We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have been happier if I didn't have higher expectations from the website...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I have no complaints about this hotel.
I did expect more based upon the website, but the room was nice (amazing huge bathroom!), the staff was helpful, and in the tiny town of Radda, it was as central as it gets. However, for the price, breakfast should have been included...
Radda is darling and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladibug4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty1973, Manager at Palazzo San Niccolo', responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2009

Dear Ladibug4u,
at first we would like to thank you for the time you dedicated to your review of Hotel Palazzo San Niccolò.
We are very happy that you have no complaints, but we are not satisfied because our first aim is to make our guests enthusiastic promoter of our hotel!
Regarding the breakfast, since last year we decided not including it in the room rate because we improved very much its quality by choosing only fresh and original products of Chianti, produced in factories with a long and certified experience.
However, your comment is extremely precious for us!!!
Hoping to have you as guest again in future!!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2009

We visited Tuscany for a long weekend this May. We traveled to Siena and Florence but stayed in Radda in Chianti. Very, very happy with the choice! Radda is lovely and the people are charming. The drive into Siena/Florence takes about an hour (windy roads) but is very scenic. Radda itself is much, much calmer than crowded Siena or overwhelming (in a good way, but overwhelming none the less) Florence. Radda is close to several vineyards and a couple restaurants (it's a small country town, so the 4-5 restaurants provide enough variety for a few days, but not for weeks).

As for the San Niccolo, it was a perfect choice for a long weekend in wine country. The hotel was very clean and included typical American amenities that other small hotels might lack (e.g. bathroom soap, raised shower, parking lot). The staff spoke perfect English and were eager to help.
The rooms themselves were small (an obvious point, as the hotel was built in the 14th century), but fully renovated (new bathrooms-- good water pressure, etc). And with such beautiful countryside, I can't imagine staying in your room for an extended time anyway! Most importantly, everything was very, very clean! Nothing upsets me more than stray hairs on pillowcases, etc. None of that. Compact but tidy and friendly. Overall, an excellent value. We absolutely plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrippyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartyRusty, Manager at Palazzo San Niccolo', responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2009

Dear TrippyAG,

thank you very much for your words about Hotel San Niccolò!!!

We are so glad to have the possibility to keep in touch with our guests!! This is the best way to improve day by day through your advices and suggestions!!

We hope to have you as our guests again in future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

In my opinion this is the perfect Tuscan town and the perfect Tuscan hotel! Whilst staying here my boyfriend and I explored all the other towns in the Chianti region and whilst some are bigger and appear to have more to offer, they are filled with modern buildings beyond the old city walls which takes away from their charm.
Radda has enough bars and restaurants to occupy you for at least a week and whilst they all tend to shut for a day a week they shut on different days which ensures that there is always a choice of places to go. There are plenty more restaurants in the area nearby if you have a designated driver to take you to them. One of my particular recommendations would be a restaurant which I unfortunately cannot remember the name of but which is on the road to Castellina just after the vineyard Vicine if driving from Radda. The bar opposite the hotel also does brilliant, good value pasta and the restaurant opposite Hotel Leopoldo is priceyish ( €50 each for 2 courses + bottle of wine and coffee, which is hardly extortionate ) but worth every penny!
The hotel itself is the best value for money hotel I have ever stayed in. We paid €74 a night and the room was large with a king-sized bed and impressive shower (the lack of a bath didn't bother me in the summer heat but the hotel does offer rooms with jacuzzi tubs). The breakfast was not included which originally alarmed us when after 5 days of getting breakfast we noticed that the sign by the door said that breakfast was €15 per person. On checking out however, we were only charged €8.80 which was not bad at all considering the quality (the breakfast included frittata, melon, cold meats and loads of cheese, olives and tomatoes).
Make sure to enquire about the outdoor pool at the nearby hotel which is lovely and very quiet! Only 5 mins drive away and personally I'd rather drive to the pool than the bars and restaurants! The hotel staff are friendly and very approachable and will lend you towels to use at the pool.
The one minor complaint I have is that the hotel desk is not necessarily manned at night so you may need to call to Hotel Leopoldo up the road (as this is only 1 mins walk away it’s no great effort).
One final comment about Radda. Bars, cafes and restaurants do not adhere strictly to opening and closing times. Whilst this means that you cannot always plan your evening, it also means that you will never be asked to leave. In particular the hotel bar often stayed open till 12.30 or 1 at night even though it was supposed to close at 11 and the very lovely bar girl never stopped smiling despite often having worked from 10.30 in the morning)!

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Dublin_IrelandCmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel and it was okay - we would have preferred a hotel / villa which took advantage of the amazing views from Radda over the landscape (the view from our room was of other buildings through a small window) and offered better value for money (booked via expedia for £419 for 4 nights) - a villa in the area would've been better value. I don't think any rooms here offer views.

We had room 201 and found it to be quite dark and smelt of stale cigarette smoke. It had obviously previously been a smoking room and the smell still hadn't dissipated from the heavy drapes or bedspread. It was also one door away from the breakfast room which I can imagine in peak season would be noisy.

The breakfast was included though we only ate it once because it was so poor. The bread was beyond stale, the coffee bitter and a limited choice of anything else to choose from. I would not bother paying the extra cash to have breakfast included as there are plenty of fresh panini / delis in Radda to choose from with far better coffee. We couldn't eat or hang out in the courtyard because a jackhammer with the roadworks was far too noisy but I am sure this would be pleasant otherwise. All staff appeared to speak good english and the desk was always manned.

You will definitely need a car to navigate the area so don't go there depending on public transport as you will have limited options and the roads are well signed and easy to navigate so exploring all the gorgeous towns is pretty easy even for nervous drivers like myself.

I wouldn't stay in this hotel again as I think there are better options in Radda and surrounds that don't cost as much and offer more.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LanaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

This was a delightful, beautiful little hotel in the heart [on top of the hill] in Radda in Chianti. We were there for three days. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the breakfasts were good. The town and hotel were fairly central to the rest of the Chianti region. The staff were very helpful, albeit, they spoke very little english, they were still able to help with directions and making reservations for us. We would stay they again if we were ever to return.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrpupkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

Stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Reception staff very pleasant and welcoming.
Our room was on the top floor under the roof tiles, no view but there was a remote controlled roof window. An air conditioning unit and flatscreen TV is provided. Very clean and spacious area but the wardrobe was a little short on clothes hangars. The bathroom had a shower cubicle and a spa bath!
The mini bar was fully stocked but was not refrigerating and was not fixed during our stay.
Good buffet breakfast.
Only found out about the indoor pool as we were checking out!
Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

This hotel and staff so greatly exceeded our expectations that we extended our initial three-day stay to a full week. We had intended to investigate other areas and hotels in Tuscany, but the absolute charm of the hotel and the village of Radda made it hard to move anywhere else.

The only note to first-time travelers in this region is to be aware that the towns are often very remote from each other, separated by twisting and confusing roads and directions. We brought a portable GPS nav system with Europe maps for our rental car. It was a life saver. We easily navigated from Milan to Radda. The hotel is located down the only obvious street within the small medieval walled town. Parking is in dirt lot down the hill... near Michele's Pizza, in a dirt lot.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tkt_in_hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
554 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
869 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
591 reviews
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
309 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo San Niccolo'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Niccolo'

Address: Via Roma 16, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#4 Spa Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#6 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: £81 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Niccolo' 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Niccolo is the right place to be ravished by Tuscany charm: precious materials, authentic frescoes merged in a magic atmosphere to offer you an unforgettable experience, full of comfort and top quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo San Niccolo' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Niccolo` Hotel Radda In Chianti
San Niccolo Hotel
Palazzo San Niccolo' Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing