We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Porth Tocyn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwlchtocyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porth Tocyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night in May at this delightful hotel overlooking Snowdonia. The room we had was 19 with stunning views, certainly worth the extra cost. The gardens and position are sublime.

We arrived early to have the Sunday lunch which was a little disappointing as there were no roast but it was a buffet with hot and cold dishes. It was certainly tasty and we were encouraged by Nick the proprietor to have as much as we liked. Th evening meal is quite an event and we only had starters which was all we needed after such a hearty lunch . The room service is excellent, and the tea delivered without extra charge was a bonus.

Nick was extremely helpful during our stay offering advice and encouragement and we thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    24
    23
    12
    14
See reviews for
47
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A fabulous find. Extremely homely, excellent service, food and views to die for. Very accommodating little hotel in beautiful gardens. Nothing was too much trouble. Much attention paid to detail and Nick was a great host. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the Easter school holidays. It was a very relaxing break. The hotel was excellent and catered for all our needs. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea, which was well worth it. We enjoyed the set priced menu on the 1st night and the food quality was excellent. We then enjoyed dinner in the hotel on the next 2 nights with choices from their light supper menu - again the quality was very good and yet much lower priced. Guests could choose a combination of the menus and children were well catered for. The owner and all staff were friendly and accommodating and as a smaller hotel it made it easier to get to know the other guests. The local town was only a short 20minute walk via the beach and the coastal path walk was easy and access able. We found a lovely beach on the coastal walk. Plenty more we could say but maybe you should explore it yourself . It's well worth a visit.

Room Tip: A sea view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just spent two very nice nights here. She is originally from this area so it was nice to have my own Welsh-speaking tour guide!

The hotel is lovely - quite old-school in design and set in picturesque grounds just back from the sea. There is a coastal walkway leading down to the sea from the hotel garden - well worth the walk for the lovely views. It's a family-run business and Nick the owner is dry, entertaining and more than happy to keep your glass topped up.

Our room was very nice (we had room 7) - very comfy Queen sized bed, excellent shower and nice and quiet.

We had dinner in the restaurant the first night we stayed. The food was excellent - my duck was cooked to perfection and the wine list was very good. The cheeseboard afterwards was also delicious. We did feel it was a little overpriced however - our 3 course meal with cheese and a bottle of red came to £123.

One word of warning - if staying in the area it's best to avoid Abersoch itself as it is overrun with English tourists (mostly the rich and shameless from Cheshire). The locals call it "Little England". There are designer shops popping up and an awful trendy bar/restaurant called Zinc in the centre of town. I should imagine the height of summer is a thoroughly unpleasant experience here.

Luckily the rest of the Llyn Peninsula is not affected in this way - take a drive to Aberdaron, Criccieth or Pwllheli for a more serene experience. One must is the drive up Uwchmynydd - Mynydd Mawr (the mountain opposite Bardsey Island) - the views are spectacular.

Overall we would definitely return to Porth Tocyn - it's a lovely place in which to wind down and relax.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay with friends. Although we are not newcomers to the hotel, it is always interesting and informative to read Tripadvisor reports. We are distrustful of over euphoric reports and likewise wary of damning reports. The overall infrastructure of the Hotel is very good. Its difficult to understand some comments about the furniture. We saw 4 bedrooms, each of which had its own character. Our bathroom was very good, roomy with very adequate heating. Top quality towels. Our bedroom had a wonderful view towards the sea. Again top quality bed linen. Meals were all very good indeed. The grounds are extremely attractive with plenty of secluded spots, tennis court, swimming pool and plenty of outside seating to take advantage of the amazing views in every direction. The staff were outstanding. Pleasant and efficient.

And then there is Nick. Obviously not everybodies favourite cup of tea. However, the fact that the Porth Tocyn Hotel has been in the Good Food Guide, almost since its inception speaks volumes. He is very much 'hands on' and is the heartbeat of the hotel.

If your stay happens to coincide with a good spell of weather its difficult to imagine a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms enjoy fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We are a family of 4 with two daughters now aged 8 and 5. This was our 4th trip to the Porth Tocyn and we absolutely love it. I can't understand why people say its not child friendly, there's a games room, huge outdoor areas and high tea is served for them every evening - my kids totally love it as do my wife and I. Great food, friendly service and an amazing location - we can't wait for our 5th visit next year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Fabulous views over Cardigan Bay towards Snowdonia. Have enjoyed several Sunday lunch buffets at this hotel. The starters (hors d'oeuvres) are as good as ever, cold meats, fish, salads, terrines and the deserts are again excellent, all nicely presented in the self serve buffet. However, the main courses, never the strongpoint, have regressed. These are usually a limited choice of various stews/casseroles, a curry and poultry, maybe three in total, a disappointing and bland offering on a recent visit. Unfortunately the management have decided to do away with the cheeseboard that was previously included. £25 per head including coffeee is just about reasonable value given the location, which is the star feature.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwlchtocyn
12.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
377 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
285 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
107 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 12 in Abersoch
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Porth Tocyn Hotel

Property: Porth Tocyn Hotel
Address: Bwlchtocyn, Abersoch LL53 7BU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Bwlchtocyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Tocyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Porth Tocyn Hotel Bwlchtocyn
Porth Tocyn Abersoch
Porth Tocyn Hotel Abersoch/Bwlchtocyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing