We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small village in Classico Chianti”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small village in Classico Chianti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

You can walk from one end of Radda to the other in five minutes. But it takes much longer to take in all there is to see. Palazzo Leopoldo had the best view from our room of any location we have ever been. Every direction had small shops to explore. Sandy's Cafe was excellent. The hotel staff were great. They took excellent care of everything we needed. The breakfast was above the norm and we were offered cappuccino as soon as we walked in. They served wine on the patio with the same wonderful view we had from our room. This felt like real Chianti countryside. Close to the L'Eroica start in Gaiole and not from the mad butcher of Panzano. I highly recommend the Palazzo Leopoldo.

Room Tip: Room one and two both had windows opening to a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    132
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
77
335
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We travelled around quite a bit in these parts but you can't go wrong by choosing Radda as your base. It's quaint, historic, clean, unique, central, unusual, friendly and a must when looking for a good location from which to explore this beautiful region. This hotel is in the main street where many rooms overlook a stunning view of the Chianti hills. Try and request a room with a view as its's lovely to wake up to each day. Do not pass up the opportunity to have a cookery lesson with Lorenzo who is quite the gem and added some special memories to our trip (and hopefully improved cooking abilities!) The Tuscan feast that came out of this experience was delicious and to feel you contributed to the end result is a bonus. Thank you Josef, Marco, Lorenzo and all others working at this special establishment.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chopsuey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianpolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Highly recommend this as your home base for a trip to Chianti, Florence, etc. Located in the heart of Radda its a perfect setting for a romantic getaway or getaway with adults. The village is small and quaint but plenty of dning choices and shops. At the hotel Danielle and Joseph (I hope I got that right) were perhaps the two most accomodating hosts I have experienced. They helped us with transportation to Flororence and with rental cars, dining choices, and tickets to attractions in Florence. They were amazing. The views from our room were beautiful and there was a second floor patio for all guest to use that was the place to be for the sunsets. Absolutely stunning sunsets perfect to accompany a bottle of Chianti. Which buy the way there is a wine shop just below the hotel with a great selection and wonderful sommelier owner that was very friendly and helpful. We had a double room and I would save the money next time and go for a single if it had the same view. The larger room was just more space, not more amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marino, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and used this as a home base to explore things nearby. We absolutely loved this hotel - right in the heart of the town - and loved Radda in Chianti. The hotel has a terrace that overlooks the gorgeous countryside where we drank our wine at night and ate our breakfast. Highly professional and personable staff, wonderful buffet breakfast with a terrific variety of fresh, homemade foods. They upgraded our room because it was our 30th anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights. I asked for a room with a view, prepaid an additional fee that included breakfast and upgraded room, and ended up looking at the rooftop of the building I could not see over in front of the hotel for my entire stay. I would strongly recommend a room on a higher floor, as I was just above the walkway where both garbage was taken out early in the morning (0400) and supplies were brought in. So, do not stay on the level below the lobby. As for the room, it was clean, but sparsely furnished. The bed was two single mattresses that were split in the center and put together as a queen size bed. The shower was small, but the bathroom was again very clean.
One important issue is the location of this hotel on the top of a hill. If you are older or have issues with knees or hips, this is not the hotel for you. Both the stair climb and the hill climb to the hotel will be extremely difficult and there is NO Lift once inside the hotel. So, you carry your bags up and down the stairs. The positive is the staff. They are friendly and helpful with a great knowledge of the entire area.

Room Tip: Do Not Except a room on the floor below the lobby if you are looking for a view other than a rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pftambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We really enjoyed our five nights at Palazzo Leopoldo. The room was spacious and the wonderful view of the Tuscan countryside was enjoyed from dawn to dusk and beyond. Staff were always positive and helpful. Breakfast is set out in the old kitchen and the building itself makes it easy to imagine how comfortably a wealthy family lived. As others have noted, Radda is a very central location for driving to many nearby cities, although driving is certainly slow as well as filled with spectacular views that the driver may not be able to look at. The hotel patio is a wonderful place to enjoy wine and snacks (BYO) and views after a day's explorations. The pool is worth a look, given its unique subterranean location. We stayed one night at the sister hotel on the road to Gaiole and the pool there is well worth a visit if the nights are still warm (so the water stays warm)..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusNZtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Traveling in a group of six (three couples) we stayed at this lovely hotel with a great central location for exploring Tuscany. Staff very friendly and helpful (all spoke English). Upon check-in when they said there's no "lift" (elevator) I thought "oh no", but when we arrived on the top floor, it was a great surprise (and the staff offered to help us carry our luggage upstairs). After being in small hotels throughout Italy, this place was like a little apartment. That last flight of steps was quite steep but worth the climb. We had a kitchenette with refrigerator, good sized bathroom (compared to most others we'd seen), a living room area with nice TV and a separate bedroom. The place looked like a ski chalet with huge exposed beams. Our friends had the other two rooms on the top floor so we had the whole floor to ourselves (their rooms were nice too--each quite different). Great restaurant for dinner and sitting outside. It had an indoor pool though we never used it. I liked that you could walk from the hotel to various restaurants and shops (no need to jump in the car). Easy to get to local wineries, towns, tourist areas like Florence, Siena, Castelina in Chianti. I will say the mattress was a little hard (but all of them in Italy were hard compared to our pillowtop at home). Church bells ringing in the morning for your alarm clock and a great local bakery for breakfast just a short walk away. We loved this place! We were here with friends but room #15 would be good if you had children traveling with you. There was an extra bed in the bedroom as well as a sofa, and another sofa in the living room.

Room Tip: Room #15 was like a little apartment (up on the highest floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinHuffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Property: Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Address: Via Roma 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing