We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
418
163
33
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
163
33
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltop floorhotel restaurantlarge roomlovely hotelantique furnishingsgreat townevery requestplenty of free parkingno elevatortravel agentcooking classperfect base for exploringsmall townluxury hotelrestaurants and shopsmedieval town
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was our second stay at Palazzo Leopoldo (this time with family too). It's located right in the centre of the beautiful town of Radda and in close proximity to anything you could want to see or do in town. It's an authentic old building and the rooms are spacious and typically Tuscan. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a slight issue with our hot water on the second day of our stay but were provided with an alternative room to shower in whilst they arranged for maintenance to visit. Overall a very pleasant stay and we'd certainly go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and larger windows to the rear of the building
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnerall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Palazzo Leopoldo in Radda in Chianti in May 2012. It was truly an incredible experience! The town was charming, the views were spectacular, the staff were friendly and very welcoming providing exceptional service and assistance! From Radda, we were able to travel to Florence and Sienna on day trips - both cities well worth the time to visit. One suggestion would be to take advantage of the local bus to these beautiful cities; that way, no parking hassles, driving stresses, ability to take in the scenery along the way and the pleasure of travelling and speaking with folks that actually live in the area. Tickets can be purchased from the tourist centre or the hardware store across the street. The room at the Palazzo was very large, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The history of the Palazzo is well worth reading about. Without hesitation, we would highly recommend staying in this very central area and at this superb guest house!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martyandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

WIth only 19 rooms, Palazzo Leopoldo and its staff will make you feel that you are Italian nobility. Radda offers the perfect central location to tour Chianti; the Palazzo Leopoldo's staff will ensure that you are not only comfortable and well-fed, but armed with directions and their suggestions. Our room was spacious, with incomparable views of the Chianti countryside. Impeccably clean, well appointed and tasteful. Enjoy breakfast, served in the hotel's rustic country kitchen and lovely dining room. Be sure to enjoy an afternoon tea or prosecco on the hotel's balcony, with those amazing views. Next time, we'll use the spa: have you ever swam in a pool located in what was once a wine cellar? Stone walls, modern lighting - would be a romantic, soothing end to any day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetellenNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We traveled with 2 other couples and spent 5 nights at the Palazzo Leopoldo. We originally picked Radda as a hub for traveling around the sites in Tuscany and it was perfect for that. If we return, we will pick Radda again but because of Palazzo Leopoldo! The service, the rooms, the vista were impeccable. We looked forward to visiting the their beautiful breakfast room and array of fresh fruits along with many other choices. If you travel to Radda without a car for the solitude, the food and the views it's perfect. If you go by car to Radda for it's location, its 45 minutes from many other great spots it's even more perfect. Certainly a place to return to again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertJR53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Palazzo Leopoldo in Radda in Chianti for 7 nights in May. Where to start…. Radda is a very small hilltop town in the beautiful Chianti hills in Tuscany. The area is actually more hilly than we expected with very narrow and winding roads which are sometimes a bit tricky with oncoming traffic often on your side of the road! Once you arrive in Radda the town is just delightful with a very old town centre closed to traffic and extremely well kept. There aren’t a lot of shops – just a handful, but there a quite a few enotecas which is to be expected with the area being famous for wine. The hotel is lovely and full of character in a rustic medieval /palatial style! You have to walk along to the hotel and get an access card so you can drive in to the pedestrian area to drop your bags off, then drive out the other end and find parking in the surrounding streets, which are often full. On saying that, we never had any trouble finding anywhere free to park, but we were there outside the main tourist season. The staff are all extremely welcoming and helpful and greet you like old friends whenever you came back from a day of exploring. Our room was on the main entrance level off the lounge area, but very quiet as nobody seems to sit in the lounge! We felt like we were staying in a manor house, which in effect is what the hotel was in its previous life. Our room (No 3) was very large with double windows looking over the gorgeous surrounding hillsides, a king size bed, 2 lounge chairs with coffee table and a desk. The main feature was the huge fireplace, but I think it is just ornamental now and not used. The bathroom was small but functional with a modern massage shower. There was no fridge in the room or tea/coffee making facilities. Buffet style breakfast was served every morning in the ancient kitchen and adjoining room. The selection was adequate, but not lavish, with juices, tea/coffee, fruit, yoghurt, basic cereals and home made pastries/cakes. There was a very small hot offering of usually just eggs. If the weather is nice you can take a tray out onto the delightful terrace and take in the gorgeous views. The hotel does not have a bar/cafe or room service menu, but they are happy to make you a coffee or drink on request (for a fee). There is a restaurant downstairs from the main hotel area which is very nice and also an adjoining enoteca (wine shop). The pool is down in the vaulted cellars and is small but charming. There is also a beauty parlour in the downstairs area which operates independently but you can charge the costs back to your room. I had a massage here which was relaxing but not what I would call therapeutic if that’s what you’re after. All in all we had a lovely and relaxing stay at the Palazzo and would urge anyone to experience the charm for themselves.
Tips: We tried nearly every restaurant in Radda and didn’t have a bad meal in any of them, but of particular note was La Botte di Bacco – wonderful food, wine and service and worth going alone for the homemade bread basket! Also had very nice meals in La Perla, La Loggia and the casual and cosy La Bottega Di Giovannino. A visit to the local village of Volpaia and La Bottega Ristorante is worth a trip. Also had fantastic takeaway pizza from a little hole in the wall place (Il Gatto E La Volpe) in Castelllina in Chianti. Day trips to Sienna, Florence and San Gimignano are all easily achievable as well as all the local hilltop hamlets and villages.

Room Tip: Room no 3 was grand with fantastic views over the tuscan hills.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oz-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews