We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful B&B run by an amazing couple...”
Review of La Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Locanda
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B run by an amazing couple...”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in Room #5 at La Locanda for 6 nights for our honeymoon, and unfortunately we are still suffering withdrawal symptoms since we left La Locanda. What an incredible place...

We woke up every morning to an amazing view of the hillsides of Chianti...we were lucky to have 7 days of beautiful weather. Echoing all the prior reviews, this is truly a hidden gem and the ideal place to unplug/go off the grid, and just soak under the Tuscan sun. Proprietors Martina & Guido are incredibly warm and welcoming, and we thoroughly enjoyed not only their hospitality but their home cook meal on a Wednesday evening. Both Martina & Guido went the extra mile to ensure a relaxing/tranquil stay at La Locanda, and were incredibly well-informed and helpful when we visited the surrounding hillside towns e.g. Volpaia, Greve, Siena, Pienza, Montepulciano, Volterra, Asciano, etc.

One of their best, most memorable recommendations was taking a cooking class/wine tour with Giovanna Stianti at Castello di Volpaia. We had an absolutely wonderful and fun time learning from Giovanna!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
135
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I spent the last week of our honeymoon at La Locanda and it was just perfect. The hotel is located in a beautiful, secluded spot just outside Volpaia and the view from the terrace is breath-taking. Martina and Guido, the owners, were so lovely and made us feel so welcome and were so helpful when it came to booking restaurants and giving directions to places. We were really made to feel so special and particularly enjoyed the glass of prosecco on the terrace every evening whilst watching the sun go down. I would also highly recommend the home dinner that Guido and Martina cook themselves on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. The Tiramasu, in particular, was delicious. All in all, this is a magical place and I would highly recommend to anyone wishing to visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed three nights in early September and it was magnificant. Although the way to the hotel is a small adventure, it emphasizes the special character of this beautiful place in Toscani. What you get are the ameneties of a high class hotel with a country side character. Breakfast is simple but you will miss nothing. The rooms are spacious, clean and cosy and witness of the good taste of the hosts. Guido and Martina are fabulous hosts that help you with every aspect of your travel and restaurant recommendation and reservation. They even ask you pro-actively because it can be quite easy to forget about dinner once you are caught by the silence and peace of this place with one of the best views in Chianti. It's worth the $.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a few nights at La Locanda towards the end of our 4 week holiday through Europe. La Locanda is a lovely secluded B&B type retreat - there are only 7 rooms, so its a very tranquil holiday spot. We would wake early, enjoy a lovely breakfast (with delicious home made coffee), spend half the day day-trippng and come back around 2 or 3 to sit by the pool / swim. We'd head back to our room and get ready for the 7 pm prosecco and nibbles before heading out to one of the local restaurants for dinner. Fabulous! Guido and Martina are very friendly and helpful (eg booking restaurants, sightseeing recommendations) and make you feel very welcome. We are planning on going back when we're in Europe next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesireeB387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at La Locanda on the last part of our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for anything more perfect. The setting and views are stunning, a real escape. Guido and his wife Martina make you feel very at home, taking care of reataurant bookings, any help you need there. It is so much more personal. We came to la locanda from having stayed in some of the best hotels in Italy 5* resorts our travel agent recommended - from the overall experience this was our favorite place and we will without a doubt be back.

Breakfast is simple but all you need,

Book a wine tasting tour at Volpaia in the village.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claret111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I have just returned from La Locanda and we both loved it. The garden is truly beautiful and we were lucky with timing because the lavender was still there and the scent is so gorgeous. It was so lovely and tranquil there that we decided to spend half our days at the hotel, and only half wondering around to other villages/ towns.
The location is perfect. An hour from Sienna so a day trip is easy, and also other places like San Gimignano and a lot more.
The village of Volpaia is a 15 minute walk through the woods, so in the evening, if you wish to enjoy wine and therefore not drive, this is a perfect option.
There's so much to do that you will not be stuck for ideas. Martina and Guido will help in any case. They are wonderful hosts. Thank you both for a wonderful stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

If there is a farmhouse, you want to stay in which feels just like home, then this place owned by Martina and Guido is it! It is blissful, it is quiet, it is romantic, it is not only beautiful but is breathtaking to wake up and see the rolling hills of Chianti! One day there was an ounce of fog just hanging in mid air in the hills. Martina prepared dinner, which she graciously does 3 times week, and the Risotto was out of this world and the wild boar was delicious! After dinner talks with other guests from the 7 rooms in the hotel are interesting after the few drinks from Guido. It feels like home away from home with amazing breakfast location, lovely hills and gracious hosts. Breakfast is just right, rooms are spacious and with modern amenities and the stay is very memorable including finding this remote location but getting lost in Tuscany is so much fun that you want to do it again and again! Brilliant place and will surely do it again.

Room Tip: Just leave it to the hosts and you will be well taken care of, need I say more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubaitraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
6.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
8.4 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda

Property: La Locanda
Address: Localita Montanino SNC, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda is a charming small country inn with 6 rooms and 1 suite in the Chianti Classico countryside. It is located in a fantastically panoramic position, on the top of a hill overlooking the hamlet of Volpaia and the valley of Radda in Chianti. It is carefully run by the owners Guido and Martina Bevilacqua. Swimming pool and terrace for breakfast and al fresco dining on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Hotel Radda In Chianti
La Locanda Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing