We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Chianti”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Vignale
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in Chianti”
Reviewed 10 July 2005

Truly a wonderful spot...great hotel in a perfect Tuscan/Chianti setting. Radda is a small hill top village with great valley view. The location is perfect for Chiati day trips (Greve and others) - and close enough to Siena and San Gim to make easy day trips. Hotel is well amenitized - and has spectacular grounds: pool and breakfast terrace were great. Really very nice b'fast buffet included. Would highly recommend. In a vacation filled with great times, this was one of the highlights.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank jhmvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    129
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
62
317
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2005

This hotel was absolutely beautiful, breakfast was wonderful and the pool was delightful overlooking the Tuscan hills. For us, Radda was the most charming of all the Chianti villages and our stay at the Relais was just absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvana_Michel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2005

My husband and I travelled here on a recommendation from a friend and what a recommendation! From the moment we entered the hotel we were amazed by the friendly staff, the wonderful public rooms, the excellent room and the fantastic pool. The views from our room were incredible! The staff are what make this place truly fantastic and a place to visit again. Nothing was too much trouble for them to help with and they were always giving wonderful suggestions. Similar to other reviewers, we thought the breakfasts were second to none. We were truly impressed by the spread!

The restaurants in Radda were fantastic, especially the Pizzeria located below the gelati shop. The owner is there to greet you and make you feel very welcome. The food was excellent and incredible reasonable, we highly recommend it to anyone staying in Radda.

Also closeby, for those who are interested, is the Prada outlet. Make sure to ask for directions from your hotel as it is very discreet and not at all marked. I found lots of wonderful things there, as did my husband. Going there was the perfect activity for a rainy morning.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baby74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 June 2005

Gorgeous old English-style country house in the heart of Chianti. Common areas are great - the views are magnificent. The staff was helpful and friendly. I have stayed in Tuscany a number of times and I would reccommend Vignale over any other place. The breakfast was great, and the view from the pool is breathtaking. This place is a must stay!

Perfect location for driving to the other beautiful towns in Chianti. Although there is not much nightlife in Radda, you can find places to eat and have a drink. The town is charming and romantic and surrounded by the most beautiful country side I have ever seen.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 June 2005

This hotel is a wonderful, relaxing, peaceful place to stay in Chianti. We had a suite and were definitely pleased with it. Nice and spacious. The grounds were absolutely beautiful.
With all do respect to one of the previous reviewers, the hotel's restaurant down the street was far from "aweful." We actually ended up eating there both nights in Radda (more because it was the only restaurant open the second night) and thoroughly enjoyed it. The tavern downstairs was great and the wine shop and tastings were wonderful. Especially the staff working there. Wish we could have shipped more of their wine home. Please note: Shipping wine from Tuscany to the US is very expensive.
We would absolutely recommend this hotel to people visiting Chianti..though, beware, there's not much to do in Radda itself.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
511 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
269 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
515 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Property: Relais Vignale
Address: Via Pianigiani 9, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#4 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing