We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful La Locanda”
Review of La Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Locanda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

There cannot be anywhere more beautiful than the location of La Locanda.
Guido is a most gracious and welcoming host at his beautiful hotel. The views are unparalleled, the rooms spacious and well appointed and Guido's warmth and attention make one feel comfortable and at home.
A feeling of peace and at one with nature pervades.
Our third time here, and we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for La Locanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have been visiting Guido at La Locanda since 2003. In that time we've missed only 2 years. That this magical place gets under your skin is obvious form reading the other reviews. For us, we've marked several very important events in our lives with Guido at La Locanda, including getting engaged. In fact, Guido was the first to know! The location is unbeatable and we've researched around Tuscany, Umbria, Le Marche and Lazio just to check. The hotel is tastefully and traditionally furnished with great thought to creating a home from home for the guests. Guido promotes an atmosphere of a house party with drinks and friendly chatter on the terrace every evening before heading out for dinner. Driving through the Chianti region offers breathtaking scenes at every turn, the restaurants are first class and the major attractions at Florence, Siena, Arezzo and San Gimignano are within easy reach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view but book well in advance as these rooms go quickly
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and me just spent six wonderful days at La Locanda. This authentic upscale Tuscan style country house is situated in a quiet area up in the hills between Volpaia and Panzano. From our room terrace we had a fantastic view and we also very much liked the garden and surroundings. Guido, the long time owner, is putting all his efforts in maintaining this hidden secret. He is also a charming and attentive host which made our stay even more enjoyable. If you are looking for a place to wind down and relax but nevertheless being close to many must-see attractions, you definitely should consider to stay at Lo Locanda.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibex59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

La Locanda is the reward you get after snaking up winding, narrow roads and squeezing through an impossibly narrow street in the tiny village of Volpaia to reach the last stretch of a very long and gravelly road and driveway. The surrounding views are breathtaking, and your location at one of the highest points in the region means you'll hear nothing much more than birds singing for as long as you can stand relaxing with strong coffee, great wine, a nice breakfast, and sitting by the pool. As others have pointed out, Guido is a patient and very pleasant guy who is more than willing to help with suggestions, reservations, and anything else you might need. I wouldn't recommend using La Locanda as a base if you're going to do a lot of traveling through Chianti, because it takes at least 20 minutes to get down the hills, and the narrow and winding roads make travel slow going. Still, take a few days off and relax if you want to unwind in one of the most beautiful places in Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights at La Locanda, so I got a really good feel for the place. Guido, the owner, is an incredible person. He is charismatic, patient, soulful, and extremely helpful. He has owned Lo Lacanda for 16 years, so he knows all the surrounding restaurants, shops, and various villages like the back of his hand. Every place we went, the other locals would say how much they loved Guido,

The hotel itself is beautiful. Guido and his staff have clearly spent much time and energy making the grounds idyllic. It is truly the most relaxing atmosphere you can imagine. It is the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle, but there are still plenty of sights and restaurants within a 30 minute drive.

Come here, relax, drink wine, enjoy the views, and most importantly of all, talk with Guido and the other locals. It's an experience you will always remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with your own private terrace.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevodive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Although the location is somewhat remote this B &B is far and above the best of any that we have stayed in.
Upon arrival you are made to feel like returning family and the care and attention to all details is perfect. All of our needs were anticipated and the service was so very personalized, we know why their guests return year after year.
The views of the surrounding countryside are spectacular, and breakfast on the patio was the start of many wonderful days in the Chianti region.
Guido was most helpful in assisting us to plan each day and his recommendations were excellent.
This is a very special host and hostess who are committed to their guests and wonderful holidays!
We also look forward to our next visit like so many other of their returning guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Five minutes after our arrival at La Locanda on September 16, 2013 we felt we were at the home of a long lost relative. I cannot say enough about our hosts Guido and Martina, we will return. La Locanda is remotely located in the hills of Tuscany with a magnificent vista of the beautiful medieval town of Volpaia and the surrounding Tuscan country side. However; it was minutes from everything. La Laconda is a magnificent restored medieval farmhouse. The rooms are immaculate, spacious with all amenities. We stayed for 6 days and were sorry we had to leave. The breakfast was special and the dinners were excellent.

Joe & Barbara

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 484Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
546 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
549 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
571 reviews
3.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
307 reviews
2.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda

Address: Localita Montanino SNC, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: £193 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda is a charming small country inn with 6 rooms and 1 suite in the Chianti Classico countryside. It is located in a fantastically panoramic position, on the top of a hill overlooking the hamlet of Volpaia and the valley of Radda in Chianti. It is carefully run by the owners Guido and Martina Bevilacqua. Swimming pool and terrace for breakfast and al fresco dining on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Hotel Radda In Chianti
La Locanda Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing