We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing & way too crowded”

La Loggia del Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
265 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Disappointing & way too crowded”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We went based on TA reviews and without a booking so were initially pleased they fitted us in. However they also tried to fit in everyone else who arrived by bringing out more and more tables. Hence they had far more customers than they could cope with and service was very slow. A queue also built up with people willing others to leave so it was not at all the relaxing and romantic meal we were looking for. The food was very mediocre too so can't understand why it was so busy. Back to the car we passed several lovely looking restaurants we wished we had opted for. If you do go, go early if you want a table with a view and don't expect fantastic food or service - or avoid August!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    105
    48
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“NO PIZZAS”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

NO PIZZAS.We went to this restaurant especially so the kids could have a pizza. Big disappointment as pizzas only served on weekend evenings. It says in their menu ' due to technical difficulties' whatever that means. Mediocre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desmond_P2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good choice great views”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We spent 2 weeks in Radda and nearly missed this restaurant! Only by reading some of the reviews did we manage to locate it down the stairs as the signs are limited.
Great pasta, service and views. Good selection of wine and sensibly priced. Shame we didn't find it sooner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian with nice view over chianti”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice waiter, helpful and sympathetic
Diner was very good and with the tremendous view over the valley it's really worth it. I can recommend the picci a la contadina.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patje16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best meal in Radda!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We tried this place on our last night of a six day trip in Radda. Having tried many of the other restaurants we consider this to be the best food we have had. Both of us chose pasta. I had the creamed pumpkin and fresh tomato pasta whilst my boyfriend had the farmhouse pasta. They were both delicious. We followed up with chocolate mouse and profiteroles. Again, delicious. Although not situated in the centre of town the food and view are perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Loggia del Chianti also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Loggia del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing