We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 May 2007

The pictures and reviews of Palazzo Leopoldo don't do it justice! We arrived to the most beautiful little town, checked into our room which overlooked the rolling hills outside our windows and couldn't stop smiling. You must go. Radda has at least 2 outstanding restaurants and several good, everyday places to eat. You can wander the town, drive to the local sights and absolutely relax here. Don't miss it.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    134
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
77
341
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2006

This is a beautiful property in a quaint perfect hilltop town. Radda is a great base for the Chianti Region and I will stay at Leopoldo again.
Per my request, they put us on the 1st floor without problem. The 2nd day we had a wine tour at Castellina Verenazza (also recommended) and I wasn't sure how to get there. When I woke up, the front desk had mapquest directions waiting for me!
The rooms were HUGE and the bathrooms were spacious.
I would also highly recommend La Vigne just east of town for dinner. The best two meals we had during our two weeks in Italy.

  • Liked — Their attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing. They room key was big and clanky, but now I'm splitting hairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Do the Verazanno Wine tour
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank scjones8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville, tn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

This gorgeous hotel is luxury in one of the most beautiful areas of Italy. Radda in Chianti is gorgeous and so relaxing. The staff at the Leopoldo was professional and very kind. Our room (#4) was incredible! We felt like royalty with our own private terrace and views of Il Chianti. If we did not have to leave for Rome, we would have stayed longer. Additionally, the restaurant was fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittymama76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2006

Radda is a cute, older town with few services on a hilltop in Central Chianti area. The Leopoldo is a 700 year old building that once was a hospital.
We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the staff, and the town itself. There is no elevator, so if you have a bad back, better make porter arrangements wth the hotel before arriving.
Hotel parking is available, but again, you need to be in good physical condition, as the parking is probably 150 or so steps away on a sharp incline.
There is a very good restaurant, La Vigne, about 1/2 mile east of Radda that we went to on two of our three nights. Set in the middle of a vineyard, it's truly romantic, unique, and delicious, for not many Euros. We were not impressed with dining in Radda itself.
The hotel rooms are large and the bathrooms are adequate.
If you reserve a room with a view (as we did) better double check on its availability (we didn't). They cut us a deal to stay in our almsot-no-view room, but we were so tired after traveling, we stayed in the same room for the 3 nights. They reduced the rate accordingly, about $50USD per night. The room was probably 200 SqFt or more.
The breakfasts were great - continental, but they would make eggs if one asked for them. Set in the old kitchen, they made you feel like you were living "Under the Tuscan Sun". We'd stay again.

  • Liked — The age and feel of the place.
  • Disliked — Damn steps eveyrwhere - walking became a real effort.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make them GUARANTEE a view room (in blood)
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank sarapalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2006

We stayed at Palazzo Leopoldo during August 2006 and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is located in Radda, one of the nicest villages of the region of Chianti and pretty close to all the important vineyards. We had a double room (superior) with view at the hills: the room was big with a double bed and a very nice bathroom. The breakfast is amazing and since it was summer, it was served at the terrace with view at the hills. The staff was friendly, however not very much helpful with recommendations on places to see, restaurants etc. A restaurant that recommended as one of the best at the region was at a nearby hotel, full of tourists and overpriced. In any event, we managed to discover some very nice places and in general we had an excellent time! We should definately visit again Radda and we would very much like to stay again at Palazzo Leopoldo, one of the most romantic hotels we have ever stayed (if you visit the area, dont miss Castellina di Chianti, very nice village too)

  • Liked — The hotel has great furniture and is located in a great village
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Tips/Secrets — If you look for wine tours, make your own research first and be prepared for the vineyards you want to visit
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Elstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

We just loved Radda and the Leopoldo. The hotel was very clean, and the staff was friendly. We booked late, so we didn't get the best rooms, they were a little sparce compared to other rooms we saw, but everything was acceptable. The breakfasts were fantastic (if you like coffee, theirs was the best that I had in Italy, brewed in a pot just for you). The food was wonderful, the kitchen pretty, and the outdoor terrace had a view you can't get enough of. The area was very pretty. We went to a couple of the winery's that the hotel recommended (within 10 minutes). Vol Paia was the best, and the restaurant was reasonably priced for "out of this world" food. We also ate at a cafe at the corner in Radda. We would go back just to have their garlic bread, buffalo Mazzarella, and wine by the glass. Great town. Don't miss it.

  • Liked — scenery
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the winery's close by
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jerseyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2006

We stayed at Palazzo Leopoldo for a week in April 2006 and had the most amazing time. Our huge room looked out over the rolling Chianti hills (worth going for a superior room to get the view) in the really delightful village of Radda. Excellent location for touring the Chianti vineyards and sampling as much red wine as possible! The breakfast at the hotel was also excellent. The staff were helpful and courteous though not hugely warm and friendly. Great little spa area and massage rooms too - would highly receommend.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tootgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Property: Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Address: Via Roma 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing