We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with all the modern conveniences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We were referred to Hotel Leopoldo when we attending the Outstanding in the Field dinner at La Petraia in September 2011. We knew the dinner would be really special. What a pleasant surprise that our hotel was just as special! Our room was large and had an adorable window that looked out to the Tuscan scenery that we all love. The staff was so personable and was eager to share the history of this amazing hotel. Situated in the very charming town of Rhadda in Chianti, we loved our time there. Next time we plan on spending more than just one night! The cherry on top was the full breakfast that was included in our nightly rate. The beautiful breakfast setting was either in the enchanting kitchen and dining room or you could make your way out to the patio to take in the Tuscan views! Fantastic all around!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was our 2nd visit to Radda and our first visit to Palazzo Leopoldo. The first time, we came many years ago and we have been planning to come back for some time now to explore the area more in depth.

We really like Radda, there are no modern buildings here and has but a few restaurants and cafes. From here we explored Volpaia, the church at Badia Coltibuono and San Gimingiano.

Radda is small, built on a hill and when you arrive on the main road from either direction you are filtered right to the center of the village. Roads are narrow and with limited access, so you should park on the street and cut between the buildings to gain access to the hotel. If you don’t have much luggage you don’t need to get a road opening key to bring your car around, you can’t stay there more than a few moments any way. We always found parking available on the street right behind the hotel and you just slip between the building and your right at Leopoldo.

The hotel was extremely charming and romantic, our room was charmingly rustic, and we were very pleased! Breakfast is not included and we opted to do coffee and pastry at the local café but the breakfast did look nice. Wifi is available in the living room and worked well.

On our 2nd night I took a cooking class at the hotel, given by two beautiful Italian women Anita & Valentine..We had so much fun cooking! After cooking was completed, my wife was able to join me for the eating part of the class, the food was delicious. I make a mean tiramisu!!!!

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, we thought the price was very good, we would highly recommend this hotel.

john

Room Tip: Take a ten minute drive to Volpaia and step back into time..have lunch at bar Bar Ucci
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We first came here on our honeymoon in December 2008 and we fell in love. We went back again last year. This place is incredible! It originally was a medievil castle and they have turned it into the most delightful hotel. Rooms are beautiful, staff are sensational, the breakfast which is served in the big traditional kitchen is divine and so fresh and the location is great. Raada in Chianti is the most breathtaking town and Palazzo Leopoldo just completes it!

Room Tip: We had one of the big rooms on the ground floor next to the terrace in 2008 which was excellent, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaMarisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty1973, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

We have no words!! We could not have written something better!!
All the staff of Palazzo Leopoldo warmly thank you, we are so happy that you enjoyed at our hotel and we are so proud and honoured that you decided to spend so important moments of your life in Radda in Chianti.
Looking forward to having you as guest again!
Warmest regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The drive to Radda was beautiful filled with miles and miles of vineyards and olive groves. We arrived in Radda and found it to be a great little (emphasis on little) town. We stayed at the Palazzo Leopoldo and made it our base to drive throughout the area. The hotel is an old medieval-style manor. Our room was huge (it was originally the dinning room) and had a fire place and an awesome panoramic view of the country side. The bed was very uncomfortable and is in desperate need of a new mattress. The people working there were nice and we found Daniel to be particularly helpful. The breakfast was very good and sitting out on the terrace overlooking the country side reading a book was priceless!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilemonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We got very lost driving through Chianti and when we finally arrived in Radda, we were very confused as to how to get into hotel. Finally we got to the front door (you have to walk) and began our love affair with Radda. The hotel was very comfortable and quite atmospheric. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the breakfast out on the balcony off the lobby. We were a bit disappointed it was not included as at most of our other stops. But it was a beautiful way to start a day. Also we found that 5 days in Tuscany was maybe one too many. The medieval towns start to really look alike. We do recommend this hotel, but even more this lovely, quieter town. More peaceful than many Tuscany villages and less tourist.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woundedbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Loved this hotel. My daughter and I stayed here for four nights while we explored the Tuscany region. We had a large room with spectacular views of the countryside. Loved the historic kitchen where breakfast was served, and the patio overlooking the valley.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellingson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

While this is not an easy place to get to, it is quite worth it. The small town is adorable, and has several little shops and great restaurants. The room had views of vineyards and the hills of Tuscany. The hotel has a great back balcony where you can breakfast, or enjoy your last wine purchase. Our room had terra cotta tiles, a huge bed, a great big window, and a clean bathroom. The basement has an indoor pool, that is really quite nice in the evening. Along w/ the pool there are showers and changing rooms. The hotel has a restaurant that is wonderful, and there is a spa but they were having a hard time contacting the owner. The front desk help was very friendly. They helped us get really good reservations for some wineries. Caution...do not get directions from them. Directions in Tuscany are not easy to understand. Make sure that you get a GPS! There is no way to figure it out otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcakes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
906 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
312 reviews
0 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Address: Via Roma 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Spa Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: £77 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing