We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Hotel in a Gorgeous Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Charming Hotel in a Gorgeous Setting”
Reviewed 16 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at Il Borgo de Vescine for four nights in a suite. The location is beautiful - just past Radda in Chianti surrounded by vineyards. The suite was huge. It had large bedroom, two bathrooms, and a separate living room, and it was very cozy and romantic. The staff is very kind, friendly and helpful, though I did feel like they wanted us to eat at the hotel's restaurant and, therefore, were reluctant to give restaurant recommendations or aid with reservations. This is the main drawback of the hotel. The restaurant is simply not good. This is extremely unfortunate because the setting is beautiful, and it would be very convenient to eat there often, especially since we were not crazy about the idea of driving through Tuscany at night after having had dinner and some wine. Instead, however, we ate at the restaurant on our first night and never again. The food is very bland, and the price is rather high given the poor quality of the food. If the restaurant was better, this hotel would be fantastic; as it is, this is lovely place to stay with one major drawback. As a final note, be sure to do a tasting with Vicenzo (they'll even ship the wines back for you) as the wines are quite lovely.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    83
    25
    5
    10
See reviews for
49
181
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Il Borgo di Vescine is a small hotel a few minutes outside the city of Radda in Chianti. We have visited the Chianti region a handful of times, and found our experience at Il Borgo di Vescine absolutely fantastic. The location couldn't be better; it is in the middle of the quiet countryside, but just minutes from the stunning town of Radda. The hotel grounds are well kept, and the pool area was fabulous. "Vinny", the on-site wine professional gave us an informative and entertaining private wine tasting. Their wines, both from the Chianti region as well as the Veneto region were divine. And, the breakfast buffet was the best we've ever had in all our of our European travels. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnainnapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Overall, excellent experience! It was tucked away down a dirt road off a small paved road in the hills of Tuscany. Very private, very serene. Going to sleep and waking up to the views of the rolling hills were out of this world.

Service was excellent, the rooms were excellent, the setting was excellent. Small staff who did everything. Wine tasting each night was a great way to start off the evening.

If you want to experience the magic of Tuscany, this is a good option to consider. We will definitely stay there again next time we visit Italy!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moneyman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

My family and I just returned from our first trip to Italy, and I had to write about Il Borgo di Vescine. This converted medieval village was a welcome sight after a long drive up from Rome. Our room was perfect: a two-room suite with a beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside.

The staff took great care of us from the moment we arrived, even accommodating us with a late dinner. We ate there every night from then on. The food was excellent; something different every night and delicious every time. Each morning we had breakfast, which was a clever mix of Italian, Western European, and American all in one; there was something for everyone.

The staff recommended day trips; as it turned out we were centrally located and could explore small towns throughout Tuscany. While we did our best to speak Italian, everyone on staff spoke and understood English, which we especially appreciated. And we were able to use the wireless Internet in the wine shop and restaurant area to help plan our excursions. The wine tasting was great, especially the presentation of the history of Chianti by the winemaker.

While we enjoyed everything about our stay in Italy, Il Borgo di Vescine was clearly the highlight. The warm and friendly staff made this beautiful property even better, a welcoming home away from home. I highly recommend you consider staying there should your travels take you to Tuscany.

  • Liked — The warm and friendly staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dugnwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We stayed for 5 days at the Borgo di Vescine in August 2007, while travelling through Tuscany. The place has great potential (i.e. very nice setting in an old village, quiet environment amids the hills, 5 min from Radda, relatively large rooms in old little village houses, nice pool), but very poor execution (e.g. poor breakfast buffet, no room service, quality of on-site service very low, lunch by the pool is poor quality food in plastic plates, room cleaning is questionable...). Clearly a 4 to 5 star potential, but worth a 3 star at best

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caviar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Me and my sister stayed 1 week in this beautiful renovated 13th century hamlet. The hotel is situated on the top of a hill with a magnificent view at the village Radda in Chianti. It is situated between Firenze and Siena, which makes it ideal for daytrips to these cities or other villages like San Gimignano, Monteriggioni, Montalcino and Pienza.
If you prefer to relax, Vescine offers a fantastic swimmingpool with a panoramic view!
The rooms are furnished according to the style that is typical for this region of Italia (terracotta floors, wooden beam ceiling), but all supplied with modern comforts like aircondintioning, minibar, tv, large bathroom, etc. Don't expect wireless internet in the shower or flatscreen televisions in your pillow. Everyone who thinks he needs this kind of gadgets, should go the big cities. Or better, not even go on holiday. For the people that cannot leave their computer at home, vescine offers wireless internet in the bar and close to the swimmingpool. Thanks to all of this you still can experience the real authentic atmosphere of Toscana.
Furthermore, in the hotel's restaurant you can taste the classical dishes of the Toscana kitchen. The chef prepares the best Bistecca Fiorentina and pasta's you will ever eat.
One special tip: Try Vincenzo's (Vescine's enologo) special winetasting, he is a passionate winemaker and tells in a very enthousiastic way about their fantastic wines. (Try the Chianti Classico Riserva: Lodolaio!!!)
The rest of the staff earns big compliments, they are hard workers, open, warm and friendly people.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stevendehaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campagnano di Roma, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

My wife and I stayed four nights at Il Borgo di Vescine in late May and had a nice little suite (number 38) on the lower level of the complex. The suite was nicely located for us because I could park our car right in front and there was a quaint country lane leading back through the woods and vineyards - perfect for walking our dog! Back to the suite: While it was generally comfortable (consisted of a triangular sitting room with divan, chair, desk, fridge, and a tiny TV; good sized bathroom, and bedroom with old country furniture), I do have several negative comments. First, while it had sufficient windows to let in the daylight (views over the countryside), at night it was very dark. There was only one wall light in the sitting room making it all but impossible to sit and read (The manager told me she had lamps on order which may improve the situation somewhat). The bathroom had only a weak light above the mirror. Next, my wife complained that the bidet was old and non functional. Also the jacuzzi bathtub did not work. There was no mirror in the bed room, only in the bathroom. Most 4 and 5 star hotels nowadays have new flat-screen TVs large enough to see from a distance. Viscine should replace that old 13 inch model! Last, the management of the hotel is mostly interested in selling their wine as opposed to running a great hotel. The man in charge of wine tasting confirmed this to me. If that's the case maybe they should advertise as a wine tasting hotel?? I'll close with the positives: The staff was very friendly and professional, from the front desk to the cleaning ladies, to the restaurant and bar servers. We took breakfast and the evening meal in the hotel restaurant and have no complaints. The food was plentiful and almost always quite good (the Chianti was excellent!) and the lady in charge of the restaurant was exceptional. Lastly, the complex sits on a slight hilltop in a beautiful setting, surrounded by green woods and rolling hills. While walking the dog early in the morning I saw deer and wild pigs feeding nearby. This was the part I liked best.

  • Liked — Its country setting
  • Disliked — Room furnishings
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank settecento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
540 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
534 reviews
1.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
568 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti

Property: Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Address: Localita Vescine, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#4 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The XIII century village of Vescine is situated in the heart of the Chianti classico region and it’s now a Country Relais, conserving the original structure of the mediaeval village in perfect harmony with the surrounding countryside. Situated at 600mt above the sea level, Vescine allows you to enjoy the tranquility offered by the uncontaminated Chianti hills, while at the same time, allowing you to reach the primary cities of art of Siena and Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borgo Di Vescine - Relais Del Chianti Hotel Radda In Chianti
Il Borgo Di Vescine - Relais Del Chianti Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing