non-meat eaters in the restaurant, the seps down it!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaximander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We spent 6 nights at this wonderful property. It meets every fantasy one has of Tuscany-peaceful, quaint, beautiful views, courtyards, flowers-it has it all.

We used this location as a base to explore Tuscany. You are central to the Chianti region, considered the most picturesque area of Tuscany. A pleasant surprise were the several very nice restaurants we were able to walk to every night. We spent our days out and about exploring and had enjoyable places to eat at that were within easy walking distance.

The town itself is quiet and small but still very lovely with vistas in all directions.

The staff was very helpful and our room was generous (we were upgraded to a suite). We had a huge walk in closet and a very large bathroom with a brand name Jacuzzi bath.

Recommend it highly.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — spotty housekeeping
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Abra39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Just got back from a week's stay at the Relais Vignale. It is a beautiful place which exudes charm and old-world ambience surrounded by vineyards and set in the middle of the spectacular Chianti countryside. On arrival we were pleased to find that we had been given ( without requesting!) up-graded accommodation. It was, in fact, a suite of two rooms: bedroom and separate sitting room with small balcony. The bathroom was most spacious and had recently been refurbished to include bidet and jacuzzi. All the public rooms were spacious and elegant with great attention to decor. Very relaxing. Just as well as we were forced to spend more time in the hotel than we had anticipated due to the atrocious weather we were unlucky to encounter: violent thunderstorms lasting over seven hours followed by cold damp conditions. Unfortunately, the English Summer of 2008 had followed us to Italy!! On the three days of decent weather we made full use of the beautiful gardens and swimming pool after days of sightseeing in the Chianti area.
The hotel is highly recommended as a base for touring. A couple of negatives. Breakfast is average. We are not 'big breakfast' people but found the meal samey and the coffee was always luke warm. Meals were always served on a most attractive terrace with great views but when the weather was cold and damp an inside option should have been available. Sitting on a damp chair is not the best way to start the day! We dined once in the evening and the meal was very good but rather pricey. The only criticism regarding the staff was the two barmen we encountered. They were not very friendly even as I was attempting to order and make small- talk in my limited Italian!! And do we need to be threatened with an 8 euros fine if found bringing our own drinks? Why not reduce the high bar prices? We especially recommend two places: La Bottega in nearby Volpaia. Excellent meal, modestly priced and very professional efficent service. And our top choice? Le Vigne just down the road in the middle of a vineyard. Excellent meal and extremely good value for money. Advise you book in advance at both places. We did or we would have been unable to secure a table. Da Michele was OK but only one waiter was at work that night for the whole restaurant ! Radda is a quaint little place but after dark head back to your hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank telsurreyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
293 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
668 reviews
6.5 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Property: Relais Vignale
Address: Via Pianigiani 9, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing