We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat here when in Radda”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Dante

Bar Dante
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Radda's original wine bar. Excellent value (service and cover charge free).Bruschetta, pasta, soup, salads, panini) wine by the glass, served all day on a scenic sun terrace, perfect also for people watching. English speaking staff, always able to advise and give local recommendations. The bar has an adjacent wine store (Enoteca Toscana), offering the finest selection of Tuscan wines, olive oils and traditional balsamic, available also local and international delivery.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eat here when in Radda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

While staying in Radda we actually eat at Bar Dante twice because we found it to be the best value and tasty food in the area.The owner was English and very friendly and helpful and added to the whole experience.The food was very good and the total bill for a three course meal and couple of drinks came to just over 40 euros(which from what we saw of Italian standards was very good)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyStoke_on_trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    128
    48
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a really lovely meal here -great value, tasty food. Their aubergines with tomato and Parmesan was the best one I've ever had.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hellsbelles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chill out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our beloved place to go after days spent wandering around Tuscany. They serve good food and wine for very good prices and the place has wonderful atmosphere (especially thanks to flowers everywhere and nice British owner). Their big plate of bruschette is a MUST!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZUZU99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Nice little place with fine staff and exellent food for a very fair price - a place to be and to come again ... to feel good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert188068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Certificate of Excellence ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

What a shame perfect location & friendly staff . Unfortunately the worst pasta I have ever had in Italy ! My cannelloni arrived too quickly , obviously reheated in an oven , completely drowned in sauce. Looked more like soup. Maybe the British hostess believes this is what British customers want but not what you'd expect in Italy .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMD0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C, Owner at Bar Dante, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Hi there,
so sorry to read that you were disappointed with your food. I accept your criticism, but perhaps an alternative regional dish like pappardelle al cinghiale would have been a better choice if you are not keen on the creamy sauces. I can also assure you that the cannelloni is one of our most popular dishes, appreciated by locals and travellers alike.
The certificate of excellence has been awarded for consistently positive feedback, and is a recognition of the high standards we aspire to in our particular sector. As a casual wine bar, Fabrizio and I are proud to offer an extensive selection of local specialities, but this should never be confused with "Fine dining", and we hope our informal style and prices reflect this. We are, however, great food lovers, and regularly recommend Michelin quality restaurants to our valued customers, as we consider this part of the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Dante also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Volpaia, Radda in Chianti
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Bar Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing