We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated,disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Terreno alla Via della Volpaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We arrived with great anticipation,having looked forward to this stay for some time.Podere Terreno came HIGHLY recommended in various media.

Podere Terreno,in our actual experience (group of 12 friends),while a beautiful and fascinating venue,lacked warmth,welcome and hospitality on the part of the hosts.

We found Roberto and Marie-Sylvie to be perhaps past their "best-by" date as hosts.Perhaps they've had enough of the stress of dealing with the public .

Food on first night,prepared by Roberto, was excellent,then slowly deteriorated,as the hosts clearly became less interested in,or positive toward, our party.

Breakfast on our fourth (last) day consisted mainly of left-over dessert from the first dinner ; the supply of yogurts and fresh breads was apparently exhausted . The "hosts" were conspicuous in their absence (Francisco found time to drop in long enough to settle the bill)

Roberto's monologues (and such they were) at dinner began as interesting and informative,but it soon became clear that questions or any interruptions were unwelcome,and anyone in our group attempting to enter the conversation and share experiences in the area were met with disinterest from the host.

Sylvie was simply uninterested in any part of the process.

Francisco was somewhat less than accommodating

Requests were met with either procrastination or even anger ; disbelief that anyone could display the effrontery to make such a request !

Our next two weeks in 4 other venues in Tuscany were all wonderful,welcoming,and as a bonus,three of them were far less expensive !

All-in-all ,we feel that what we anticipated as being the highlight of our trip (ie Podere terreno),turned out to be a big disappointment to us all !

I am writing this 2 years after the fact,having just come across this site. I note,with interest, similar reactions from other guests.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank avidskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2008

After reading all the reviews we were disappointed by the lack of hospitality. We were never greeted when we arrived at the house nor were we ever asked how our day was or what we were thinking about doing the next day. It seemed like they really did not care. Whenever we asked Francisco for suggestions on places to see he made us feel like we were inconveniencing him, and always said he’d tell us at a later time. The first day he said he would tell us in the morning but when we woke up in the morning he was gone running errands. The next evening when we actually got him to tell us a name of a town or winery he did so very quickly. If we asked him to spell the name he was very reluctant to do so and would say oh it’s really easy to find and leave. Dinners were fun, and the multiethnic conversations were the highlight of our stay. There is no air conditioning. We asked for a fan as we noticed that some rooms had one. They first said that they did not have one, when we said we noticed them in other rooms they took one from another room to give to us. The shower is a small wooden platform in the corner of the bathroom which shares a toilet and sink. Shower curtain covers both shower and toilet so only one person can use the bathroom at a time. They did not give any wine tours to any of their guests so do not expect one when you arrive. The first night we had 2 bats that flew in our room. Francisco got them out but then they returned in the middle of the night. We heard complaints from the other guests about some of the same problems. We guess this place is not what it used to be like several years ago. We would not stay at this place nor recommend it to any of our friends. This place may be better for one night pit stops on your way to another location.

Stayed: September 2008
6  Thank Jat2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2007

Roberto and Marie Sylvie offer delightfully comfortable and rustic accommodations in a gorgeous rural setting, yet not too far from the lovely town of Radda in Chianti. Roberto is very knowledgeable about the area and is happy to share information over his many excellent dinners which include fresh local produce and his delicious homemade wine. They, and their two dogs are gracious hosts and Roberto's cooking is phenomenal. I would highly recommend this experience.

Melody Urso
March 8-11, 2007

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank Riomelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

we were recomended by someone to this home, rustic home, clean, separtae bedroom with a bath, we stayed 3 nights, so we had 3 typical breakfasts cheese buns spreads meats juice coffe and tea. dinner was kind of simple but very good... the wine was provided and excellent. you sit at breakfast and dinner with all the guests, when we were there it was half and half who could speak english. when we tried our broken french with the gusest they tried their broken english back and it was very interesting and fun. this is a place to eat the 2 meals and sleep and then have a easy trip to san giminiano, the medeterian?? piza, or the other little towns around. I cannot eat wheat (Celiac) and they bought me special rice crackers for breakfast and made rissitto for everone one night and got rice pasta just for me. very accomidating. the walk up the hill to a small village is worth it but remember your route and it is 40-50 minutes the beer or wine when you get there will taste great.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bigdonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2006

My wife and I stayed 2 days and nights in Oct.2006 and had a fantastic experience with our gracious and welcoming hosts,Roberto and Marie-Silvie.Great wine and food.Would definitely return for several days.Difficult to find the location.

Stayed: October 2006
Thank coman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2005

I think we happened upon the Podere Terreno on the wrong day. We only staying one night and for the few hours we were there, the inn-keepers and guests all seemed stressed. The food and wine are great, the location stunning. I'm not sure I'd go back, however, simply because it was not especially welcoming.

4  Thank redlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2005

We stayed at Podere Terreno in 2003, and we cannot wait to go back. Our only hesitation in writing this review is that more people will discover this lovely place and it will become more difficult to get a reservation there. I guess it's a risk I'll have to take, since it seems only fair that we give credit to such wonderful hosts as Robert and Sylvia. Podere Terreno is an agricultural bed and breakfast, set in a working vineyard in the countryside near Radda in Chianti. You must have a car (or a guide with a car), unless you are planning on staying put all day (not recommended). In our case, we employed Luca Granucci, who was working for Girosole, to drive us, take us on hikes, countryside tours, wine tastings, etc. He was fantastic -- but that is a subject for a different review. The rooms at Podere Terreno are rustic -- particularly the bathrooms, which are small and have rather primitive showers. No televisions, for those who care about that. The inn has seven guest rooms, all pretty much the same. The real magic of Podere Terreno is in the dinners every night. All of the guests sit at a long table with Robert, Sylvia, and their son Francesco. Between them, they speak six or seven languages -- and their guests are from all over the world. Robert is a master story-teller, charming, witty, and inclusive. He makes every guest feel special -- as do Sylvia and Francesco. The dinners are wonderful -- not fancy, but delicious, and including wines of the Podere Terreno vineyard , delicious liqueurs, and more food than one can possibly eat. We would all sit at the table until late into the evening, enjoying the food and the wonderful company. Breakfast is at the same long table, but guests would wander in at different times, as opposed to dinner, when we all sat down at 8:00 p.m. Again, simple and delicious, mainly local meats, cheeses and breads, along with fruit, juice and coffee. We have recommended Podere Terreno to several friends, all of whom have loved it. If you are looking for an experience which is more low key and in tune with the countryside than your typical hotel, spa, or resort, Podere Terreno is a perfect choice. The five nights we spent there were the highlight of our two weeks in Italy.

21  Thank tennismom710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radda in Chianti hotels
2 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
906 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Locanda
La Locanda
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
604 reviews
2.8 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Terreno alla Via della Volpaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Terreno alla Via della Volpaia

Address: Localita Volpaia, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: £78 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Podere Terreno alla Via della Volpaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Terreno Hotel Radda In Chianti
Podere Terreno Radda In Chianti
Podere Terreno Alla Via Della Volpaia Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing