We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is a letdown”
Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Vignale
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This hotel is a letdown”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We spent 3 nights at this hotel recently while traveling through Italy. Of all the places we stayed, this was the only real letdown. The main areas are pretty, and the view is great. However, when I booked it on Expedia, the rooms looked nice. In person, they are shabby. Admittedly our room was reasonably clean, but it was in desperate need of updating. New bed linens, upholstery, rugs, etc. I went back and looked on Expedia again at the photos, and of all the rooms shown (there are about 8 or so), they all look pretty nice. I think I did find a photo of the one we ended up with, taken at a weird angle so you can't really see it. Perhaps we got the one nasty room they have, or perhaps their room photo gallery is misleading. I can't say, but I would not recommend the property.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaHornsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    136
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
65
331
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland, maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

relais vignale is in the picturesque town of radda. you can walk to many great dinner spots from here. it is a beautiful manor house with unbeat views of the vineyards of radda. had a great dinner there as well overlooking the vineyards. rooms are old but the bathrooms are completely modern. i would stay there again if i visit northern tuscany!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I picked the Vignale because of the location and it seemed like an authentic Italian property. The owners and most of the staff I think are German and seem to overly cater to the home crowd. The restaurant which is behind the hotel is very noisy late into the night. The rooms are quaint and clean but in need of upgrades (beds first). My wife and I spent most of our time touring the Tuscan hill towns which made Radda a great starting point but if we spent more time at the property, we probably would have been very disappointed. Too bad really because this could be a much better property, not great but very good. If you want an authentic Italian stay in Tuscany, this is not it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank #1LakerDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my boyfrind in early August 2010. Overall, we were very happy with your stay and would recommend this place.

The hotel is a huge villa. There are actually 2 parts of it. One on each side of the street. We stayed in the main part with the pool. If you stay at the other (much smaller) part you need to always cross the street to go the hotel.

Room: We got the superior room. It was kind of dark as the windows were really small. We asked to change rooms immediately after we walked in but they told us that they are full and we cannot change. Maybe they really were full but it was not very good customer services not to change our room. The room was small for a superior room but all the rooms in Italian hotels are like that. TV is tiny but there is also not a whole lot of programs to watch and you shouldn't really travel to Italy for the cable channels.

View, pool and surrounding area: The hotel is in the middle of the Chianti area. It is known for wines and olive oil. It has lots of hills with vineyards and olive trees (surprise!). I had somewhat of a hard time driving around there as the roads are really curvy. The view from your hotel is to the vineyards and the olive trees so you will really feel in the middle of your typical Chianti experience. We would usually do sightseeing in the mornings and around 3 return to the hotel to sit by the pool. It gets full by the pool area but it is not unpleasantly full. It is a fairly small pool but it is the best thing to do after a hard day of sightseeing.
The hotel is right outside of Radda so you can walk to it. Radda is a typical Chianti village - it is small but authentic and beautiful. There is not much to do though rather than get dinner and walk around for 10 min.

Restaurant: Breakfast is pretty standard: eggs, samami, ham, cereals. We had the most delicious water melon. One morning they ran out of eggs and it was only 9 in the morning (how do you run out of eggs?!) The best thing of the breakfast buffet was the cappuchino you can order from the waitress. We each had 2 for breakfast.
We had dinner at the hotel once. It was good but it was not spectacular. The tiramisu is actually not that great. But overall good food. Plus the view from the restaurant is good. But make sure you get a reservation as the good tables with the view will be gone if you show up with no reservation. Wine is good but you are in Chianti so you can't go wrong with the wine.

I would recommend the place - it is something to see and experience and this hotel provides a very comfortable base for enjoying Chianti, Tuscany. Three nights are probably enough. A week would be likely too much.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationtime79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I selected this Relais based on the overall reviews found on trip advisor, and got a good quote which convinced me to come. Just before arrival I sent one last email asking to provide a room possibly with goo views and, in case available I would have been willing to pay for an upgrade... Mr, Stefano, Chief of the staff, was verykind to inform me that, in case of availibility this would have been provied... FOR FREE! On my arrival I found, with much pleasure, that the higher grade room was available, FOR FREE!!!.
The room is the number 37, it's simply SUPER !!
If one remark : the bed are probably too soft and the matress might need some maintenance. However all in all a good 4 star in a 5 star location. Worth the value.
Saverio

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAVEGELLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We just completed a three night stay spawned by a trip to the hotel's restaurant three years earlier. I had made my reservation over the internet and received a wonderful prepaid offer. When we arrived we were shown to a basic room - no real complaints but no raves either. We asked whether we could pay for an upgrade. The response was that no rooms were available but they would move use to their best room for the next two nights ....... free of charge. This was the start of an experience where all the staff were wonderful.

Also wonderful were the common areas and pool with views of the vineyards. Breakfast was also great before commencing on fun filled days. The only thing that makes it not 5 stars across the board was a dinner that, despite views to die, for was just adequate. Regardless, I feel comfortable recommending Relais Vignale.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irish Businessman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed here for four nights and we found it a great hotel for a number of reasons:

Service, genuine friendliness and attitude - we really liked the staff - low key, not precious or even vaguely intrusive, helpful in every possible way.

Food - not the broadest breakfast or dinner menu but very good consistent quality.

Location - Radda is a quiet and relatively unspoilt (non-touristy / real Tuscan) town. Hotel is on the edge of town (200 metres to centre). The town itself is very easily walkable with great views, lovely traditional architecture, a few good low budget along with a number of relatively high-cuisine restaurants that still won't cost too much.

You must bring a car and then it is about 15 - 20mins from the Autostrada accessing Montepuciliano, Florence, Sienna etc..with relative ease.

It was a great wind down and we would have loved a couple of more nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martymac35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Property: Relais Vignale
Address: Via Pianigiani 9, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing