We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent hostess, excellent home, wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Radda in Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Montpelli...
Mountaintop, Pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent hostess, excellent home, wonderful location.”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed a week in September 2016. It was fantastic, everything abou it was as described in the description., we were able to bottle feed Jellybean, pet the very friendly guard dogs and be entertained by the cashmere goats. Nora was wonderful to work with. What a fascinating lady she is. Passionate, knowledgeable, helpful and very kind. The location is beautiful, secluded but just a couple of miles from Radda. We were able to go out sightseeing throughout the Tuscan countryside and return to the quiet farm during the evening. There were 3 comfortable bedrooms and a well stocked kitchen, a lovely pool we were unable to use because of the cool rainy weather. There is a lovely patio out the back with a large picnic table, sheltered by a grape arbor. This was where we spent our last evening drinking wine, grilling steaks, and watching an incredible sunset. We would go back in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy B
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bellissimo, Sereno, Indimenticabile....”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, serene and unforgettable! The farmhouse at Chianti Cashmere was our home away from home after our family ended our Mediterranean cruise.

Traveling with my sisters, a brother in law and my wife, the farm was a perfect place to decompress after the cruise, which by nature can be somewhat hectic and are restricted by a timetable.

The farmhouse comfortably held us all, rustic enough to satisfy our sense of its history, but furnished perfectly for a relaxing week where we set the schedule, not the cruise line.

All one needs to do is look at the photo of the farm table under the grape arbour, and imagine the quintessential Tuscan view from that vantage point while sipping on a local Chianti wine, and you will "see" yourself there.

There is lots of local interest in Radda and nearby towns, all having a uniqueness that the local people are happy to share. There are plenty of fabulous restaurants and wineries to visit and tour, more than is possible in one week.

We tended to cook our own breakfasts, and either have a lunch or dinner out, depending upon what time we decided we should get mobile! The point is, Chianti Cashmere lets you decide what your schedule is; sitting and reading in the Tuscan sun, visiting or not visiting any of the beautiful hill top towns, hunkering down at the farm for the entire time, or seeing as much of the local area as you can.

You will not be disappointed by your visit. Nora is a most gracious hostess, and a fount of information on her efforts in raising the cashmere goats, as well as the history of the farm and how she came to be there.

A week just doesn't seem long enough once you arrive in Tuscany....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is quintessentially Tuscan
Liked least: The roads between towns are windy, but in good condition. Drive sensibly!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
143MangoP...
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
“A Tuscan Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in November 2014

We have had the pleasure of staying at La Penisola owned by Dr. Nora Kravis three times--first to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, then back the following year and then back about seven years later! And visit number 4 is planned now; I have a very big birthday to celebrate this year so my two grown daughters and I are travelling back to La Penisola to celebrate in a big way! The girls have never been to Europe so this will be very exciting for them! I can't wait to see Nora and the goats again and shop in her beautiful boutique! Bella!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall ambiance
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen L
1 review
“back to nature”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in July 2014

Staying with 8 people at Chianti Cashmere was one of the best holidays we ever had. The quiet place, the pool, all the animals around the house was a big pleasure. The surrounding villages were very nice daily trips. The Butcher "Mario" has been adding a lot of pleasure to our holiday. The beef that he is selling is the best there is. In addition, his shop is a pleasure dome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmBee9
Wadsworth, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Serene and private. With goats.”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Four of us, two couples, stayed here in early September. The setting and view is absolutely perfect - the Volpaia valley, with the town of Volpaia is the distance. If you can tear yourself away from the long table under the arbor the location in Radda is great for day trips to the hill towns. Radda itself is worth a look too. Nora recommends a drive around the valley on your Sunday after arriving Saturday, including a market, one-of-a-kind butcher shop and Volpaia - do it. A good way to get the feel of the area.

For two couples there is essentially one set of rooms upstairs, and one set downstairs, giving privacy for each. Whoever gets the upstairs rooms should buy wine for the whole gang though. Downstairs is fine but upstairs is much nicer.

I'd definitely stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in April 2014

We had such a nice time visiting Chianti Cashmere. We stayed in the big guesthouse with the pool. (It wasn't pool season, but that would be a big draw for another trip.) The goats and dogs were super fun. We even got to comb a goat!

Nora was a delight. You can really see the pride she takes in her work. Can't wait to go back!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorac
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“An Ongoing Joy”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015

Our visits to La Penisola have taken place each summer for at least 20 years. The house is a simple two story dwelling with 3 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. It is comfortable, attractive, and has an outstanding view of a forested valley with vineyards. The swimming pool is large, well tended, and deliciously cool after a hot day's journey around the area of Radda.
Nora Kravis, a licensed veterinarian, raises cashmere goats, some of whom live adjacent to the rental property. The goats are beautiful and fun to watch. Nora also has several very large dogs who tend the goats, only adding to the attraction of the place!
We have brought family members and friends to this treasure. We plan on returning over and over!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Ummmm - all of it!
Liked least: Departing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing