We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice but not exceptional meal”

La Perla del Palazzo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Palazzo Leopoldo is on your website already which is the main hotel which has this restaurant in it. I would like to write a review on it as it was one of the best meals we had on our Tuscany trip in April.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice but not exceptional meal”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We ate here one evening for dinner. The service was good and the staff very friendly but the food was ordinary.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jen20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    83
    46
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

One of the best meals we had in Tuscany. The restaurant is part of Palazzo Leopoldo hotel, but it didn’t feel like a typical hotel restaurant. It was really quaint inside with the sculptured ceiling. I had the chicken dish with balsamic vinegar and roast potatoes and my husband had the pasta carbonara. Both meals were fantastic and I finished off the night with the Almond Biscuit with dessert wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jakesbackdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We ate here about 4 years ago and it was wonderful so we were excited to go back this time. We were very disappointed because it was not as good. The food was average. The truffles were not fresh in either the pasta or with the steak. The salad was ok. The service was fine but we will not go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sportguy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good but not over the top”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Ate here on our second night in Radda. Courteous service and nice atmosphere. It was not very busy the night we were there and we were the last to leave. We started with a selection of local salumi and cheese that was excellent. First course was Pasta Fagioli, a variation on pasta bean soup. Main course was Cinghiale (boar) con polenta in which the meat was braised and served in a nice sauce. My wife had the chicken tagliata. Both were very good but not "wow!" On the whole the food was very good, but not the best. Closed Wednesdays.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Could do better...”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had an evening meal here in August. We hadn't booked but were given a nice table outside. I admit my poor Italian did rather confuse the staff on how many we were, but in the end everything was sorted.

Service was a little slow, slightly aloof and one of our party did feel he was being corrected by the waiter over how he had pronounced each dish.

The food was acceptable; the sea bass was very dry, the meat was very good. It was one of those meals where I felt everything was OK, just not memorable or special.

We did feel that we were rushed out at the end of the meal, although we were the last to leave.

In all, not quite as good as we hoped.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Perla del Palazzo also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Perla del Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing