We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, great wine tasting and wonderful meals”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Radda in Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Bottega Di Giovannino
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed with Monica and David for three nights and it was wonderful. The renovated B&B is great-- comfortable rooms, en suite baths and lots of charm! Monica is a certified Chianti wine guide, and we spent a day with her visiting some of the world-class vineyards and wineries in the LOC! Her knowledge of the area and its people made this a truly once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reslifedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2009

Radda is an excellent town to use as a base for exploring the surrounding countryside, and at the price of La Bottega Di Giovannino, was a very affordable one. If we were to go back we would probably try somewhere in Castellina. The woman in the tourism office in Radda was very helpful and set us up with a great wine tour.

Everything was average at La Bottega di Giovannino. It may have been because it was a busy time for the town (the hotel itself wasn't busy), but Monica and David were not nearly as friendly as others described in the reviews. It is a little loud at night due to the bar downstairs. Either way, well worth it for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Monica and her brother David are the perfect hosts for a relaxing holiday in Tuscany. The hotel is great value, their bar is the meeting place for half the town and always a hive of activity. Both Monica and David speak English and proved to be very helpful. The rooms are well restored original rooms with their own bathrooms
The meals offer very good value.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Providance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

This was our first time in Italy. Our son lives in the Vicenzia area. He planned a three day stay in Tuscany and had stayed here before. We were not disappointed. The room was very nice and there are several places to enjoy the excellent Italian dishes. A great little family owned hotel. A true taste of Tuscany. Radda was a good place to base our tour of Chianti region. A vintage hill town. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shadowfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

Several times I have stayed here, first with an organised tour, later I have organised tours myself. The location is beautiful, with views over the hills at one side and a view in the main street of the hamlet on the other side. The rooms are beautiful in their simplicity, quiet and spotless, just like a Tuscan B&B should be. The small town is a great spot for walking in the Chianti hills. (See the Lonely Planet: Walking in Italy, Chianti Classico). They are willing to take your luggage to the next hotel, if you are willing to pay a few euro's.
We have had an evening of wine tasting in their dining room, with home made dishes and three of four wines to taste, with explanations from Monica. It was just perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HildaDrenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego
311
Reviewed 18 April 2006

This place is amazing for a budget Bed & Breakfast. We've been travelling Europe for over a year, and this was buy far the best "budget" accomodation we stayed in. Monica and the family are very friendly and we felt very welcome there. The location is super (center of town), free parking is nearby, and their wine bar is the cutest in Radda. Also, we had an amazing view of the countryside out of our window! The bathroon is private, but is across the hall. Super clean, and super quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2005

This was by far the cheapest place we stayed in Italy. It was also surprisingly one of the nicest! The room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and a good size - much better than places triple the price in Florence. The room was decorated with a rustic Tuscan style - wooden rafters included, which added to the atmosphere. Radda is a beautiful little town and a good base for exploring Chianti. Do yourself a favour and go to the informal pizzeria down the road for the pizza gigante. You might have to sit on plastic chairs, but the pizza was the best we had in Italy!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hatter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radda in Chianti hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
581 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
907 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
607 reviews
2 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
312 reviews
0 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bottega Di Giovannino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bottega Di Giovannino

Address: Via Roma 6-8, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giovannino and his family welcome their guests with their usual warmth and cheerfulness. The comfortable apartments and rooms (each with private bathroom), situated in the historical center, offer a splendid panoramic view of the surrounding countryside.Continental Breakfast is served at the Wine Bar run by the children Monica & David. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Bottega Di Giovannino Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing