We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, wonderful people”
Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Vignale
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed here in May 2009 for what was going to be one night, and becamee three nights. We loved the view, the room, the staff, the swimming pool, everything about it. The rooms were not super slick, just really nice and comfortable and very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was spotless and the room and bathroom were cleaned daily. Couldn't recommend the place strongly enough -- incredibly romantic without being over the top or sickly sweet. Room was not huge but was big enough to be comfortable. And in a lovely old building adapted beautifully. Now we are back in Australia, it is one of the places I think of when I remember our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2009

We have been long time clients (10+ years) of what had been a wonderful hotel in Radda. I noticed a big change last year in the services and facilities at the Vignale. But this year finished it for me and I will not be returning to the Vignale period. There was a top management change last year setting in motion a water fall of disappointing services. I noticed it when we first arrive at reception with a flip it attitude, progressing to the lack of bar tending presence to the breakfast the following morning. This was in contrast to superb hospitality of my prior years of visits. We were so in sensed we actual left the rude breakfast service and walked into Radda to find coffee and a quick bite to eat to begin our much anticipated day in the Chianti area. It went down from there including the bedding which should be really described as a hammock as the bedding should have been replaced 5+ years ago. We were told the bedding was being replaced as was many other upgrades including restrooms, phones and televisions during the winter shut down. So I chose not to really say much thinking the new management just needed to get into the swing of things.
Well, we returned this year to find not one promised improvement done and even worse service and more importantly worse attitudes and a brand new manager again. I will make this part really short because it cemented my decision to never return. The new manager has seemed only to make things worse and apathy is evident everywhere in the staff. I also sensed a real contempt from the staff that has been there so many years toward the new manager as they all seem powerless saying this is the way things are now as they raise their hands to indicate there is nothing they can do or say and they have no authority. The hospitality is gone and this place has become a place where you get a room key, bad beds, extreme deferred maintenance in the rooms, poor restaurant service, no bar service no bar snacks, and a poorly managed front desk. So as I said, take a fast pass! I vote to bring the manager back that put Vignale on the map.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lovestravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

The Vignale was an absolutely beautiful hotel. The staff were wonderful. The grounds and pool area were stunning. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. The restaurant always provided a lovely meal. Our room was on the street side, but with the double windows closed, we couldn't hear anything from the outside.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We only stayed one night at this hotel during a 2 wek trip around Tuscany, but would have happily stayed longer. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel had the feel of a more expensive place.

The hotel is an old building and is shared with a wine shop. The building itself is lovely and our room and en-suite bathroom were a good size and absolutely spotless. The room was quiet at night - it overlooked the road past the village with a nice view.

Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catchuptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I was there last week with my girlfriend to celebrate an anniversery. We had seen the pictures, so we knew that the hotel was located in amazing surroundings, but I must say that it was even better in reality! When we checked-in, our de-luxe room was upgraded to a suite - wow and what a view we had from the terrace of our suite. The overall experience was amazing. The service was great, the staff was very professional, the restaurant of the hotel was very good (very fair prices), and an equally good wine selection. If you decide to visit Tuscany, and need a good central location from where to do it or just want to relax in amazing surroundings, then I sincererly recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elnino_cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Relais Vignale is the best hotel I've ever stayed in!! The staff are fantastic and so helpful. There's always someone at the front desk who speaks English and is able to give directions and advice. The hotel is a beautiful old building with dozens of rooms, some with balconies and some without. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite with a queen sized bed, 13" tv (only english station was CNN), personal safe in the oversized armoire, enormous bathroom, and terrific views from every window. The rooms are decorated with mostly antique-style furniture, perfectly suiting the feel of the hotel.
The restaurant is a bit pricey, but the food is to die for. Breakfast is a large buffet of meats, pastries, cereals, fruit and yogurt with the wonderful espressos and "cafe americano". Expertly prepared with local ingredients, service is slow but it helps so you can linger over every mouth watering morsel at dinner. The extensive wine list is intimidating for a newbie wine drinker. Go with the recommendations included in the menu or made by your server, or just stick with the house wine. You're in Tuscany, you can't find a "bad" wine. Plenty of other, less expensive restaurants Radda so you're not limited to the hotel.
The bar in the hotel is small but gives generous portions. Lots of seating around fireplaces and big tables so it's cozy to curl up and read a book, write postcards, or meet other tourists.
Parking is tricky because you have to go down a steep gravel hill and manage a sharp turn at the end to squeeze into your spot. Getting out is equally difficult because the exit puts you at a blind corner, on the top of a hill, into oncoming traffic. But you get used to it after your third or fourth attempt.
Location is great, half-way between Sienna and Florence. If you're adventurous, rent a car and enjoy the twisting, winding, narrow roads in the Tuscan hills. Or, catch a bus from the nearby towns to go into the city and avoid the crazy Italian drivers and scooters.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ejmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Stayed here for three nights in October/08. Our first room was like a cave-sloped roof with three tiny windows-but a huge bathroom and great views. Stay here the first night and then upgraded to a suite-it was just too claustrophobic. The hotel is very old, but has great charm. The location is great and there is free parking. There is a nice bar across the street with very inexpensive food and a very friendly atmosphere. I generally liked this hotel with one exception-the restaurant. It was in the basement-again a very cave like experience-but it was the service. We ate here our first night and it seemed like we were a major inconvenience to the waiters. They just wanted us to eat and leave. The same thing happened at breakfast in the morning-it felt like they just didn't want us there. So, I would recommend it as a place to stay-but eat at the other many , friendlier restauants in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank abdott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
568 reviews
2 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Address: Via Pianigiani 9, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: £90 - £1,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing