We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Miss” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo San Niccolo'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Must Miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

In a "nothing" too touristy town. The welcome was not real welcoming and the lobby was dirty and tired looking. No service and rooms very small. You must be an Olympic athlete to walk to the parking area. Not so interesting. The breakfast was not even good.

Room Tip: They suggest a restaurant, owned by them in another village; don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poodlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty1973, Responsabile reception at Palazzo San Niccolo', responded to this review, 20 September 2011
We are extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Palazzo San Niccolò!
The only thing that we can add that maybe you expected something different, as you did not like Radda in Chianti, a nice village loved all over the world, and you were in room 202 a superior room that usually is much appreciated by our guests.
Even your discomfort about our parking area, that is far only 200 mt, lets us think that you were not aware of what this area can offer.
Here you find wonderfull hills full of grapes, but this means losing some comforts!
Regarding buffet breakfast and restaurant advised by us, usually those services are very appreciated!
But our fisrt aim is satisfaction of our guests that in your case we did not get:
please give us another opportunity in future!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    56
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
118
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for just one night on a 3 day trip through Chianti. It is located in a very small but picturesque town of Radda in Chianti. Our hotel room was huge and nicely appointed. The bathroom was very modern. There was a mini refrigerator and the staff was very helpful with a making us a dinner reservation at a fantastic restaurant in town. The hotel has a great sort of country castle feel and we would definitely stay here again. Also don't miss the Chianti Classico and olive oil at the shop directly across from the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpo916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Very nice and friendly staff. The hotel is in the center of Radda, in an excellent location. Very clean and nice rooms, with beautiful painings in the ceiling and great athmosphere.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank teadrinker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
188 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great staff, great location, very good breakfast and very good rooms.

The loation is fantastic in the middle of the city. If you have your breakast outside, you are at the main square.

We bought wines locally during our trip and could borrow glases at the hotel and enjoy the wines on the hotel terrasse.

Excellent restaurants nearby, no need to use your car.

We didn't try the pool, it's located on a sister hotel.

The staff is great. We bought wines locally during our stay and could borrow glases and drng the wines on the terrasse.

Excellent restauants nearby, no need to use your car.

We did

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed here with my wife whilst attending a friend's wedding in Radda. A really beautiful boutique hotel. Large room, big comfortable bed, big ensuite bathrooom. All recently decorated to a very high standard. So the hotel is really very beautiful - right opposite the charming Town Hall building but one things stands out more that anything - the Staff. I don't think I have every been made to feel more welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble. Every requested greeted with a smile and a can do attitude, Particular reference to a lady called Laura on the reception desk. She answered two emails before we arrived very promptly and then when we arrive greeted us like long lost friends. Nothing was too much bother. The hotel doesn't havea it's own swimming pools but has a deal with a hotel about 4kms away. We spent a very enjoybale afternoon there - and there were only two other guests so we had the pool there to ourselves. Thanks again to the lady who runs that hotel I think her name was Martina. There is yet another hotel about 40 metres away that has an indoor pool - but we never tried that. I've been travekling around the world for the past 35 years and this is one of the best places I have ever stayed in - oh yes, the wedding (not in the hotel but in a nearby villa) was absolutely stunning. I'll be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

This was a true little gem of a hotel and village that is not on any of the main tourist routes. Radda had been suggested to us by a friend and I think that it is a truly great little place that offers something a little different to the rest of the popular Tuscan spots. It is a superb relaxing little town where you can spend time doing some wine tasting or just admiring the great views. The hotel room was excellent and probably the best one that we stayed in during our two week stay in Italy. It had a great window overlooking the tiny little square below. You can also park you car in the public parking for the town for free. It a superb relaxing little town and worth a one night stay on your way through Tuscany. For what we paid it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel was perfect! Beautiful rooms and exceptionally clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was a great expereince overall. Radda in Chianti is a beautiful part of Italy and we felt truly relaxed and comfortable at this hotel. We would highly recommend it to others. A real gem indeed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo San Niccolo'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Niccolo'

Property: Palazzo San Niccolo'
Address: Via Roma 16, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#6 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Niccolo' 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Niccolo is the right place to be ravished by Tuscany charm: precious materials, authentic frescoes merged in a magic atmosphere to offer you an unforgettable experience, full of comfort and top quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo San Niccolo' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Niccolo` Hotel Radda In Chianti
San Niccolo Hotel
Palazzo San Niccolo' Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing