We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great views across Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great views across Tuscany”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We have just got back from a couple of days in Radda staying at the Palazzo Leopaldo, which was a delight.
Radda is a great little village in Tuscany which allowed us to drive around to all the main areas of Tuscany and the Palazzo was the best place to stay.
The staff are very friendly, the rooms excellent, the breakfasts are a delight to behold and the views are superb.
The restaurant attached to the hotel is excellent, really good venue and food.
Finally, must mention the attached spa, my wife and I both had a 'stress relieving' massage which was tremendous.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryLee316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty1973, Manager at Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2009
Dear Mr Lee,

thank you very much for your beautiful words about Palazzo Leopoldo.

We were so happy when all our efforts in order to warmly welcome our guests are satisfied.

We hope to have yuo s our guests in future!!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    140
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
82
354
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NewYork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Palazzo Leopoldo was one of our stays during a week-long romantic tour of Tuscany with my girlfriend. We absolutely loved everything about it, from its central location in the middle of tiny Radda, to the wonderful staff who are extremely courteous and accomodating, to the entire experience of staying in an authentic, Tuscan palazzo. What do I mean by authentic? You feel a sense of the past in this hotel, from the medieval-looking carpets/tapestries to the stone steps, to the tiny chapel on the 2nd floor. Yet at the same time you have all the modern amenities you'll need - we had a wonderfully modern shower with horizontal massage jets that would be the envy of most showers in the world; a heater/airconditioning unit with remote control; a full kitchen, etc. (there's even a computer for public internet access available).

The hotel (and our room) was immaculate, you can tell the staff care about this place and take great pride in cleanliness and atmosphere. Honestly, the photos you see on the hotel website do not do it justice! The breakfast spread is amazing - croissants, rolls, cereal, cheeses, olives, deli items, I'm getting hungry just writing about it.

Now, let me set a few things straight concerning a negative review of this hotel written in October of 2007:

1 - The hotel does *not* need TLC, nor is it drab - it is a 700 year old palazzo that was completely gutted and renovated only a few years ago. You will find tremendous attention to detail in the way the rooms, hallways, and public areas of the hotel have been restored. This hotel positively oozes with old world charm, you often feel as if you've stepped back in time and are staying in a tiny medieval castle.

2 - Location - if you stay in a hotel in the middle of Radda in CHIANTI, then you are likely there for CHIANTI, meaning you are there for wine-tasting! This hotel is an EXCELLENT, quiet base for exploring countless vineyards, wineries, and farms as well as the other Chianti villages such as charming Greve and Castellina. You absolutely *must* have a rental car to navigate this area, but if you've done your research then you already know that Chianti is a remote area tucked in the hills amongst spaghetti-like winding roads (a navigation system is absolutely critical if you wish to really enjoy Chianti).

Furthermore, it was easy to get to towns like San Gimignano, Monteriggioni, Siena, etc. - be warned however that you will have to deal with those crazy windy roads, and you'll always be traveling for at least 30mins to 1 hour. The upside is that you will be driving through some of the most beautiful countryside in the world - your breath will literally be taken away as you round a bend and get a new view of the often perfectly tended landscape.

I could go on and an about Chianti and Palazzo Leopoldo, but I'll just summarize by saying that this is a fantastic town & hotel if you're looking for a peaceful, quiet, country-like getaway surrounded by historic wineries and lovely countryside.

  • Liked — Comfortable, large rooms; overall decor
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WisetravellerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty1973, Responsabile Gestione at Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2009
Dear WisetravellerNYC,
we warmly thank you for all the wonderfull words written about Palazzo Leopoldo.
We have a real passion for our job and we are extremely happy and satisfied when a guest can personally feel it.
Looking forward to having you again as our guest!!
Best regards
Martina Rustichini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

I loved the breakfast room. The buffet was set up in the next room – an old fashioned Italian country kitchen. Plentiful, good breakfast.

Beautiful lobby, with an outside balcony for breakfast in warmer weather. Wonderful view of countryside from this balcony.

Since my husband can’t walk upstairs (arthritis in knees), we booked a junior suite on the main floor. We were able to pull the car right up to the front door to unload our suitecases.

Our room looked just like the hotel’s website photo, except since there wasn’t wall-to-wall carpet, it wasn’t as luxurious as the photo looked.

Several reviewers recommended the restaurant La Vigne just east of town for dinner and it was excellent – our best dining experience in Italy.

The town itself is really nothing – just one street. However, the location is nice for enjoying rides in the countryside.

  • Liked — ambiance of hotel, countryside
  • Disliked — not located close enough to hill towns
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Radda is very tiny with nothing in particular to see. The Verranzo vineyard has a nice tour and lunch where you taste about six wines, one with each course. I found the hotel to be a little drab but authentic. Its a real villa and it feels it. Breakfast was excellent, and the room was huge. If you are going to only one location in Tuscany, this would not be it for me. If however, you are travelling throughout tuscany and plan on staying in various locations, its O.K. as a second or third stop over. The nicest area of Tuscany in my opinion is the area around Montelcino. It has the prettiest countryside and its centrally located for day trips in all directions. Don't go to San Gimigano unless you like tourist traps, dozens of buses and tacky t-shirt shops. Its the italy pavillain at epcot and many buildings are newly constructed with facades. Try Pianza, Voltera, Orvieto, Montelcupiano, Montelcino Civita Bagnorgio instead.

  • Liked — Breakfast was as good as most other properties we visiited
  • Disliked — Location, and it needs some tender loving care
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

Palazzo Leopoldo is a perfect hotel in the perfectly enchanting village of Radda. The public rooms are pretty and quaint, the breakfast, although continental was fresh and delicious (I had the best coffee of all time!) and our guest room was spacious, rustic, and comfortable. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful and always made us feel welcome and comfortable. We were "upgraded" to a junior suite because another guest arriving before us rejected the room (because of the numerous flights of stairs required to get to the room - there is no elevator!) However, we didn't object to the exercise and welcomed the additional room provided by the suite. Located on the top floor, room 15 has brick floors & exposed beam ceilings. The kitchenette was our favorite space in the house because it was so rustic and bright, plus it had a large window with an incredible view. We kept our windows open the entire stay and enjoyed the Tuscan breezes all day and night.

The worst part of our accommodation was the bathroom. While clean, bright and well-equiped, the shower was so small we had trouble bathing in it. With a suite that large, Leopoldo should invest in upgrading the shower immediately! Also, many of the light bulbs were burnt out and the TV didn't work. Lastly, the hotel shares the via Roma with the Church of San Niccolo, which is undergoing renovation. The workers start early and we were awakened each morning by a lot of construction noise.

Radda is a lovely village - the cutest we saw in the region - and there is more than enough to do to occupy 1 - 2 days. We were able to reach Greve in 25 minutes and Florence in an hour.

The restaurant in the hotel (Perle Leopoldo) was quite good as well, we ate there two nights and liked it more than Vignale which gets more attention. The food was slightly better at Vignale but the service at Perle was friendlier and the dining room was much brighter and cozier.

  • Liked — Views, decor, staff, location
  • Disliked — Too many steps, shower was way too small, pool was over-chlorinated
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

The drive to Radda was spectacular. There are the most amazing views of the the rolling Tuscan hills (so beautiful it seemed unreal), vineyards, and charming cottages. When we arrived at the hotel and shown our room I literally said "wow, this is beautiful". Our room had the best view of Chianti as it overlooked the aforementioned countryside and was HUGE. We had high wooden beamed ceilings, comfortable large bed, historic fireplace, a working kitchenette/stove, and dining room table, and couch. The shower was small (there is no tub), but the bathroom itself was huge. There is only 1 receptionist at all times, however he/she was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was by far the best we have had in Italy and is served in an absolutely charming room or outside on the terrace (which included the best cappucino, cheese, local deli type meat, bread, juices, fresh fruit, eggs). We generally stay at the Mandarin, Ritz Carlton, and the Four Seasons, however for this trip we wanted to experience a different more historic, charming little tuscan village/lodging feel and we were not dissapointed. By the way, we drove around the Chianti area and Radda is by far the nicest village.

  • Liked — The town and rooms
  • Disliked — Shower stall
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ObjectiveReviewer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We just returned from Italy and stayed (twice) at Palazzo Leopoldo in Radda in the Chianti part of Tuscany with our 2 teenage sons. We LOVED Palazzo Leopoldo and Radda and the Tuscan countryside.

We were originally scheduled for 3 nights and ended up staying a total of 5 nights in 2 different stints during our trip. We had a family suite way up on the top floor including multiple rooms, a bathroom, good sleeping space for the 4 of us plus an extra bed and a kitchenette. The space was really cute with medeival beamed ceilings and old brick work and stone floors. We took the less expensive suite room without much view which cost us 250 to 290 Euros per night for the 4 of us (they cut the price to 250 to get us to stay the extra nights). Nice view rooms were more. While we did not partake in the cooking classes offered at Palazzo Leopoldo, many of the people staying there did and strongly recommended them.

Breakfast was superb with something for everyone whether you like American style cereal or European meat, cheese, pastry, etc. Terrific coffee. We typically ate breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Mom, Dad and one of our boys run and the surrounding vineyards and gravel roads provided nice running with the exception of a few pesky bugs. Free shared Internet computer was provided in an upstairs alcove.

Food in the area was fabulous but not cheap, including the Palazzo restaurant (not owned by the same people), the vineyard restaurant down the road a 1/2 mile, the upscale pizza place across the road and a couple of bars. Radda and the Chianti area are an absolute treat with wine and olive oil tasting everywhere and old castles and villages down every road. We used Radda and Palazzo Leopoldo as a base to explore all of Tuscany including Florence, Siena, San Giminiano and the countryside. Countryside and the small places were the best :-)

The downsides of Radda and Palazzo Leopoldo are few but include steep stairs for older guests to get up to the top floor, the expense and the need to drive everywhere once you have walked the small and quaint medieval town of Radda. But these are minor compared to the wonderful upside of staying there. We'll defnitely be back.

  • Liked — Medieval feel with modern conveniences and great food
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank HawaiiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
534 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
568 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Property: Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Address: Via Roma 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#1 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#1 Spa Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing