We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers....only in Abersoch”
Review of Porth Tocyn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwlchtocyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porth Tocyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers....only in Abersoch”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location, but needs updating as the hotel is looking very tired. Sunday lunch is a buffet style affair; food is not at all bad, staff try hard to accommodate individual wishes / requests, but the service is not great. The owner (Nick) is actually the real Basil Fawlty....slightly rude and somewhat arrogant.....he is doing you a favour and it is on his terms. Funny in his own way. Quite expensive for what it purports to be. Take it in your stride if visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelandCake2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    27
    23
    12
    14
See reviews for
50
75
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We chose this hotel because it is child friendly and pet friendly. And indeed it was. The staff were delightful as was mine host, Nick. Nothing was too much trouble. The kids, ages 9 and 7, felt totally at home at the hotel especially because there is a swimming pool, tennis court, play station 3 with all the latest games and a Ping pong table. The beach is a little walk from the hotel, down a narrow path, but it is a pleasant walk. We were there the last week of July and the beaches weren't stuffed to the gills with bodies but pleasantly crowded with families enjoying a wonderful sandy beach. Abersoch is a pretty small town with plenty of good eateries and shops. Although the food at the hotel was seriously of a very high standard so we ate there three nights out of four. A great find!

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms give a glorious view. They are a little tired but that was part of the charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6woody7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My Hubby & I have been visiting Abersoch & the surrounding area for more years than I care to remember. . . . . But this Summer is the first time that we visited Porth Tocyn Hotel.
We were not residents, we have a place nearby to stay with friends on a regular basis you understand ~ but we pootled along there one Sunday afternoon recently for lunch time beverage on the terrace.
"Warmish Peroni Beers" at £4 per pop was more than we expected to pay but mine host Nick was cheerful and friendly we decided we would indulge another expensive "warmish Peroni" with ice . . . .
Whilst sitting admiring the awesome view of Cardigan Bay the delightful Nick came out with a sheaf of papers, delivering a set to each of the tables on the terrac. . . . It gave a little history of the hotel and its background as well as the different menu ideas available to non-residents.
We read through the info and decided that we might just try dinner that evening at the restaurant and went to enquire if there was a table available. The lovely Nick proceeded to poke my Hubby's ample tummy and said "You wont be needing a table for dinner tonight with that lunch that you've just put in there" poking Hubby's tummy . . . . .
My darling Hubby replied "But I haven't eaten any of your delicious lunch Nick".
Nick ~ a paler shade of beetroot apologised profusely and checked availability for dinner that night. A table was available and so we looked forward to dinner that evening.
On returning to the Porth Tocyn restaurant that evening, we were ably served with aperitifs and menus and our food order was taken by the very smiley waitress. The food and its presentation was outstanding ~ truly it was. My Hubby & I both had the venison and it was the BEST we have ever eaten, as were the desserts and cheese to follow.
Yes ~ the place is a little old fashioned and it doesn't have all of the modern facilities but it is cosy, sweet and has location with a view to die for. . . . .
As for Nick ~ I don't think that he is going to change, he has a funny sense of humour and that's what makes this hotel so endearing.
Go there and have a bite to eat, the food is fresh and well presented and you will be glad to sit on a lovely Summer's day with one of the best views in Abersoch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CatchaDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The title might be a giveaway but, for context, Nick is the manager of this establishment. More on him later..... First, though, the positives. Beautiful location, set in glorious North Wales. Very large, clean, rooms; excellent food; and a small, but commendably deep and heated, outdoor swimming pool. But Nick? Oh, Nick. Our arrival saw the four of us greeted by someone who I think was Nick's wife. To say she was a tad abrupt would be unfair to abrupt folk. No verb
greeting or welcome; just showed us to our rooms and disappeared. Fast forward to dinner, and mein host, Nick, breezed over and recommended the champagne. Having heard us politely decline, Nick commented thus; "I suppose, being scousers, you are more used to champagne that has fell off the back of a lorry". Awkward. We put it down to his sense of, ahem, "humour", as opposed to small-minded, cliched, regional bigotry, and enjoyed the food. Beware if you like a bit of atmosphere with your meal. The dining room has no background music, and I have been in livelier morgues. The staff appear terrified of Nick, and their attentiveness would be much more appreciated if it came with a relaxed approach. Unlike most hotels, you have to go on a search if you need a staff member. Nick appears to adopt a 'lean' approach to recruitment. Woe betide, also, should you wish to use the aforementioned pool before 9am or after 6pm - not a chance. Covers are back on before you can say 'refreshing dip before breakfast / dinner'. Having enjoyed the area, if not the hospitality, we departed after our two-night stay. We settled our bill, with Nick, who showed not the slightest inclination to enquire as to how we had enjoyed the hotel (or not). The four of us are all professional people, and his arrogance bordered on breathtaking. Even now, a week on, I am still bemused as the behaviours displayed during the short time we spent at this hotel. But, then again, what would we know? Scousers, you see......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited for meals but this was the first time staying. The views are breathtaking and the weather was amazing which surprised us to find we had the pool to ourselves. The pool area was fantastic clean and very private. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food as always was outstanding. Nick was a great host and full of character it makes a refreshing change to spend time in a hotel with old fashioned charm and chatty staff instead of modern boutique hotel that's two a penny. We will definitely be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Start T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Friendly staff. You're not a bother to the hotel employees. They are there for YOU. We went at an off-peak season (June 30 - 1 July) for a one-night stay, so not many people around...that's what we were there for! This is not a place to come if you need high-tech amenities, super fast internet, and other mod cons. If you want QUIET, peaceful, RELAXING, and good, old-fashioned service, come to this hotel. Breakfast was outstanding--served outside, inside, in your bedroom, or on-the-go (continental for "take away").

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room for an extra charge if you enjoy gazing up at the sea from your book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C0NGLETONJ0SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Two nights at this hotel in June-midweek, off season and £310 Bed and breakfast- 66 years in the same family- a whole host of awards over the (many) years- a two rosette restaurant, close to Abersoch- sounds like the perfect mini break for us
How wrong we were- one very tired and old fashioned hotel, minimal facilities ( I cannot comprehend why we had to request a kettle in the room !!!- only realised this at 3.15 in the morning when I could no longer remain asleep due to the light flooding the room through the large window with a sea view- inadequate blackout lining for such a large window !!)
We had chosen to dine out on our first evening, as the limited menu had equally limited appeal- I cannot comment on the food having only eaten breakfast during our stay. Our return to the hotel at 9.00 pm saw us opt for an early evening as the atmosphere in the establishment was somewhat lacking- given the high proportion of very elderly customers, probably no surprise !
Breakfast the following morning was taken in the sunshine outdoors- the dining room was just too hot and the clarified butter sat in the butter dishes married with an awfully dated room and a complete absence of any atmosphere just confirmed our intentions to eat out were correct - we would do the same again this evening.
The views over Cardigan Bay and taking in Snowdonia itself are beautiful, as indeed are the tranquil gardens, especially on a summers day in June when the lure of the heated swimming pool on offer seemed the perfect way to spend our afternoon- unfortunately our plans were scuppered by the fact that the covers were over and it appeared closed....
The beach it was then, some 15 minute walk away- then another 20 minutes or so beyond lies Abersoch - or some 2.5 miles away by car- £6 in a taxi was a small price to pay to escape in ana evening!
The lowest point of the trip was meeting the host himself- rarely outside of Fawlty Towers has a hotelier appeared more rude, full of his own self importance and quite frankly less suited to the inherited role he finds himself in-
In summary- expensive, dated, unwelcoming, tired and unloved- quite beyond me that this place can survive in the 21st Century and I fully expect that once its current clientele move on, there will be a void...........

Room Tip: Sea views are great, but very bright from before sunrise and if warm weather they also get very hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank andrew_eccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwlchtocyn
12.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
291 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
109 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 12 in Abersoch
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Tocyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Tocyn Hotel

Property: Porth Tocyn Hotel
Address: Bwlchtocyn, Abersoch LL53 7BU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Bwlchtocyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Tocyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Porth Tocyn Hotel Bwlchtocyn
Porth Tocyn Abersoch
Porth Tocyn Hotel Abersoch/Bwlchtocyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing