We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine location spoiled by unbelievably poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Sant'Uberto Country Inn
Reviewed 9 October 2011

As other have said, Uberto has a fine situation. However, for this reviewer the impression left by a hotel/guesthouse is an amalgam of its location/interior/facilities and the attitude of the people who run it. This couple - not it would seem the owners, they refused to give contact details for them - do not have the first idea of how to treat their guests. Any hotel which does not take well-meant, polite complaints seriously should not be in business. In this case, the coffee was the problem - quite an achievement to produce lousy coffee day after day in Italy. The 4 chairs in the room were completely shot - just springs barely covered by upholstery. Drawing this to the receptionist's attention brought forth a torrent of vacuous nonsense - he had only put the chairs in the room 3 days ago etc. At no point did he accept that the chairs were unacceptable, in any circumstances or that the coffee might be substandard.

My advice is if you like aggressive unpleasant service, stay here; if not, go to one of the many local alternatives where the welcome, as is most of Italy, is warm and generous.

Wherever you stay, make sure to eat at the restaurant Nono in Castellina-in-Chianti; fine regional cooking - only 6 tables so book!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansSachs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great location high in the Tuscan hills in the heart of the Chianti region and midway between the lovely hillside towns of Castellina and Radda. We’d booked a double room for bed and breakfast and were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves given a large ground floor bedroom with separate kitchen/dining room and a well equipped bathroom. Our room opened out to an outside area with table and chairs and stunning views over the hills. The Villa had a comfortable lounge and bar and inside and outside breakfast areas. The couple running the Villa were incredible – appearing somehow to be always on duty yet always really friendly and helpful – as well as speaking excellent English. The Villa had a beautiful outside pool, good secure parking, and some lovely walks in the woods surrounding it.
The only, slight, downside was the lack of a restaurant – although there was a good and extensive range of snacks available in the bar and plenty of good eating places in nearby Castellina and Radda.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Villa placed on the hill with amazing view on the surroundins landscapes. (Great terrace) Nice and clean swimming pool (but water very cold). Spacious rooms. Helpful staff.

Place definitely needs face lifting. Whole place is neglected. Most plants are withered. Driveway to the villa is completely destroyed - be careful - it is easy to damage the car! (so difficult to fix 20m of way?) Poor breakfast, very minimal. No restaurant, OK there is one 300m from the villa but it is closed now. If you want to eat something
you must go to the town (Castelina - 3 KM, Radda - 5 KM, both accessible only by car)

- No internet access
- No air condition
- No safe in the room
- No fridge
- No bikes

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgrabiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This place is neither a B&B or a hotel. It is an hold mansion that have seen better times
That is not the main problem.
The staff does not have the faintest idea about service. Extremely rude when asked simple questions such as:
Is there air conditioning, Is there WIFI, Is there a frig in the room? Is there a safe? Is there a restaurant? is there a bar?
which the answer was NO to all, this was supposed to be a 4 stars place but I do not think that it deserves more than 2 stars.
They are obviously skimping on cost. The toiletry was minimal, there was no toilet paper replacement, the breakfast was minimal, no towels for the pool and more than anything the rude attitude when you dare to ask for any of these.

The winery/hotel next door for roughly the same price offer all the amenities expected of a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vicgom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Room was dagy and shower leaked and had mould in base. Male owner was rude and needs a serious lesson in customer service. The property is run down and in need of a face lift. With so many other properties to choose from I would give this one a miss. Love Chianti

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoolooangkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I will start this review by saying that B&Bs in the Chianti region are either a) hard to come by or b) impossible to find. Most of the places to stay are expensive villas. This B&B is situated in between the small towns of Radda in Chianti and Castellina in Chianti on one of the main roads in the area; so its fairly easy to find. The staff was wonderfully friendly and spoke very good English. They were always willing to give recommendations, help with directions, or even serve you a glass of wine or limoncello no matter what time it was! The outside area was beautiful; they had a huge terrace where you get a glass of wine and eat breakfast and a very nice pool area. The view of all the vineyards let you know you were right in the middle of the Chianti region too.
Now for the room: it was just ok, but like the title says was good for the price. The room was spacious and had a nice bathroom suite attached; however the walls and ceiling were thin and we could hear every step and the plumbing from the rooms above and beside us. Now this would not be a big deal, but my husband and I like to sleep in and if people get going early it wakes you up. Also, I stated earlier that the B&B was in between two towns, but unfortunately there were not many wineries around the area and it still took no less that 10 minutes to get to each town with the windy roads. Most of the wineries were up north near Greve or further south near Siena and the B&B just so happens to be in a small bare spot.
All in all; the B&B was very nice, well kept, and the staff was amazing. The room a little noisy and it was a little further from restaurants and wineries than we would have liked. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking to save some money on accommodations.

Room Tip: Try to book an upstairs room or an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresTourist21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We (family of 4 - kids aged 7 and 9) stayed here for two weeks in late July and early August 2010. We were travelling to attend a wedding in nearby Castelvecchi, combining this with our family summer holiday afterwards. We had a wonderful time and can't speak highly enough about our stay. We were in one of the self catering appartments on the ground floor, which opened out directly on to the swimming pool, with wonderful views over the valley. The location is perfect, the hotel building has real character and the staff were incredibly friendly. The service was always excellent and the appartments were modern, well equipped and kept very clean. The pool was always at a perfect temperature and although the hotel was fully booked for our entire stay, it never felt crowded. Unlike a big hotel, you did really feel like you were staying in Tuscany, with the historical towns of Radda and Castelvecchi just a few minutes away, and the hotel itself set back from the main road that joins them, hidden in picturesque and secluded woodland. I read a negative review about this hotel before we travelled, but I have to say that our expereince couldn't have been better and our children are still talking about it 6 months later. I would not hesitate to return, and the thought of the gelati in Castelvecchi means that this may happen sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelondonernw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radda in Chianti hotels
2.7 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
581 reviews
2.4 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
907 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
312 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
222 reviews
3.1 mi away
Livernano
Livernano
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sant'Uberto Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sant'Uberto Country Inn

Address: Localita Sant'Uberto, 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: £60 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sant'Uberto Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sant'Uberto is located right in the middle of the Chianti Classico area, where the very well-known "Gallo nero" wine is produced. It is a few kilometres away from Castellina and from Radda in Chianti, on a splendid panoramic hill. The farm has been restructured respecting the typical Tuscan style and transformed into a Country Inn located in a 25 hectares large woodland, where quiet and nature dominate, and surrounded by olive groves and vineyards. This cosy and enchanting Inn, offers comfortable and elegant Rooms & Apartments, all tastefully furnished in the typical ancient Tuscan style, with wrought-iron beds and each of them with a different colour and furniture. Each accommodation is provided with Private Bathroom, direct line Telephone, TV-sat, Hair-drier, fan, Heating and many with a wonderful view of the Chianti countryside (Apartments are also provided with full kitchen, fridge and oven). A Swimming pool, private Parking, Bar & Snack Bar service, free Wi-Fi and a big Park are at the disposal of the Villa's guests. Snack Bar Service: Guests can sip a wide variety of drinks from all the parts of the world.... The famous wines of the Chianti Classico and the Tuscany, Caffeteria, Alcoholics, Aperitifs, Liqueurs or eat hot snacks, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches, cold dishes and the traditional Tuscan cakes at the cosy Bar area. Sant'Uberto and its tree-lined paths, its large gardens and terraces, from which you can admire a unique panorama, and the wide variety of wild animals which live in the woods around it, is the ideal place for all those who love the Chianti area and nature and those who want to spend a relaxing and quiet staying. Moreover, Villa Sant'Uberto is located in a geographically strategic position in the middle of Tuscany; the most important artistic and cultural places of the region are easily reachable, thus guaranteeing the possibility to plan numerous excursions in the most charming and characteristic places of Tuscany. Sant'Uberto is the perfect retreat after a walk through the woods, a visit to Chianti Classico's cellars or a day spent sightseeing in the nearby cities of Florence, Siena and San Gimignano. Villa Sant'Uberto an oasis of peace and quiet will become your home in Chianti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sant'Uberto Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant'Uberto Country Inn Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing